We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch of the past in the town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pantall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pantall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pantall Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 East Mahoning Street, Punxsutawney, PA 15767   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Punxsutawney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Touch of the past in the town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has hhistory for sure. It is older yet comfortable and clean. I stayed on the 3rd floor. I was disappointed that they only had 2 towels for 2 guests. Most hotels have more. They do accept aarp and gave a generous discount. I would stay again..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    7
    6
    22
See reviews for
11
11
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This place needs some work. Curtains in room very old and barely hanging and torn. Room very small with small bed and dirty old carpeting. Electrical outlets are downright dangerous. Bathroom is very small knees have to be to the side if sitting on the toilet. Door had a 3 inch gap on one side and none on the other. A window air conditioner with duct taped gaps. Poor lighting. Walls and paint pretty bad. Will not stay.

Room Tip: We were informed we had a refurbished room. If that's the case, I would have hated to see the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

I didn't expect a fancy place but was disappointed in the rooms. It was like staying in one of grandma's run down bedrooms with Small rooms andno closet. The window unit A/C didn't cool the room. The door had a crack in the opening so it looked open at all times (light would come through). The maid service stated they had no towels due to they had to take them to the laundry mat to be washed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I tried the Pantall passing through Punxatawney on a trip east. Their web site was down but posted a number to call. Had I called Pantall direct, the room would have been $55 instead of the $75 that I was charged when I went through Hotels.com.

It's an old downtown hotel, sort of funky, as-is unrestored, one slow elevator. There is a parking lot next to the building, the room was simple and clean, everything worked, and there was WiFi in the room It was a convenient location next to a city park and library, with a Wendy's and MacDonald's within an easy walk.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, North Dakota
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

we went there and had a nice night. the bed was confortable and it was fairly quiet. we stayed on the 3rd floor and thru the night we heard what sounded like someone whispering in the hall way but when i peeped out the door there was no one there... ghosts perhaps..it sure is old enough to have them.

Room Tip: the higher up the quieter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My wife and I used to come to Punxy quite often and would stay at the Pantall. Hats off to the new owner, its much cleaner than it used to be and the woman on the front desk in the evenings is great! Very friendly and she went out of her way to help us. Look forward to coming back and seeing the improvements.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I don't even know where to start with this review. I suppose I'll start with the beginning of my 2-night stay.

Upon opening the door to the Pantall Hotel lobby, I was opening the door of a sauna. It was at least 85 degrees in there. I would not be surprised if it was 100. They had a heating issue of some sort (obviously) and assured us it was in the process of being fixed.

I reserved 2 rooms for 2 nights. They messed up the one room and had it only reserved for one night. They gave us the keys and stopped us right before we got on the elevator to tell us they gave us the key to an occupied room. Fixed it, and we were on our way.

There was a cockroach in my bathroom. My first real life cockroach encounter.

The heater made clinky noise all night that kept waking me up, and I am a heavy sleeper.

The room was 90 degrees, and after running the a/c for 24 hours, it was still a good 75 degrees for the second night.

The cold water in the shower randomly turned off 3 times for my 10 minute shower. So there were 3 occurances where I was surpsied with SCALDING hot water and forced to jump out of the tub to avoid getting scalded. After the third time it happened I learnt my lesson, and took a cold shower the second day.

The second night I found another bug in my bathroom. I'm still not sure what it is, but I uploaded a picture of it for your pleasure. It was actually two bugs. When we killed one, another one came out from under it.

Upon checking out, we were charged $75 more than we were originally quoted. I was told since the manager wasn't there they had to charge it. So if you make reservations in advance, the price means nothing. They raised it for us, and we were forced to pay it.

The best part? We were here for a local wedding, and the hotel 'blocked' off a number of rooms which were to get a 10% discount. Some people still got no discount, others had to ask, and given all the above including the money we made this hotel by telling people to stay here for our wedding, we got ripped. This review I gave to the clerk the morning of me checking out meant about as much as our reservation and price quote did...not a damn thing!

I understand the hotel is historic, but there is a fine line between historic and what my experience entailed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pantall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantall Hotel

Address: 135 East Mahoning Street, Punxsutawney, PA 15767
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Punxsutawney
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Punxsutawney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pantall Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is more than 100 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Pantall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantall Hotel Punxsutawney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pantall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;