We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Judy's On Cherry

Judy's On Cherry
332 Cherry St, Reading, PA 19602
(610) 374-8511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 263 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Such a Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We love the small plate offered at Judy's. Service is wonderful and the food is spectacular! A must place to visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    49
    19
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Request for server accepted when Reservation placed forgotten at arrival.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Called a week in advance for a reservation. It was for a Saturday evening prior to going to the Reading symphony. I requested our favorite server. The reservation was made via voice mail. The owner returned the call leaving a message confirming the time, the number in the party, the request for the server and the last name for reservation. At arrival we were seated and said hello to the lady I requested as the server. After sitting there for 8 to 10 minutes, an other server approached the table and said she was going to be our server. I was able to flag down the hostess and told her about the issue. She said a party of 6 and a party requested our server so we could not have her. No apology, even I explained the message from the owner confirming my request, Amazing!!!!! Food was the usual so so fare. They were busy, however the server disappeared after the table was cleared. As a result no dessert or coffee was ordered due to symphony time.
It had been well over a year since we were there last and this time will be the last. Judy's is not the only game in town. Take care of your customers or you will lose them !!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Speckled Hen companion restaurant to Judy's on Cherry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This restaurant is fashioned to be an English Pub. Loud rock and roll music not in keeping with the restaurant theme. Hard to talk to one another. Upon arriving we noticed a young lady enjoying a smoke next to the entrance. She happened to be the restaurant hostess who kept us waiting inside untill she completed her smoke. The restaurant didn't appear at all full early evening, however, one of the main meals, chicken pot pie was no longer available. My wifes so called shepherds pie was missing most of the main ingredient , the meat! But it was a great dish of mashed potato. This restaurant needs a manager!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Judy's On Cherry is my favorite restaurant. You get a gourmet feel without a gourmet stuffiness. The food is delicious, especially the butternut squash soup! The owner, Judy, is always there and is quick to help you. The counter is fun to sit at for a cooking show!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernersville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

menu was lacking variety or anything at all. Ordered drinks and there was no alcohol in the drink. Server said we were lying. We were given new drinks that was overpowering with booze.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Judy's On Cherry also viewed

 

Been to Judy's On Cherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Judy's On Cherry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.