We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around great stay!! :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   2299 Lancaster Pike, Reading, PA 19607-2380 (Formerly Shillington Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bronx, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All around great stay!! :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Hotel was very nice. Rooms had alot of space, the beds were so comfortable as well. There was a diner on location with great food. The front desk clerk Crystal and Don did everything and beyond to make sure my stay was great. The only thing that I didnt like was the smell of smoke in the lobby but other then that would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    92
    37
    16
    12
See reviews for
87
82
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glendora, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

enjoyed stay at hotel. Housekeeping very good. only thing is when is the pool available? I believe we were to early for the season. This hotel fit is well because of the location. The diner in front serves very good food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed one night up here to go shopping at the VF outlets (which appeared to have come upon very hard times) and enjoy the city. The place was filled to capacity and we got the last room checking in at noon! The young woman in the lobby was particularly friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed OK as was the breakfast. The two chairs in the room were the most uncomfortable I have ever encountered in a hotel. We don't believe this property deserves a "Plus" designation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Found a ton of bed bugs on my bed. Check in line was way too long. Room not ready when I got there and then I was put in bed bug Infested room. Checked out immediately. Traumatized!!!! To this day still scratching. Had to throw out clothes on way to another hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAGAR S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of my staff and I, we apologize for your less than satisfactory experience. We take property cleanliness & pest control with the utmost seriousness. Our pest control provider is one of few certified entomologists in the state of PA. While this is an industry wide issue, I can assure you that my team focuses on taking stringent preventive measures. We have a process in place that I'd like to shed some light on.

My team proactively steams guest rooms at the hotel every quarter. Headboards, mattresses, carpeting, box springs, etc are core aspects that we focus on, known as common hiding spots for pests. In addition, my housekeepers are trained to spot any signs of pests in guest rooms . It's an ongoing effort and we continually retrain. Our pest control provider visits the hotel once a month at a minimum as well.

With regards to your experience, we comp'd your stay per our protocol. In addition we immediately relocated you to another hotel property and arranged for the associated payment.

We sincerely apologize for the poor experience. If I can do anything else to assist you please do not hesitate to contact me at (610) 777-7888.

Yours in Hospitality,

Sagar Shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My boyfriend & I stayed at this hotel on a few different occasions for extend amounts of time. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff is phenomenal!! Especially Kyle, who always went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. The price is right, the hotel is modern and very clean, and the people on the staff are very friendly....what else could you ask for? Definitely suggest if you're in the area, or even just for a weekend getaway!! Try and steer clear of adjoining rooms though, sometimes the guests in the other room can be noisy!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoeTav, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest,

On Behalf of our entire team , I would like to thank you for your awesome review. Everyone works hard to ensure that every guest has a positive experience, we will continue to work on any issues our guest come across during their stay. thank you for staying with us we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,

Noelia T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We booked a 2Q non-smoking room. The room was large and comfortable. It was also clean and the furnishings were excellent. The shower pressure was very good and the internet worked quite well. The staff was friendly and efficient. There were a few issues. There was a dog staying in a room near the elevator that barked every time you went by. Perhaps, they should have pet rooms in areas with less traffic. Also, there was a large group at the breakfast, and you couldn't even get into the small room. That area was also where the smoking rooms apparently were, so the location smelled of smoke. However, everything else was excellent and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Non smokers should stay away from the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We were in the area for our Sons College Baseball Championship games. It was very nice staying close to the ballfield. The Best Western was very nice. I would recommend it. Plenty of stores and restaurants close by. We look forward to staying there agin.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Inn & Suites

Address: 2299 Lancaster Pike, Reading, PA 19607-2380 (Formerly Shillington Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Reading
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Reading Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Reading Hotel Shillington
Best Western Shillington
Best Western Reading Hotel
Days Inn Shillington Pa
Days Inn Reading
Shillington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.