We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation spot in the Poconos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Springs Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Reeders
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Springs Lake Resort
Save
You added Mountain Springs Lake Resort to your Saves list
Mountain Springs Drive, PO Box 297, Reeders, PA 18352   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reeders
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great family vacation spot in the Poconos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family just returned from a fantastic vacation at MSL. We stayed in cabin #54 - the Hemlocks, and I cannot recommend this cabin enough. From the lake view to the large outside deck this cabin had it all! The grounds here are beautiful and well kept. My family felt safe and secure througout the vacation. The teens enjoyed swiming in the lake, fishing in their boat, and playing basketball daily. My wife and I enjoyed the nature trail during the day and the quiet nights sitting on our deck. I highly recommend Mountain Springs Lake Resort and I look forward to coming back in the fall for a long weekend!

Room Tip: Hemlocks are absolutely worth the splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    14
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our first stay at Mountain Springs Lake Resort (May 30 – June 3, 2013; Apartment #23) won’t be our last, but if your travel style isn’t quaint and cozy “middle of the road,” as ours is, you may want to stay in a cottage on the lake or explore your options elsewhere. Apartment #23’s amenities, layout, and its proximity to the ping pong barn, horseshoes, badminton, basketball court, nature trail, etc., are the reasons we chose that cottage, but the photos on the website didn’t do its beautiful, tranquil setting justice. Explore the resort map fully before booking; as always, do your homework to avoid surprises, especially when it comes to efficiency kitchens and how they are equipped; and don’t hesitate to ask Ben at Guest Services even the smallest question. And two tips for first-time guests: (1) the turn onto Mountain Spring Drive from Route 715 is easy to miss—it’s opposite La Viña restaurant; (2) when it comes to local grocery stores, the Weis Market on Route 611 in Tannersville is closer, but the Giant Food a little farther down Route 611 in Bartonsville has a much better selection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this place.

The Good:
Beautiful grounds. There is a lovely lake with a beautiful (small) beach and lots and lots of trees. It is so dark here at night that there are a million stars.
There are great public places everywhere through the grounds - multiple playgrounds, volleyball nets, etc. just scattered throughout the resort.
Lots to do on the property - playgrounds, beach, swimming, row boats, tennis.
Very friendly and helpful staff
The fully equipped kitchens are very nice. We kept a lot of food in the refridgerator and saved lots of money and time on breakfasts and picnic lunnces.
Great location - near Big Pocono State Park, The Crossings Outlet Mall, a nice town area with many restaurants, etc.
Bathrooms and kitchens are very clean.

The bad:
Very old, run-down cabins. The furniture is old and feels kind of gross. Same with the carpets.
The beds are super hard. After three nights, all of the adults were complaining of back aches.
Bathrooms are super tiny.

Clearly the good list is longer than the bad list, but having gross furnishings and hard beds kind of puts a damper on the trip. If they did a bit of remodeling - simply new carpet and new living and bedroom furniture, this place would be amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were here in mid-May and it was unusally cool so there were very few other guests.

We splurged on the Honeymoon Cottage (#32) even though we were honeymooners 31 years ago!

The lake is very clean and nice for rowboats...no motors allowed. Grounds have nice trails and our cottage was very well stocked and very clean.

Tannersville outlet malls, other shopping, restaurants, etc. are all minutes away but there is no food onsite. Most cottages are setup for cooking but not #32.

Would love to go back in the fall to see the leaves turned or when the rhododendrons are blooming.

Room Tip: Some cottages are on the lake, some are more remote, some on an open field so use the site map to fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our daughter's reception was in September of 2012 at the Lodge. It could not have been better. The high standard of quality in the setting, the food, the staff, and the cabin accommodations exceeded our expectations. A number of guests rented cabins and stayed for the weekend. It's a wonderful setting, they have a variety of cabins that range from cozy to 3 bedroom/3 bathroom. Stays have to extend beyond a single night, but once you check in you will not want to leave.
This is not the typical "Poconos Mountain Resort". It is understated, private, and quietly elegant. Great for a wedding reception, great for a peaceful lakeside getaway. Doing both in the same weekend was the ultimate.

Room Tip: Book cabins when you select a wedding date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumford, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Two of my siblings and their spouses and myself stayed here for a family vacation. My sister and brother in law have vacationed here for several years. Our cabin had a full kitchen, large living room w/fireplace that also opened into the kitchen, two bathrooms, three bedrooms, separate dining area,deck and small covered porch at the main entrance. Our cabin was right on the lake. What a delight to eat your meals looking at the lake and watching whatever wildlife scurried around. There is a trail that goes around the lake, and walking one day, I saw six deer. Boating, fishing, swimming in season, hiking, premium outlets and other Pocono attractions are nearby. The entire property inside and out is extremely well maintained. Owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. Cabins vary in size and location, so any number of people should be able to find suitable accommodations. Definitely a place I want to go to again.

Room Tip: A cabin along the lake is really nice. Great views and you are near to the lake for swimming in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband & I just recently stayed in the 'honeymoon' cabin for 2 nights. I have to say the cabin was much larger than the pictures on the website. It's beautifully decorated and recently renovated. The bathroom was gorgeous and there is a jacuzzi tub for two. They really do a great job of preparing the room as well. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. This cabin makes a great romantic getaway!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Springs Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Springs Lake Resort

Address: Mountain Springs Drive, PO Box 297, Reeders, PA 18352
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Reeders
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reeders
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Mountain Springs Lake Hotel Reeders
Hotel At Mountain Springs Lake
Mountain Springs Lake Resort Pocono Mountains, PA - Reeders

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Springs Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.