We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate their twice in two days and the food is really good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miller's Smorgasbord

Miller's Smorgasbord
2811 Lincoln Hwy E, Ronks, PA 17572
+1 800-669-3568
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Ronks
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lancaster PA Restaurant & Smorgasbord 85 years ago... Anna Miller served chicken & waffles to truckers as her husband repaired their rigs. It was a simple dish, but it was always served up with a smile. Today our tried & true recipes may not be as simple, but they are prepared with the freshest ingredients ... And they are still served up with a smile. If you miss Miller's, you miss Lancaster County.
Colleyville
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ate their twice in two days and the food is really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Miller's lives up to its reputation and the food is wonderful. If they can please some on the most cantankerous patrons I have ever seen than they can please anyone. I had their soup and salad at lunch and the full dinner smorgasbord as they call it in PA. the next night. Great salads, great chicken, wonderful prime rib and we must not forget the shrimp and desert. I had 4 courses tonight and was well pleases. Not that they need my review or anyone's review but I just wanted everyone to give them a try when in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana B, Public Relations Manager at Miller's Smorgasbord, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed our traditional scratch-made heritage dishes, homemade soups and in-house baked desserts! Thank you again for your comments and I hope that we have an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    343
    218
    71
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia PA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mother's Day meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We arrived on Mother's day around noon and were told it was all reservations only and we could take a number if we wanted to try to wait to see if someone wouldn't show up for their reservation. We said we'd give it a half an hour, which we did and we were called. Table of 4 with view of the highway lol. Last year we had a view of the cows and farm on the other side of the building, which my kids loved, but we couldn't be picky since we were lucky to get in at all. When we were seated, we were immediately told we had until 2 pm to eat. It was approx. 12:45. I asked the woman who seated us what they would do if we weren't finished lol...kick us out? She replied that they hope we could follow their guidelines. Ok....so we made our way to the buffet. Food is ok. Nothing too exciting. Good fried chicken, 3 soups, salad bar, carved turkey, mac & cheese, a few vegetables. Our waitress was great and brought drinks to us without asking. They wouldn't have to do so much running around if they just gave glasses that are a wee bit larger, the ones they give you are so small and when filled to the top with ice, not much beverage to last you. For dessert, we had ice cream and cake. Very nice but not sure it was worth the $70+ we spent for what we ate. I felt like even though we were under the time limit, we were a little rushed out of there. Stinks because I went to this place last year for Mother's day for the first time and liked it so much that I decided to go back this year and it wasn't the same.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana B, Public Relations Manager at Miller's Smorgasbord, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We allot a timeframe for our guests on Mother's Day to help plan our seating, scheduling and to best manage the flow of reservations throughout the day. I’m so sorry that you felt rushed as a result. Thank you for your comments and I hope that we have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Attempted to try”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The wife and I went in to eat and we needed to sit closer to the food area because of walking disabilities. We wanted to sit here nearby, and the woman stated no we don't serve anyone there. I said excuse me and she stated that I must sit where she wants us to sit. The rudeness and the fact of prices ($24.95) per person. This we did and waitress informed us that is the way it is. To say the least, we did find a finer place to eat and the hospitality was a 1,000 better also. We got to sit where we wanted, and and throughly enjoyed our meal for $37.67 of all we could eat. It pays to shop around and enjoy your surroundings and hospitality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana B, Public Relations Manager at Miller's Smorgasbord, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
I am very sorry that you did not have a good experience with us and felt as though you were mistreated. I will share your comments to our Management team. We take all guest feedback very seriously and do our best to use it as a guide for improvement. I hope that we will have the chance to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, North Carolina
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“We were given a time limit to eat!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

When our tour bus arrived, an employee of MIller's stepped on board, and the last thing he said was that we had an hour and 15 minutes to eat. Our large group felt like we had been slapped in the face! We had traveled across 4 states to get to Miller's and had a reservation, so they knew we were coming. But we had no idea we were given a time limit to enjoy our dinner. Once we were seated, we noticed plenty of empty seats around us, and throughout our meal, the empty seats did not fill up. Our reservation was for 6:45 p.m. and around 7:30 p.m. we noticed they started shutting down buffet stations. We then realized why we were given a time limit to eat - the employees of Miller's want to make sure they get off work on time and don't have to stay late!

The food was good - not the best I've ever eaten, but very tasty. Our favorite area was the desserts where you could get a warm piece of pie with ice cream. Yummy! The employees at the dessert station were the nicest and most friendly in the entire establishment. After we hurried through our meal in order to avoid surpassing our 1.5 hour time limit, we enjoyed shopping at the gift shop located in the same building as the restaurant. Please note - we were not given a time limit to spend money in their gift shop.

We were very disappointed the quilt shop in the parking lot of Miller's was closed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana B, Public Relations Manager at Miller's Smorgasbord, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
I’m sorry that you felt rushed during your recent group meal with us. We do allot approximately 70 minutes for our groups to enjoy their meal, and indicate such on our group reservation confirmations that are sent. We will review the way in which it is stated on our confirmations to make sure that it is made clearer in advance of arrival. We allot a timeframe for all large groups to help plan our seating, scheduling and to best manage the flow of reservations throughout the day. Again, I’m so sorry that you felt rushed as a result. I will share your comments with our management team. Thank you for your comments and I hope that we have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Soup and Salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My wife and I went here the first night we stayed at the Red Caboose Motel. I had the soup and salad, unlimited, an excellent value. Full smorgasbord look great but was a little expensive to compared to others in the area

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana B, Public Relations Manager at Miller's Smorgasbord, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. I'm glad that you enjoyed our 8 homemade soups and our delicious salad and bread buffet! We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller's Smorgasbord also viewed

 
Ronks, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 

Been to Miller's Smorgasbord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miller's Smorgasbord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.