We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saxonburg

Hotel Saxonburg
220 Main St, Saxonburg, PA 16056
(724) 352-4200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Saxonburg
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Historic Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have eaten here many times over the past 4 years. The food is consistently good but the soda has ALWAYS been flat ..it's a running joke with us, we continue to order it hoping it has improved and we keep sending it back ...."how hard can it be?"

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cabot, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Great Saxonburg Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a charming restaurant dating from the early 1800's, and it shows in its quaint but out of square architecture. Sitting at the bar is like going back to an earlier time.

With a new chef, the food is excellent, especially the pasta dishes and seafood. The wait staff are friendly and efficient.

We like to go there to celebrate birthdays and anniversaries.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fairly good version of American adapted French cousine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

appetizer was brie strawberry compte with crotini andn a shaved winds of have a good selection try the cav reisling and char. baby Back ribs are not messy and flavorful seafood pasta was well executed . This french onion and lobster brisk were the unexpected goodness dessert and coffee not to par

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I eat here whenever I am in the are on business. It is top notch every time. The lobster bisque is about the best anywhere. Pasta dishes are all wonderful and the servers are all very friendly. The place is very charming and there must be a lot of history behind the place. I travel througout the easter U.S. and this in my top three places to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Since 1832, nice history, very nice place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

In a charming little town, great food, well presented, excellent service, and little shops nearby to enjoy, what more could you ask for? It is also a bed and breakfast, with a blend of the old and the new. Unusual menu items, such as Matzo ball soup, and a comfortable look of the past, enjoy it when you can.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Saxonburg also viewed

Been to Hotel Saxonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saxonburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.