We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Katie's Kitchen

Katie's Kitchen
200 Hartman Bridge Rd, Ronks, PA 17572-9791
717-687-5333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 restaurants in Ronks
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Beachwood, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sadly Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I went here for dinner last Friday night. The place was full but there was no wait. Based on all the great reviews, we were really looking forward to having dinner here. I so badly wanted to like this place but unfortunately this was our first and most likely our last time here. The atmosphere was nothing fancy. It was exactly as you would expect it to be. Which was fine. The hostess and our server were both very friendly. The menu is not very large but does offer a nice variety and reasonable prices. I chose the special for the night, chicken croquets.( A favorite of mine) It came with two small croquets, mashed potatoes & applesauce. My husband ordered the famous meatloaf with mashed potatoes and carrots. Neither came with a salad although we did order two cups of Chicken Corn Noodle soup. Which was served very hot but tasted only so-so. The dinner rolls were probably the best thing of the night. Didn't care for the peanut butter spread. Just something about that didn't go with dinner. When our entrees arrived they looked ok but once we took our first bite we knew we regretted our decision to have dinner here. I don't even know how to describe how bad they both tasted. I truly believe it was the first time neither one of us finished our dinners. And not because we were full. We left without desert or saying anything. Afterwards we went to Target for some tums. I knew the kind of food that they served here. Like I said, I wanted to like it. But we just didn't care for it at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    141
    60
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clementon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Real food and easy on the wallet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We've been here a few times and have never been disappointed. The place is clean, easy parking, friendly service where the server smiles and looks at you when she speaks. I've had the ham loaf and chicken croquettes. Both were great, but just two small croquettes was a bit light for me.
They start you off with a roll and some homemade peanut butter spread. Doesn't sound good, but it is. If you ask for another roll, you will be charged for it, though. They also have sweet potato fries.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not fancy - just plain good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Katie's Kitchen was recommended to us by the clerk at our motel. The owners, she told us, are Amish, and the waitresses all wore Amish style clothing. The food was tasty, and the portions were quite large. The pies were delicious!
All-in-all, it was a pleasant, relaxing dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I don't see what all the excitement was about, but absolutely nothing wrong with the place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Before arriving in the area, I had seen the great reviews of the place, and it was recommended to us by a local.
Although nothing was bad about the place, it really is just average. Its like a diner or a deli. The service was great, the food average. Desserts looked great. I think some people get over excited about the thought of "Amish cooking".

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cute, quiet, and oh so friendly!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have passed Katie's Kitchen on Route 896 many times, and today was the perfect time to give it a try. We arrived about 11:30, and there was no wait for a booth beside the windows. We were greeted at the door by a friendly young lady, and all the waitresses went out of their way to be kind and helpful. The menu is filled with good choices for lunch and everything we chose was delicious. The Chicken Corn Noodle Soup was perfect for the chill in the air today. The special was a Grilled Reuben and they were happy to substitute turkey for the corned beef, which my husband preferred. Grilled cheese and tomato sandwiches and grilled ham and cheese were also ordered. If you are ready for a good meal, fair prices, and smiling faces, this is the place to go. They are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner - Tuesday through Saturday during the winter months.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katie's Kitchen also viewed

 
Ronks, Lancaster County
Ronks, Lancaster County
 

Been to Katie's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katie's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.