We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a little piece of heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon View Farms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horizon View Farms
Save
You added Horizon View Farms to your Saves list
2393 Chickentown Road, Rockwood, PA 15557   |  
Hotel amenities
Uniontown, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This place is a little piece of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

After biking on the GAP and kyaking on the Yough river we were exhausted. We biked into Rockwood late (8pm) where Cheryl arranged to pick us up and take us to the b&b and my sore rear end was thankful. When we arrived there was a cheese tray and wine awaiting us. This place is beautiful. The room was immaculate and there was attention to detail. So relaxing. In the morning a good breakfast was served. After breakfast my husband and I went down to see and pet the 27 horses they have. They took us back to the trail in the morning.The staff is great and really put their heart into making us feel welcome. We will definitely come back!
Jason & Angela OH

Room Tip: Two rooms on lower level with private bath. Big loft upstairs with three bedrooms and one bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here back in early spring during our visit to Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. Close to these places and a really wonderful room and hosts. Made us feel at home with their awesome hospitality. A real gem in western PA. We will be back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

What a gorgeous bed & breakfast! The rooms were beautifully decorated, well maintained, and clean - the grounds of the farm were truly exquisite. I could have never imagined that only 45 minutes outside of Pittsburgh such a paradise existed. My husband and I went for a horseback ride through the pristine and scenic trails - which was incredibly romantic! The deck was beautiful to have breakfast on overlooking the pastures where the horses graze. We sat by the fire pit at night which was so romantic and wonderful - we really cannot wait to return! The breakfast was delicious and abundant - Cheryl was wonderful and the owners stopped by as well to say hello. Needless to say we are planning our return ASAP!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our stay while biking on the Gap Trail from Pittsburgh, PA to Cumberland , MD at the Horizon View Farms was an incredible experience! We were really late coming in and really really tired after a long day of biking 62 miles uphill through some rain. With no cell to call our B&B and just having left a message, our hostess, Cheryl, magically appeared at the beginning of another scary dark storm in her car to transport us 3 more miles to the B&B. She went those miles above and beyond the call of duty for sure. When we arrived, there was a hot, home cooked meal and a bottle of wine awaiting us. The old farmhouse was nicely refurbished with the original copper pattern ceilings and very quiet on a high hill. What a lovely get away for us. Next morning, after a another great meal and warm welcome by staff, we were again "escorted" back to the trail. The guys in the barn even hosed down our bikes for us; what an incredible warm and welcoming stay
We highly recommend this B&B! Joanne and David

Room Tip: All rooms were nice; 2 suites actually on the main floor, then apartments on the top floors for fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Originally, I emailed Horizon View Farms just to ask a few questions about the facility and surrounding areas. After reading the very complete and helpful response from Cheryl, my sister and I knew this is where we would stay and organized our road trip around the farm!! From the very first email you're made to feel like family!! We were sent detailed directions and still manage to get slightly lost, our fault completely. For over 15 minutes the staff stayed on the phone trying to help us get back on track. When we finally were able to tell them where we were, they immediately said stay there, I'm coming to get you. Gerry came and we followed him to the farm!! From the outside the farmhouse is modest ,the property is gorgeous, the facility breathtaking. Cheryl met us at the door and welcomed us into the beautiful home. Brand new spacious suites with elegant furnishings, wine, fruit, crackers, cheese and chocolate waiting for our arrival!!! They were gracious showing us around the entire house and barns. We had scheduled a ride for 4 o'clock, weather conditions kept us from our ride, but Gerry had 3 horses dried and ready just in case. They also stayed later in hopes of getting us out. We met and feed the horses, they gave us emergency contact numbers and great advice on where to eat. We enjoyed the tranquil views, walked around the grounds, learned to relax, played cards and slept like babies in the comfortable beds!!! The next morning we woke up to see the sunrise and were greeted by the sweetest woman, the aroma of fresh coffee, a place setting of ripe fresh fruit, blueberries, strawberries, cantaloupe and homemade waffles!! We met more of the staff, visited our new 4 legged friends, then unfortunately it was time to go. I do have one complaint, we should have stayed longer!!!Great place to get away, slow down and chill out with couples or families.We will return, possible renting the entire house and filling it with both our families. Horizon View Farms is your Home away from Home...........Go and ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

first, i love being able to say that we stayed on chickentown and mud pike roads. other novelties: b/b that wasn't victorian or "grandmotherly," a "farm" with modern comforts (almost too much fun, actually), and having a 2-level suite. interesting and cosmopolitan owners, sweet, helpful, and warm staff. comfortable and casual stay.

most ppl in this area are soooooo nice, many random acts of kindness. in hindsight and after rereading reviews below, i wish that we'd at least gone out to see the horses/grounds since that's part of why i had wanted to stay here. and yes, they could still use a cutting board :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

I feel very fortunate to have picked Horizon View Farms for our rest on a road trip between Ohio and NY.
The farm house suite is very comfortable and with great elegant country charm. From every window I could spot their beautiful horses and the serene rolling hills. My son had his first horse ride there, and still asks for "Penny"!
The staff is very courteous and helpful, and gives guests a lot of privacy. We look forward to spending more time in your guest house and exploring the Laurel Highlands in the near future!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon View Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon View Farms

Address: 2393 Chickentown Road, Rockwood, PA 15557
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Rockwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rockwood
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come ride the open trails, relax in the meadows, hike the hills and valleys or bike the scenic country roads. When your day is done, stay in our farmhouse and soak in the serenity of country living. The majestic and magical landscape of the Laurel Highlands provides the perfect back drop for a stay at the farm. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon View Farms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.