We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great getaway but with some problems to be ironed out.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heritage Cove Resort
Save
You added Heritage Cove Resort to your Saves list
1172 River Road, PO Box 118, Saxton, PA 16678   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great getaway but with some problems to be ironed out.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014 via mobile

The campsites were clean and with full service. We were surprised that the county road in to the resort was dirt & full of potholes for a brief section. Most sites were full for Labor Day Weekend, but the campers were quiet and respectful. The boat ramp was adequate, but there were few docks, making it mandatory to pull your boat in and out each day. The campground provided that service for an extra fee. The trip out the channel to the lake by boat was long & slow. There was no phone service, but we discovered we could connect to the internet from someone's (?) service, however, it was VERY slow. Despite the difficulties and remoteness, we enjoyed the weekend. Our biggest complaint and the reason I have rated this resort so low is the inadequate trash facilities. For the large campground there was no trash pickup at the sites, no dumpsters at the bath houses or near any of the facilities. The only dumpster was at the boat parking area. We came on a 35' motorhome and were camped at the opposite end of the resort, so it was not possible to take our trash as we filled a bag. When the weekend was over we had to place 3 very smelly bags of trash INSIDE our motorhome and drive it to the dumpster before leaving. That alone would keep me from ever going back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have now stayed here in a motor home and last week a cabin. This is a great place to get away and relax. One of the things I like is no phone service and at least right now no internet. It was a great way to spend time with the kids and grand kids without the distraction of cell phones and computers. The cabin was really nice and everyone loved it. We had some friends stop by and they loved the campground. We have stayed in some that you couldn't really put your canopy out because you would be right next to another site. No problem with that here. Plenty of room and a lot of trees. Would recommend this place to anyone that wants to give up their phone and relax for awhile. Our family had the phone number to the resort if they really needed us. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This resort is nestled on the head waters of Raystown Lake. It is an awesome place to bring the family. We found the pool to be sparkling clean and refreshing. Every site had water, sewer and electric. Perfect. They helped us drop the boat in the water and docked along their pier. The fireworks on the Independence Day were incredible, lasting nearly 45 minutes. We will be back on Labor Day for the final fireworks display of the summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We reserved a campsite for Friday, Saturday and Sunday night of Labor Day weekend 2012. We arrived pretty late (11:20 p.m.) so of course the office was closed. A not said to check in in the morning. There was a map of resort highlighting our way to our site. As we started to drive we noticed there were no names on the roads and site numbers were not visible. Luckily our friends who arrived earlier came looking for us because we would have never found it. I was warned adead of time of possibility of no phone service, which there was not. But when I arrived to find out there was also no Internet that was not acceptable. On Saturday morning I didn't even bother to check in. We left. Who goes away with no way for anyone to reach you, or you to be able to reach someone out side of the area. Also, the campsite was not so nice. There were two big tree stumps on our site and the ground was very unlevel. I would be afraid of twisting an ankle had we stayed. Pool is very small for size of campground. If you want to GET AWAY From the rest of the world you might enjoy this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We rented a cabin (#4) at Heritage Cove Resort from 7/15 to 7/18, 2012. What an awesome place. It's a campground that has access to Raystown Lake. There are campers, campsites for tents, and cabins. There is a swimming pool and playground also. They have boat parking (you can park your trailer and truck there when your boat is in the lake) and a dock that you can rent space for your boat as well.

Where to start? I can't say enough good about this place. The cabin was immaculate! What you see on their website is definitely what you get. Our cabin had a bedroom downstairs, in addition to kitchen, bathroom, and living room with fireplace. There was also an upstairs loft that was separated into two more bedrooms. The cabin was clean and just about everything you need as far as dishes, utensils, pots and pans, etc., is provided. The cabin also included a picnic table, porch swing, and a fire ring, all of which we used. The location of the cabin was perfect. It was so quiet it was almost eerie!!!

If you are looking to get away to get out on the lake, to relax, or to hang out with family and/or friends, this place is a must see.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heritage Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Cove Resort

Address: 1172 River Road, PO Box 118, Saxton, PA 16678
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Saxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Saxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.