We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is Potential - Great Concept” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop to your Saves list
Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   312 Paradise Lane, Ronks, PA 17572   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Ronks
Clinton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“There is Potential - Great Concept”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Bare bone basics - NO frills! With a lot of tender love and care this motel could really be above three stars. Much needed repair from repairmen that seem like they have knowledge and give a heck. Spackle was painted over without being smoothed out. Screws that were too long for what needed repaired left without a care. A patch of mold at the ceiling window. Little things that made a HUGE difference. Old model television that you cannot be viewed unless the lights are turned off. A door that needs replaced- air/heat can easily escape because of the gap.

All is not lost! #33 was clean, the sheets were ironed crisp and the unit was nice and cold A/C - temperatures soared to 99 at time of check-in. The water was steaming hot for a shower and there was room for five . In the caboose is a small microwave and refrig. If you/children like an adventure I would suggest you give this place a try.

Room Tip: Bring extra bedding, snacks and games.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    156
    87
    43
    69
See reviews for
285
63
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in the family caboose # 4 "El Rio Grande". Our two little girls had a great time. The motel is not luxurious, however our room was very clean, has AC,and, TV. If you are looking for a five stars hotel this is not the place for you, but luxurious if you are looking for a simple place for the kids to have fun , you should give it a try. It is a unique stay, it will make great family memories.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
train312, General Manager at Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to post your positive experience. Have a great day and look forward to seeing your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This motel isn't fancy, by far, but the novelty of staying in renovated train cars was enough to keep my two daughters enthralled (and my husband and I satisfied---plus, we had brought our own pillows and blankets, which helped). This is really a very cute place for young kids, especially those who adore trains, since every "room" is actually an old train car.

With a carpet and bedding upgrade or two, this place could really charge more and allure a LOT more customers, in my opinion, because everything else was really great. I give the customer service an A+ for friendliness; the on-site playgrounds, viewing tower, petting zoo, and game room were a favorite; and the food in the dining car matched the "fun factor" of eating there. :) Plus, the location in Lancaster, only a minute or two away from the railroad station, train museum, toy train museum, Choo-Choo Barn, etc. was fantastic, and you're really among the Amish there, which was fascinating as well. We'd go back, for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
train312, General Manager at Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your experience with us. We will continue to make upgrades and appreciate your feedback. Thank you again and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was our first time here and we will likely go back for the kids but I'll be sure to pack clorox wipes, blankets and more towels! Our room was pretty dirty! The gross rug, worn out blankets, stained bed cover and towels that were paper thin all seemed as old as the motel itself!
While we were not expecting anything luxurious, it doesn't take a lot to provide guests
With cleanliness. We paid $150.00 a night-don't think that's a lot to ask for!
The staff was nice especially in the restaurant and we tried breakfast and lunch there- food was good!
The concept is awesome and my kids' reaction to it priceless!!!
Also lots of things to do around you rain or shine!

Room Tip: BYOBT-bring your own blankets and towels!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
train312, General Manager at Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to post your experience. Sorry that housekeeping didn’t have your caboose properly cleaned. We out source our linens and will pass on the feedback as well to the linen company. Looking forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in the family caboose #37. While it's certainly not the Hilton, it is an awesome experience for kids. The facility is comfortable and clean, but it is bare bones. An adult looking for a pillow-top king bed with luxury amenities will surely be disappointed. However, if you're an 8-year old little boy, then this is an experience you will always remember. If you have young children, please give it a try! There's a Target nearby to stock up on popcorn and other goodies while you're all hanging out in the front bed watching TV. The staff is friendly and the location is convenient (literally down the street from the Strasburg Station).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
train312, General Manager at Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to post a positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Old -small -dated -over priced .. I booked room (caboose) for 2 nights to see Thomas the Train .. Tv did not work --Maintenance man was very rude ! ! Restaurant was terrible!!! Got a full refund !!!! Looked like they had a web cam hooked to the tv ! Do not stay here !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
train312, General Manager at Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time and posting your opinion. These are actual caboose and yes they’re long and narrow. We operate as a seasonal business and our rates depend on the time of year and holidays. However, the “web cam” is the eye for the Comcast cable and not a web cam. Sorry that made you uneasy. Thank you again for your feedback so we can improve and make positive changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at The Red Caboose while taking a trip to Day Out With Thomas at the Stratsburg Railroad. Our 3 year old son is still asking to go back! It is the perfect place for children of all ages for a unique trip. We actually stayed inside a caboose! The room was narrow but had 2 beds, 2 TVs, frig and micro with Amish buggies trotting by every few minutes. We also loved the extras- the playground, petting zoo, buggy rides, train tracks and restaurant. We spent the whole day just playing on the grounds. It's surrounded by Amish farms that are so breathtaking and relaxing. The Stratsburg trains run right thru the motel grounds, and we got to see Thomas ride by every 30 min! Can you hear my son screaming? :)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
train312, General Manager at Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your expeerience with us! We look forward to having you aboard with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop

Address: 312 Paradise Lane, Ronks, PA 17572
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ronks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Ronks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Caboose offers a unique Strasburg, PA lodging experience for families, couples, or train history enthusiasts. The Red Caboose Motel is located in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. We are surrounded by Amish Farms, The Strasburg Railroad, The Railroad Museum and many more Lancaster County attractions. The Red Caboose Motel features 46 rooms consisting of cabooses, a baggage car, and a post office car (many newly restored). Try our PA Dutch menu in one of our two authentic dining cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant And Gift Shop
Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop Hotel Strasburg
Red Caboose Strasburg
Red Caboose Hotel
Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop Ronks, PA - Lancaster County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Caboose Motel, Restaurant & Gift Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.