We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could have been better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Franklin House

Franklin House
101 N Market St, Schaefferstown, PA 17088
(717) 949-2122
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Reinholds, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good but could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The wife and i went for the first time for my wife's 45th b-day. It was a busy Friday night and we were seated quickly due to our reservations. Ambiance was nice and waitress was decent although she would vanish for long periods of time. Fortunately other staff members tend to clear plates and refill drinks sort of like a team approach. Cocktails and appetizers were quickly served. Calimari app. was very good. We waited almost 45 minutes between our salad and main entree. Fortunately we were in no hurry and enjoying a night out without our kids. Our waitress apologized for their slowness and offered us some dinner rolls. She asked if we wanted some dipping oil for the bread which we agreed to and after ten minutes we realized she had forgotten. When the entree finally arrived it was very good. I had the Delmonico and my wife had pasta and scallops. Overall it was decent but it certainly could have been better. Not sure if we'll be back any time soon even though it is only about 20 minutes from our home. Too many other great places to try at this point, but in time we may try it again. If you go on a Friday night don't expect a quick meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
872 reviews 872 reviews
750 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 331 cities Reviews in 331 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“Country crossroads-village charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

There is not a lot around this area, so you know for a upscale restaurant to stay in business they have to draw people from far away -whichmeans they have to be good. I can only say - yes. You can eat in dining room or in the bar. We had a bowl of sausage chowder and a burger with sweet potato fries. Each was very good. High ceiling rooms with tables spread out rather than crowded. I have to dock them a bit due to inattentive service and very cold room when we visited - but I think that was just a one-off. If you are even close to Schaefferstown, stop here to eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I love the ambiance- small rooms, old house, great decor. The menu was varied and interesting and covered all budgets. Much of the food is made in-house by the chef-- always a good sign. I had the special mixed grill and it was excellent. My dinner partners had similar reactions to their entrees. The desserts were interesting and attractive but just a bit under the outstanding levels of the other courses. Not a varied wine list for wines by the glass but it nicely covered the basic types. Service was attentive.
All in all, I would certainly return

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Relaxing Night Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have heard about the Franklin House for quite some time and have wanted to try it out; finally got the opportunity last night. We are about 1 1/2 hours away and have friends that live a little closer. We met for a Friday night dinner and were very pleased with the everything. Service and food were above average and the ambiance is great. If you want a relaxing night out for dinner with friends, the Franklin House is a great choice. I will be going back even with it being 1 1/2 hours away.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Ambiance, food and drinks are always top notch. We go at least once a month. The owner and staff are always up-beat and efficient.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin House also viewed

Been to Franklin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklin House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.