We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean, safe, comfortable place to stay while riding the GAP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel On Main

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel On Main
Save
You added Hostel On Main to your Saves list
506 Main Street, Rockwood, PA 15557   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A clean, safe, comfortable place to stay while riding the GAP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This place is run by the Rockwood Mill Shops a few doors down. It is inexpensve and clean, and a fun place to stay while riding the GAP. There is indoor bike storage with an available hose and pump. There is a large central bunk room, and a few smaller bunkrooms that can be closed off to accomodate families or groups. The central bunkroom had three individual bathrooms with showers, and they were spotless. The pizza and breakfast at the Rockwood Mill Shops were both very good too.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
3
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hostel on Main as part of a ski trip with my kids. It was perfect! It is located in a restored grocery store and some of the relics of the past are still there! Everything was extremely clean and very well cared for. The private baths were sparkling and we enjoyed relaxing in the living room and building a puzzle in the evening. It also would be a great place for bikers to stay as it's right along the Great Allegheny Passage. It has a big deck off of the back too. We used the indoor bike storage area for our ski equipment. The Hostel is owned by the same people who own Rockwood Mill Shoppes and Opera House and we had breakfast there in the morning and pizza and sandwiches in the evening. It's not like staying in a cozy B&B but it's exactly what we needed and at under $25/pp, the price can't be beat! We will be back this summer when we bike the Great Allegheny Passage!

Room Tip: There are two private rooms available if you don't want to sleep in the common room. Ear plugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I stayed at Hostel on Main for 2 nights in November, 2011. It was a very comfortable place to tour the area. Amenities include the kitchen with its fridge and microwave and a spacious common area. There are three new bathrooms to accommodate all the guests - one is ADA. I stayed in the main bunkroom but there are smaller rooms that can be rented. Best of all, next door at the Mill Shoppes, you can get breakfast, lunch and dinner at very reasonable prices. I am very picky about my pizza and I would rate their pizza at the top of my list.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I stayed at the Hostel on Main while biking the Great Allegheny Passage bike trail. I've stayed in hostels around the world and this compares favorably to some of the nicest in Europe. The owner (Judy, I think) has done a great job re-purposing several old buildings in Rockwood, including this hostel that used to be a grocery store. I had originally planned to stay across the river in the campground, but for only $12 more got a bed and a hot shower in the hostel, coupled with nice conversation from the other guests. Things to know about the hostel:

There is a main bunk room (co-ed) where you can "rent a bed," plus two private rooms that can be rented for $50 and up depending on how many people you have. 2-3 bathrooms with showers are available. There were only 6-7 of us resident the night I was there, and waiting was never an issue. If the hostel was full it might be a problem. No lockers are available for storing valuables, which could be a problem.

Two doors down is the Rockwood Opera House facility, which houses a bake/sweet shop with hand-dipped ice cream, as well as a separate pizza shop. Very convenient, and the pizza and salad were good there.

The CSX rail freight line runs right behind the hostel. Really... like 100 feet behind it. The big freight trains come through a few times an hour all night, and blow their whistle each time. If you don't have earplugs you aren't going to get any sleep. Note that this is a reality in just about every town along the GAP trail, as the towns are all built around the railroad, so don't let that dissuade you from this hostel. Just be sure to bring earplugs (a good idea when staying in any hostel, anyway).

Rockwood itself was very friendly to GAP trail users, and should be commended for reaching out and developing services for trail users. I like to spend my money in towns like this that are working hard to reinvent themselves. Do your part to make sure that services like this hostel survive.

Also of note: there is very limited cell phone service in Rockwood and along the trail (none at all for my T-mobile phone), so don't count on calling ahead the same day to book a room. Either pre-book or just show up and hope for the best.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hostel On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel On Main

Address: 506 Main Street, Rockwood, PA 15557
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Rockwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rockwood
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel On Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.