We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Spring/Captain's Cove

Mountain Spring/Captain's Cove
2619 Hill Rd, Reading, PA 19606-9215
(610) 236-1463
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 286 Restaurants in Reading
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Drums, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Feels like vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Loved the outside atmosphere. It has such a vacation feel to it. It's a nice escape for a few hours, then back to reality. The service was great. The food was pretty good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    8
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shillington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food but a little loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Food was excellent!! Staff was excellent!! It was a little loud with the amount of people talking and motorcycles revving their engines outside and I am a motorcycle person just don't like revving engines when we are trying to have a nice meal with family

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“overpriced & a rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I decided to try this place, I wished I hadn't. We were a party of 6 & went there for the Lobster special, haha joke was on us. We got there at 6pm were seated & ordered only to be told, AFTER we ordered , that they were out of this special. HMMMMMM makes you wonder. there were alot of people there & no parking, I just wonder how many got the special. Instead of leaving we ordered crab cakes, EXTREMELY overpriced , where as the cakes were good the fries were hard & cold. For $22 you got that plus a tiny cup of co slaw. This place is open & nice why can't have good food & why would you run a special & run out by 6pm? dissapointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wernerssville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Insde noise caused headache”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Food was great. Vegetables cold but good. Had reservations but were not told they were only inside, not for the outdoor dining. The wait for outdoor was 30 minutes. Opted for inside and it was one of the worst experiences we have ever had. The noise level was so bad that we could not hear anything among the 5 of us. Asked to speak to the manager and after at least 20 minutes (without seeing him/her) decided to leave. Thought it was pretty cheap to charge for every soda and coffee refill. Very disappointing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I had the Prime Rib which was well-prepared. Side salad was a nice size. Both the white and red sangria are highly recommended. Everyone like the meals so i can recommend the Prime Rib sandwich, Rasta pasta, Seafood linguine, and cobb salad. Mussels were Ok but 3 were undercooked. Endamene was not a good appetizer choince. Desserts are tasty also. Service is slow and we had to switch meals around because they screwed up who got what. Parking is atrocious. Not enough for a restaurant/attraction of this size.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Spring/Captain's Cove also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Spring/Captain's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Spring/Captain's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.