We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ugly Oyster

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Ugly Oyster
21 South Fifth Street, Reading, PA
(610) 373-6791
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 279 restaurants in Reading
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
pa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The food menu & beer selections at the Oyster are both extensive and diverse. The Grilled Malibu sandwich was excellent; very delicious. I would reccommend getting there early if there's alot going on in town, as place is close to many of the cities activities.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    14
    25
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I used to work around the corner from this bar. It's a really cool looking Guiness bar. We used to hit it for lunch every once in a while. The food is killer. One of the best steaks I ever had was at the Ugly O. I'm not much for the bar scene, especially when it gets crowded and this place DEFINITELY gets crowded.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mertztown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Irish pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

They have a great beer selection- lots of bottled and 1 Cask and about 10 Draft selections that change. The food is really good too! They have excellent seafood, some of the best fish and chips to be had and their french fries are definitely home made!! Plus the place is historic with an incredible massive bar, tin ceilings and is worth checking out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great beers and reasonably good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Convenient t the hotel on a fairly desolate street. Professional, beer-savvy staff. Not ideal for the vegetarian in the group, but good seafood for the rest.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent pub in downtown Reading”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We had another wonderful dining experience recently at The Ugly Oyster. Menu is not huge buthe food is fresh and DELICIOUS!! also - good service and wide variety of beer selection (draft & bottles). Recommend mussels, shrimp cocktail, and fries. Can't wait to go back - what more can I say??

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ugly Oyster also viewed

 

Been to The Ugly Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ugly Oyster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.