We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive evening out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gramma's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gramma's Restaurant
2082 W Market St, Pottsville, PA 17901-1929
570-628-5178
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Pottsville
Restaurant details
Berks County, PA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Inexpensive evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I recently visited Gramma's for the first time with my brother and my daughter. We were visiting the area and had never been there before. We visited rather early on a Saturday evening, but the place was packed--mostly with an older crowd. We had to wait about 20 minutes to get a table, which we really didn't want to do, but we didn't know many other places in the area. We were all surprised at how low the prices were on the menu. Each of our entrees was priced under $10. I had a steak, my daughter had parmesan crusted haddock, and my brother had butterfly shrimp. Our server was busy, but attentive to our needs and requests. The food was good for a family restaurant type of establishment. We would return again if we were in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Mediocre Old Time Comfort Food in an Outdated Setting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Gramma's Restaurant in Pottsville is home moderate comfort classics in an outdated setting. Quite honestly, I've tasted much better comfort food than what I've had at Gramma's. It's decently priced though, keeping the regular crowd returning for more. That's what some people like, I guess. I'd recommend this place for those looking for a decent meal with a friend or two.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice menu choices, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Gramma's has several daily specials as well as a nice variety of options on their menu. The food is always delicious and while the portions aren't generous, they are substantial and the prices are fair.

Parking in the main lot can be congested and at times even trecherous as it is directly off a busy street. A better option is to park in the lower lot behind the building, which is accessed by the street behind the building. However, you will have to navigate a staircase to enter the restaurant, the back lot is not handicapped accessible.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“great meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

great meals at a good price. Like a family diner as to kind of food. Big menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHERN NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Could Mexican food be done any worse?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

From the slimy vinly tablecloths to chips that seem straight from the local grocery this is the biggest poor of an excuse restaurant. I've eaten here a bunch of times because relatives who live close by have no other place to go. My admonition to you is, "eat in" any day rather than go here.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramma's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gramma's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramma's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.