We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick & Easy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zook's Homemade Chicken Pies

Zook's Homemade Chicken Pies
3194 Harvest Dr, Ronks, PA 17572-9752
717-768-0239
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Ronks
Restaurant details
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quick & Easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have been getting these pies for several years with no complaints. We share them with our family and friends...the chicken is the best! Better than Mrs. C and banquet!!!!!! I keep them frozen and on hand for this quick meals!!! Best to buy direct from Zook's....other markets price them much higher. They have packing available for long distance rides with bags and ice! Don't judge until you've tried them!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Dissappointed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Over the years I've heard so much ravings about their chicken pot pies, so when I was in Lancaster - stopped in and bought a couple of them to take home. I read the ingredients and was surprised to see that they use the cheapest and unhealthiest oil (cottonseed oil.) The flavor of the pie was awful and tasted so artificial!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Pies Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visit the area twice a year and whenever we do we make sure we bring back as many pies as possible. Great quality, taste homemade, absolutely delicious. We like the chicken the best, but the sausage is excellent too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“homemade potpies yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

this was the first time we had these they are really good we had people recommend this place to us now we are passing it along

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pleases the pickiest!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We've never been to the restaurant, but our favorite little farm store, Kolb's, carries Zook's chicken and beef pies. I brought home a beef pie to try and, not unexpectedly, my picky teen turned up her nose. After baking, I more or less forced her to try a small piece for dinner. She slunk back to the stove for more and more. We all agreed it was delicious! So savory and full of all natural ingredients. The crust is flaky and perfect. Another pie we ate was slightly more watery, but when you are making homemade, you will have these variations. I turned a friend on to the chicken pie and he loved it as well. We're hooked! I love that there are two sizes.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zook's Homemade Chicken Pies also viewed

 
Ronks, Lancaster County
 

Been to Zook's Homemade Chicken Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zook's Homemade Chicken Pies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.