We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$$$$$$ for what u get” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Great Wolf Drive, Scotrun, PA 18355   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“$$$$$$ for what u get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our 4 year at GWL. We always go in January because it is less money than February. I can not believe the difference in the past 4 years. The food is ok they really should add a better restaurant to this location. The water park is great but the wave pool was broken and they had no info on when it would open back up. This place is very $$ for meals and anything extra. The magic wands are neat but they really should update done of the pictures and add new quests each year maybe something u can do along with your phone app? The staff was so so nothing like Disney cast members some were very nice but more so most were not that happy. The rooms were clean but I think they need to do some updates, TVs new rugs, ect.
I like that it is so close with camel back for snowboarding but really no special packages or offers? I think they should try to work something out for the hotel guests.
The new golf area was nice, but they need to update the kids spa was a joke it was so much money to get your nails painted. They need to update the lobby, many things were dusty. We did have a great time because my kids love it they r both under 7. I would go but really look out for special or a deal don't pay full price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    685
    328
    155
    116
See reviews for
1,265
13
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bala Cynwyd, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed from 1/25-27/2013. 4-Adults, 4-Kids ages 8, 8, 5 and 9-months. You really need to stay two nights because there's lots to do and the Paw Pass is really a bargain. Our 3 kids enjoyed everything that it provided. The water park is large and the hot tubs were wonderful, BUT we and others we talked to felt the water in the other pools was cool and in fact while in the water I never "got used to the temperature." It wasn't that you couldn't get into it, it just was not as warm as it should be. We also went in October and I had the same complaint. The food at the Loose Moose Cottage was very good for breakfast and had wonderful choices for dinner. Our room was very nice (Grizzily Bear) and roomy. The staff was friendly. Very kid friendly. I would go back in a minute!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Overall excellent experience. We stayed last week when the hotel had 97% occupancy, so it was very crowed. However considering that we went during our kids mid winter break, we knew it would be very crowded so we know what to expect. Although check in is not until 1PM they allowed us to check in earlier. Even though the lobby was very crowded, the staff was very well prepared, and extremely friendly. We never felt rushed and felt we had the undivided attn of the check in clerk who assisted us. She informed us that our room wasn't ready yet (we came around noon) however she said we can use the park and they will send me a text message when our room is ready. They gave us our rooms keys (bracelets) and we were in the park 20 minutes later. They have changing rooms in the park however the changing rooms are very wet, and the floors were dirty with wet tissues so we changed in the bathrooms outside the water park, which were very spacious and very clean. I don't blame the lodge for the messy changing rooms in the park as it's not easy to keep it clean and dry when it is so busy. We have a large family so we took a grizzly bear suite which is very large and accommodated everyone comfortably. The suite has 2 full bedrooms, one with 2 queen beds, and the master bedroom has a king bed and shower/tub combination. The tub in the master bedroom was a deep soak jet tub which my wife enjoyed. The second bathroom had a shower/tub. There was also a living room area which included a pull out sofa bed and fire place. Very cozy. The room also had a microwave, coffee maker (with complimentary coffee), as well as a decent size fridge. Like I said the park was very crowded but there were only long waits for the larger slides (about 25-30min) the other slides, pools, and children slides, were smooth sailing and didn't feel too crowded. My suggestion is if you like big rides go around an hour before the park closes and when all the little kids are not there and then the wait is very minimal. My kids did the story time at 8:30 as well as magic quest. The Magic quest initially is very expensive because you need to buy a wand for $18.00, then pay for the game $13. However once you buy the wand it is yours to keep, then when you come back, and we do every year, you only pay $13. We didn't try any of the food as we brought our own. When traveling with a large family it tends to get very expensive so we usually just bring our own food. I recommend staying on the first floor as that is the closest to the park and also the most quiet as there activities for the magic quest game are on floors 2-4, so no kids running around. Try to travel with friends as this makes it the most fun for your kids and you may also be able to take advantage of group rates. The savings is pretty decent, our suite was around $400 with taxes. If we didn't have group rate its would have been closer to $450-475. Some people feel that the hotel is a bit expensive, but not really if you think about it. If you would take your kids to any other water park you would spend around $40 to get in, with a family of 4 that's $160. With Great Wolf you not only get to spend the night, but you get to spend the full day at the park on the day of your check out. You must leave your room by 11AM however you can stay at the water park until it closes at 9PM. It was loads of fun, the kids had a great time. Couple of other pointers, try to find a table at the park to leave your bags and towels. Tables are very convenient because when you eat you have something to support your self.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our first experience with Great Wolf Lodges was last summer when we stopped in th Wisconsin Dells for just one night. We had such a great time that we made a special trip to the Great Wolf Lodge in Scotrun, PA in mid-January 2013.
We originally booked a themed room, but signed up for the 'wait list' option for a possible upgrade to a larger room, as we had a group of two grand-parents, a Mom, and three children ages 3-6. We were given the upgraded room upon our arrival, which worked perfectly for us, as there was a separate bedroom for the grandparents. We were also on the 4th floor, and as other reviews will tell you, it was pretty quiet compared to other floors.
We purchased the Paws Pass option for the kids and arrived before noon to check in. Although our room wouldn't be ready for hours, we were able to start the kids on their Paws Pass adventures until our room was available, and were also able to start using the indoor water park by 1:00 p.m. This worked great for us, as we only stayed one night and opted for a late check-out.
Although the water park at this location was significantly smaller than the one at Wisconsin Dells, the kids enjoyed themselves. The Magic Quest adventure was also significantly smaller and we didn't like the idea of having to go up and down the lodging hallways to find the different segments of the adventure. It made the hallways more crowded and noisy for the guests staying in those areas.
The one Paws Pass item that we were extremely pleased with was a unique book for each child, including action photos of the child and their name included as part of the story. Each child gets to choose the Wolf Lodge character they would like in their book, and then a series of photographs of the child are taken in various poses in front of a green-screen background. The result is a wonderfully unique keepsake of the trip for each child.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed this past week for the kids birthday. Very crowded and always loud, even for mid week. Long lines at the check in/out. The staff here was very friendly, but overwhelmed. Lobby was packed everytime we were there. Room was clean with great layout, but dated and worn (we had the fireplace loft room). The swimming area was warm, but the water itself was chilly----so much so one of the kids couldnt stand it, and shivered the whole time! The smell of chlorine was overpowering both days we were there, to the point of unbearable burning in my eyes, and I didnt go in the water! The lines at the slides were long and moved slowly. The kids eventually got frustrated and spent most of the time in the regular and wave pool.......if I would have known that, I could have found a newer, nicer hotel for a lot cheaper! $200 to purchase magicquest wands and 4 games--what a joke! After spending an hour up stairs, downstairs, up again, my 7 and 9 year old finish the "quest" only to find 1 0f their wands didnt work! Two trips to the store later, and they still werent 100%. What a waste and a lot of tears! $40 in the arcade, and I came home with a handful of taffy! Really? For a family themed lodge, I think it could be a whole lot better. For the price of an overnight here (with the price of food, golf, arcade, and magic quest) we could have had a day at Disney---there is NO comparison! Adults everywhere in swimming area with solo cups filled with adult beverages, not very kid friendly. There should at least be a designated area for the "bar", not standing in line at the water slides!
Needless to say, the kids had fun, but we could find a few other places to spend our next trip!

Room Tip: Closer to the elevator, maybe on floors 3 and 4? We had a room at the end of the hall on 4, and IT W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just came back from GWL Pa.

Overall experience is NOT BAD AT ALL.
The staff was friendly and helpful. We only went to Starbucks food-wise and found staff very pleasant. At the pool some of the lifeguards were extremely nice, while others simply did their job without extra niceties, which is fine by me. After all, they are there to keep the kids safe, not play with them. When I had to take my youngest to the first aid station, the guard on duty did her job quickly and efficiently.

Location is easy to get to. Lot's of parking,
BUT:
Unless you're using the valet service, there are virtually no carts to get your luggage (lots of luggage, since everyone is traveling with kids) to the room. So now the father (me), who just drove for two and a half hours, has to become yet again a beast of burden and carry enough luggage for a family of 5, on his back. MOOOOOO :(

Now we get to the pool...IT'S LOTS OF FUN AND THE KIDS REALLY LOVED IT!
However:
I find the proximity of food to water too close for comfort. While the water was clean, there was a number of times that I stepped on french fries, chips and such, while walking from one pool to another.
The temperature of the water is inconsistent.
There are not nearly enough changing rooms or bathroom stalls.
In one stall, the toilet was overflowing on to the floor with s***.
There is no place to store your clothing while you're waiting for your room to be ready. And since sooooo many families arrive early to make the most of their stay, and can use the park while waiting for the room to be ready.....well good luck with this one.
To use the locker, you have to get a key and here I found the girl on duty only slightly smarter then a vegetable. I had to repeat no less then four times that I'm paying with cash. She kept on asking which credit card I would be using. When I asked her for today's date, for the key form, her tone of voice was no less then rude.

Now the rooms:
This place is supposed to be "kid oriented", well how about some light in the rooms at night. There is a master switch by the entry door controlling all the lights in the room. Once it's off, the room is pitch black and you'll be lucky not to break your leg on the way to bed. If one of the kids is sleeping on the top bunk, he or she has to climb down in TOTAL darkness to go to the bathroom.
And speaking of bathroom, why is the sink outside? Let's see, you take a p**s or a d**p and they you have to open the door with dirty hands to get to the sink to wash them. The water in this sink is nothing more then a trickle that changes from ICE cold to BOILING hot AT RANDOM! There is no way to control it at all. Good luck brushing your teeth and shaving becomes REALLY FUN!
Then there is the shower head in the bathroom....6.5 feet above your head. Good luck giving your 4 year old a rinse-off after spending a whole day in a chlorinated pool. How about a shower hose? Wouldn't that be SMART for a "kid oriented" hotel? How about a way to controlling the water pressure in the shower, or does everyone likes to get hit in the face by a stream of ICE COLD water for the first split second between when the water flow switches from faucet to shower-head?

And the price?
I've traveled extensively across the country for business and I've stayed at hotels for a third of the price where the rooms were better designed and a whole lot more adult and kid friendly.
On a final, negative note, I find a lack of Ethernet problematic. This hotel has free WiFi which is very good, but it's not for secure use.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The staff at Great Wolf Lodge in the Poconos really stand out. Everyone is extremely friendly and helpful. The lifeguards are very attentive and really give parents a sense of security.

We went during a peak time, and the lodge was full, it made the waterpark very crowded, and there were long lines for every waterslide. We found that the evening hours were less crowded as well as the early morning.

They let you arrive at 1:00 p.m., to use the waterpark, even though check in is at 4. We found that it was very hectic checking in, as many families were arriving at the same time.

The rooms are very clean, well designed for families to stay together. The bathrooms are tiny, with the vanity in the room, which maximizes sleeping space, which is the most important.

There are also free activities throughout the day in the lobby, and it is good to check them out, including bingo, and face painting.

There are things to do for every age, and it was great to see teens together with younger silblings having a blast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 1 Great Wolf Drive, Scotrun, PA 18355
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Scotrun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scotrun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Scotrun
Great Wolf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.