We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Abraham Lincoln Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Abraham Lincoln Hotel to your Saves list
The Abraham Lincoln Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 North Fifth Street, Reading, PA 19601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Reading
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Noisy night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Pros: the lobby is interesting and attractive, the staff is helpful, parking is free and the rooms are a nice size.

Cons: the rooms are pretty run down and there was some strange - loud - mechanical noise just outside our room all night long. We kept hoping it would stop and so didn't ask (in the middle of the night) for another room. In retrospect, we should have.

We generally lean toward older hotels with some character, but this wasn't a good call.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    122
    88
    45
    35
See reviews for
88
103
26
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

My buddy is getting married in a month or so. He got with this hotel and reserved their weekend for family and friends. Some of us were able to book and others weren't. They couldn't book because the hotel gave out those rooms.

When the hotel was notified they couldn't care less. I called to cancel my reservation and they sounded like it was an inconvenience to them to cancel.

Screw this joint

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Thisis a Classic older Hotel with some really neat stuff in Lobby and around the building if you like older things

Rooms were large.

Breakfast not included

Parking was 2 which was i assume to keep non stayers out

Enjoyed it staff we saw was friendly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Traveling with family for an extended weekend get away, we thought we'd try the Abraham Lincoln to bring some "character" in between stops at very generic chain locations. The area around the hotel certainly is full of a lot of characters, but not where I'd feel safe taking the family out for a walk. As someone mentioned, I don't think there were any great food establishments nearby anyway, so no great loss. The lobby, restaurant and bar area do remind you for an era gone by, and have a classic (if dated) look that gives a feeling that this was once the place to be in Reading. Our room was a tad small with two full size beds, and we were dissapointed that there was no flatscreen as they mentioned on their website. My biggest issue is with their bathrooms.... If there's one thing I can't stand when traveling, it's an unclean bathroom. Mildew in the shower, the corners of the tile floor looking dirty, unpolished fixtures, etc. It's gross and the one thing that will keep me away again in the future. Do your guests a favor and put some elbow grease into REALLY cleaning a handfull of rooms. As one review said, I think the place only had a few guests over the weekend, why not make the BEST impression possible?

Room Tip: I'm not sure if there's a good side, or interesting view, but make sure you check to be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

From the reviews, I knew ahead of time pretty much what to expect at the Abraham Lincoln. Downtown Reading is run down, but the Abraham Lincoln is not - it's fine, if not great. Our room was spacious & quiet, the in-room coffee, fridge & microwave were convenient, the beds were comfy & the free in-roon wifi was plenty fast.

Also on the plus side, an easy-to-access parking garage is only $2/day (weekends). Metered street parking also is available. It's a shame, but Reading offers essentially no restaurants, shops, etc. within walking distance of the hotel. Even the hotel restaurant offers only limited service.

Alas, on the minus side, the hotel staff ignored that I had reserved for 3 persons & at first had us in a king. They moved us to a 2 doubles, but I had to insist to get non-smoking. Also, we stayed 2 days & housekeeping did not replenish towels adequately for 3 people.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 10th floor if you want non-smoking - I suggest the 14th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Right up until I found the roach in the cup beside my bed this morning. I had some misgivings when I checked in because as a woman traveling alone I didn't feel safe walking around outside. The room wasn't filthy but it was by no means fresh. I had already decided not to say here again before I found my roommate this morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westbury, ny
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on our way to Hershey. You enter on the bottom floor (check in is on the next floor up) but here was no one there to tell us that. We wandered back and forth before the guy returned to his desk and seemed like we were bothering him when we asked where to check in.

The room is large but it had a gross feeling. You know that feeling like you don't want to take off ur shoes in fear of your feet touching the dirty rug. The sheets do not fit on the bed... I don't know what they are thinking. You can't sit on the bEd without the sheet coming off. Annoying! The hotel was empty so we asked the check in guy to give us a room away from other guests because our daughter is autistic and can get loud when it's bedtime. He said he would. Well sure enough at 11 pm they knocked on our door to tell us the guest in the next room had complained.

The only plus was the valet guys. Very nice but be aware $36. To park.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Abraham Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abraham Lincoln Hotel

Address: 100 North Fifth Street, Reading, PA 19601
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Abraham Lincoln Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Berk's County's only luxury Historic Hotel offering grand architecture, stunning accommodations; along with on site dining, fitness center and free WIFI Stay and experience our gracious hospitality, fresh culinary options and the casual comforts of The Abe Saloon. Stroll our historic downtown neighborhood and sample great restaurants, museums, art galleries, IMAX theater and professional sporting events, just footsteps from the Abraham Lincoln Hotel Whether your trip to Reading is for business or pleasure, as an individual or part of a group; you will LOVE the Abraham Lincoln Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Abraham Lincoln Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abraham Lincoln
Wyndham Reading
Reading Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abraham Lincoln Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.