We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage House at Pocono Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pocono Manor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House at Pocono Manor
Save
You added Carriage House at Pocono Manor to your Saves list
Route 314, P.O. Box 125, Pocono Manor, PA 18349   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in one of the mini suites this July. We were in one of the updated rooms. The only updated part was the kitchen. The living room furniture is outdated. Looks like it is from the 60s. With 2 adults and two kids it was a little cramped. The kitchen was easy to cook in and the fridge can hold a few things. The pool area is great. Most of the time we were alone when we swam and it was great. They have a great jacuzzi too. They have movies you can rent for free which is great. The staff is very friendly and do everything they can to make your stay comfortable. One woman Gerta is great. She is so sweet. By no means is this a 5 star resort but our stay was comfortable. It was clean and we had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management521, Manager at Carriage House at Pocono Manor, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I can assure you, the furniture is not from the sixties, but I agree we can do better and are currently working on just that. We are a smaller timeshare, but we hope everyone has a comfortable stay. You may want to try one of our Royal Suites in the future. Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    10
    9
    22
See reviews for
34
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked this as a gift from our friends timeshare. We had some difficulty finding the place with the GPS. On entering the complex I noticed the exterior was in dire need of some landscaping even if they are going for a "woodsy" remote feel. The decor was very dated, the carpets were dirty and musty. There was a fan in the hallway for two days where there may have been a spill. The furniture in the mini-suite was also very dated and the air had a musty smell. We were booked for 7 days but had to leave after spending two days. I was greatly disappointed. I had very interaction with the staff but the front desk seem friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management521, Manager at Carriage House at Pocono Manor, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Your concerns were addressed immediately when brought to our attention. Unfortunately, we did not see you again until check out to resolve them. If you would like to talk further, please contact the resort. We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction and wish we had the opportunity to assist you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pocono Manor hotels

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked this vacation for us and the family.we read the reviews and were worried that it would be a nightmare. much to our surprise the place was quite nice. the decor is definitely out dated and a bit run down,but the indoor pool and whirlpool was excellent. Dawn and an older woman were very nice, james the security gaurd was outstanding and hysterical.housekeeping was terrible and we could hear them swearing and gossiping about customers and staff.overall it was a great place but lacking in some areas.we had a great time at Camelbeach and also some other attractions.we would definitely recommend it to all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management521, Manager at Carriage House at Pocono Manor, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review concerning your stay with us. As you probably noticed, we are under renovations and wish every day we could go into warp speed to complete them. Our Maintenance Department works diligently and every attempt is made to provide all our guests a memorable stay during our transition. As to hearing negative comments from our Housekeeping Department, that was surprising and totally out of character for those Team Members. Our Housekeeping Manager will be thoroughly investigating what occurred, but be assured if it is determined someone spoke without thinking, that will be handled. We hope you come stay with us again and we promise to continue to do our best for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Located in the heart of Poconos, close to Camelback, Casino, Crossings and much more. We recently stayed for a Family reunion that can accommodate large group (about 50 to 60 people). Our stay was from Thursday to Sunday. Room services were available upon request or on a fixed schedule. All of the hotel staff was very friendly (Debbie, Dawn, Debra and Bob). Great Service and very accommodating. Important to note that rooms are dated but very clean with no odors. They are in the process of renovation. We had booked about 15 rooms for all of the family members. Every room is equipped with Kitchenette. We used it only to make coffee and tea in the morning, otherwise we catered from outside. They allowed us to use the common balcony area over the pool to stage our gathering and other activities. The balcony are was little humid due to pool and jacuzzi on the main floor. It could use a better air circulation to be comfortable. Everybody enjoyed it. No regrets!!! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management521, Manager at Carriage House at Pocono Manor, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We truly enjoyed your family's stay with us and hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
The Carriage House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We recently stayed here for a night as part of large group (5 families). We stayed there in between our Whitewater rafting trip to Lehigh Valley and next day trip to Camelback Waterpark. Debra on the phone was kind enough to accomodate our request to place us next to rest of our group who already was there at the time of our booking. The property is in a quiet location (GPS address hard to find but follow their direction on website). We booked the room on the July 4th for an overnigt stay on July 5th and no problems. The price was very reasonable for the time of the year (4th July weekend). The check-in around 6 PM was smooth (I forgot the name of the ladies but they were all very friendly). Most of this propert has an old feel to it (no modern decor) and a certain smell that I wouldn't expect in a hotel/motel etc. We also found a couple of bugs in our bathroom but the bathroom was very clean and functional otherwise. The mini-suite that we booked had a mini kitchen full of appliances (stove, microwave, toaster, dishwasher, coffee maker etc) and decent quality utensils (pots, pans, knives, spoons, forks, crockery etc). They also had some small welcome snacks (granola bars etc) in our room. The bed was not bad (including the pull down sleeper) and we had a good night's sleep.
There were two old style TVs (one in main area and the other in the bedroom) that we didn't even have time to use. The kids (and some adults) in our group enjoyed the pool. There were a couple of jacuzzis and a pool table etc that guests could also use. Our group also used the picnic tables outside (2 grills that we didn't use but other families seemed to enjoy) and the fire (very neat setting for a group like ours) that the hotel staff in the fire pit next to picnic tables. The elevators were the slowest I have ever seen but they worked. I was surprised that they didn't have hair dryers in the room but the pool towels were! One could request, iron, hair dryer etc but to me those are basics especially in a mini-suites. Our check out process was also pleasant and we thought we got our money's worth. If they make the necessary updates to the property, given their great staff, they can really get some very good reviews 9and price!) for their property.
The location itself is within 5 minutes driving distance of Shoprite, Walmart etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management521, Manager at Carriage House at Pocono Manor, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the kind words regarding our Team Members. We view customer service as our #1 priority. We are actively working on renovations and the next time you come to stay, you will notice an even greater improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked our family vacation this year at the carriage house via our timeshare company, after we booked we saw all the bad reviews about the place and we what did we get ourselves into! We even thought about canceling but we are thankful we gave the place a chance because we had an amazing family vacation!! Don't get me wrong the place needs updating but it's clean and the staff are great. The kids loved the 24 hour pool and we loved the hot tubs and the propane grills to cook outside!! We had two sleep 4 units (mini suites) they put us right next to each other which made it easy for our family. We even had a newly renovated room our kitchen had stainless steel counters and brand new appliances! We loved it! We tried out the onsite restaurant (the speakeasy) it's small but the bartender was very friendly and we had a great time making new friends and enjoyed a few cold beers... So again the place has some updating to do but if you're looking for clean and friendly accommodations then do yourself a favor and give the carriage house a shot. We will definitely be staying there again!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management521, Manager at Carriage House at Pocono Manor, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place was a mess; what you see on the internet is not what the Hotel look like. This place look like the Bates Hotel and had Bed Bugs!!!!!
And the rooms smells like something bass was left in there dead.

Room Tip: We changed our room 5 time and all the rooms were the same; out dated and smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
management521, Manager at Carriage House at Pocono Manor, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your views on your stay with us. Customer service is our number one priority, therefore, these comments were investigated thoroughly. Please allow me a moment to respond to your observations. We make every attempt to meet requests. If a guest's displeasure with a room is reported, immediate action is taken as was the case that night.
If ever a hotel/resort receives a report of insects, an immediate inspection is completed. Doctors will forward information to a resort to assist in identifying the origin. Please know, we did complete an inspection with nothing found and are still waiting for the doctor's report we requested from you. We will continue to do everything within our power to make our guest's stay an enjoyable one.


Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage House at Pocono Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House at Pocono Manor

Address: Route 314, P.O. Box 125, Pocono Manor, PA 18349
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Pocono Manor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pocono Manor
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Carriage House At Pocono Manor Hotel Pocono Manor
Carriage Hotel Pocono Manor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage House at Pocono Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.