We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Weekend!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Hideaway Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Matilda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Hideaway Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Mountain Hideaway Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1544 East Mountain Road, Port Matilda, PA 16870   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Beverages & Snacks!
Ranked #1 of 3 Port Matilda B&B and Inns
Lititz, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Weekend!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

The warm welcoming atmosphere created by Sandi and Carlton are exceptional, which is also the type of people they are! They exude warm friendliness and go to great lengths to ensure guest comfort. The breakfast is amazing, exceeding expectations. I cannot imagine a better place to stay anywhere in the region. It is like finding a relaxing respite in the mountains while only a short drive to State College and PSU. The views are amazing. We feasted our eyes on the popping colors of the Fall foilage from the front windows overlooking a few mountain ranges. We also hiked tails on the adjacent state park. This is a great place to go with a few couples as there is a common area for the guests relax with stocked guest kitchen. We were refreshed by a fantastic relaxing weekend at the Hidaway. I am confident you will enjoy your choice of this B & B!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Landisville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

From our arrival to our departure everything was fabulous. The spectacular view from this lovely and clean home created a lasting impression for us. We have been to many Bed and Breakfast homes but this one makes you want to come back. Sandy and Carlton's warm hospitality, cookies on our arrival, delicious breakfasts, generous and very comfortable accomodations were appreciated while we celebrated our son's 40th birthday. This was truly a vacation at its best!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

It is at least 5 or 6 years we have been coming back for a "football weekend" and although Penn State may not win every time, this B & B is a sure winner. It all starts with Sandy and Carlton who genuinely welcome you into their beautiful home. It is totally relaxing, and totally delicious (breakfast). Sandy does so many extra little things to make your stay so enjoyable. We look forward to our weekend there each year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This was probably our 5th visit. Everything is quality-- the view, the accommodations, the food, and the innkeepers. If you are looking to be pampered in stunning surroundings, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Waterford, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Their landscaping is breath-taking! Good views, quiet peaceful ponds and waterfalls. So relaxing! Breakfast was amazing! There was so much good food and Sandy shares recipes! The owners were very nice and helpful. They suggested good places to visit and eat in State College. We hope to go again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Buenva Vista. It has good view, jacuzzi and is close to stocked kitchen. Feels like hom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My husband and I visited Mountain Hideaway for the second time Aug 12, 2011. Sandy, the hostess, is wonderful! She is so warm and welcoming and makes fantastic breakfasts.

The beautiful setting in the mountains is so quiet and peaceful. The access to the kitchen for snacks and beverages makes you really feel at home. There are homemade cookies, books and blankets in the common area, the perfect place to unwind. The rooms are beautifully decorated and each have wonderful views and fireplaces.

If you are looking for a modern take on a bed and breakfast with amazing service, this is your place!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful, Buena Vista is the only one with a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had been to several B&B in the past and this is simply the BEST out of the BEST! Sandy and Carlton were very great and friendly -- willing to make accommodation for us. The breakfast is #1 --

Overall, it was spectular view; everything we need were there for us to use -- wine, cookie, computer, and so forth -- also, the food is unbelievable, and the hosts (Sandy and Carlton) are the BEST!!

We definitely will go there again!

Denise and Gary

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Hideaway Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Hideaway Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1544 East Mountain Road, Port Matilda, PA 16870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Port Matilda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Matilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From our front meadow, your view is nothing but rolling, tree-cloaked hills as far as the eye can see. You'll be nestled in the heart of Black Moshannon forest – home to white-tailed deer, black bear and raw beauty. At night, look up and see the same sky the pioneers saw. Your ears will relax to the sounds of creation – wind whispering, birds singing, water falling.Mountain Hideaway is only 16 miles from Penn State, yet a world apart. Come enjoy it with us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Hideaway Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.