We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but definitely a kids vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Great Wolf Drive, Scotrun, PA 18355   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great, but definitely a kids vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Overall not a bad stay. I have read some of the negative reviews and though there is some validity in some of the comments about the size of the bathrooms in the hotel rooms and may not be not nicest of rooms. But most rooms have fridges and microwaves. There is a couple of grocery stores that are within a few miles south of the lodge. So we just loaded up on water, snacks,breakfast food and some lunch items. Doing this will save you time and money. Wolf it down pizza on the first floor was pretty economical vs. the full sit down restaurant on the lobby level. Also within 5 miles there are a couple of diners as well as Red Robin, Red Lobster, and Longhorn steakhouse. So there are eating options outside the lodge. There is a nice little ice cream stand called Cabels about a mile or two south of the lodge that has picnic tables and a small playground which my kids loved.
As far as the water park is concerned I'd say get there as soon as it opens and go on all the big slides a couple of times before the park gets crowded. We left around lunch time and spent time playing magi quest in the afternoon. If your kids are 5 or under I would not bother with it at all unless you want to do all of it for them, kind of a waste of money. But kids 6 through 14 will have fun and most of it they can do themselves.
We went Sun through Wed and this was more than enough time to enjoy everything.
The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a shortage of luggage carts to haul your stuff, so just pull up drop your stuff then go park!

Room Tip: The top floor has higher ceilings and no noise from above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    734
    366
    173
    126
See reviews for
1,368
14
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Went here for the first time over July 4th week after hearing others say how good it was. Walked into the lobby to find people lying all over the floor, and they didn't move either, had to step over them. Upon reaching check in I asked if I was always like this. The woman managed a smile but looked worried. I asked if the water park would be this way too? She replied that the staff there "do their best to move it along", whatever that's supposed to mean. Well the room wreaked of pizza hut, as it did the entire stay due to the pizza place on the floor below. The room was satisfactorily clean but in really mediocre condition with a very small bathroom with the sink outside in the main room area. This didn't seem like an issue until somebody got up to use the bathroom and woke everyone else up washing hands.
Upon getting into the water park area it was jam packed. So much so that there was no room to even turn around in the pool. I was thinking it was so crowded that it was probably in violation of fire code for sure. And the clientele, OMG! It seemed that somebody went into the hood and handed out free passes. These folks thought that a white wife beater t-shirt, gold chains, and prison tats were a fashion statement, who knows the last time they washed. I would have thought that the exorbitant prices would have kept the clientele a little more upper class, but not so. Their kids didn't behave either, they had no problems pushing my kids out of the way to jump ahead in lines. And oh, lines there were! I love waiting 30 or 40 minutes for a 30 second tube ride! Awesome!
Oh, and there's no decent food anywhere for miles. The only places to eat in the lodge are buffet or take out grills, and way overpriced at that. We didn't eat it, but That food looked awful - like chef boy r dee! The area surrounding the lodge is real dumpy, desolate, and depressing. We wound up eating fast food every night because there was nothing else.
In the end the place was way overcrowded and the public spaces were dirty. They overcharge for everything, including the magic quest game, arcade, etc. The only thing they do really well is take your money! Do yourself a huge favor and go someplace else. I would never go back to this place, even if it was free!

Room Tip: Uh, don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just came back from an overnight stay at Great Wolf Lodge and it was better than I had expected! The kids had a great time (ages 14, 10, 7). The waterpark was very clean and well supervised. Everyone was extremely friendly in the waterpark and the hotel. They are very accommodating. The themed rooms were so adorable! The Kids cabin suite with balcony was great. Everything from the food, arcade, golf and bowling were above our expectation. They have this adorable wizard quest where the kids buy wands in the gift shop and they walk around the hotel and open treasures and find crystals. That kept the kids busy for hours!!!They have a cute dance club for the kids in the lobby at night and then story time at 9:pm. Looking forward to coming back again!!! The manager had taken care of us above and beyond! Thank You!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Traveled to Great Wolf with 2 daughters families and my husband. The grandkids were loving it the minute they walked in. The lines for check in were extremely long but not as long as the lines at the water slides. Not enough employees to accommodate the volume of guests trying to ride the slides. Wait times of 20-30 minutes is just not acceptable. The rooms are just average though there was a balcony which is a nice touch. The bed was comfy and there were plenty of pillows. The little nighttime "show" and the bedtime story were really cute. And then there was a dance party after that which was lots of fun for kids and adults. Went to the buffet breakfast which was okay but the price did not include your drink. What?? Please just include it so I just pay one price. I've wanted to visit this place for awhile. I'm glad I went but this was definitely a one and done trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed 3 days at great wolf lodge. It was very nice, lots of activities for the kids. Very family oriented. Foods on the higher end, I would suggest driving out to mt pocono for great food and reasonable prices. It's only ten minutes away on 611. We've been to many waterparks, this one is one of the better ones. Great idea having Starbucks right in the lobby. Gives mommy and daddy something to look forward too, lol. Rooms were comfortable, shower pressure-amazing. Definitely looking forward to planning our next trip at the end of this month.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visited Great Wolf during the holidays to escape from the gloomy winter days and enjoy some indoor fun at a water park. The resort is clean and the rooms are a decent size. Kids loved the wolf den theme bunk area. Although there are plenty of non-water related activities for the kids to participate in, it is not included in the hotel packages and adds up quickly -- at least $150 per child for a weekend. We ate at one of the restaurant's on site and again very expensive for not so great food - very greasy and overcooked. Highly suggest going off site to one of the nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from one of the magic wand or story book spots. This area tends to have a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had heard so many great things about this place, but when I went I was very disappointed. I thought the food was terrible and the indoor water park was so small and didn't have much for kids to do. It's definitely not good for kids over 10 years old like mine were. It was crazy expensive too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 1 Great Wolf Drive, Scotrun, PA 18355
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Scotrun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Scotrun
Great Wolf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.