We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Philadelphia West to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Philadelphia West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   640 Fountain Road, Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

Here's my opinion....I stayed at this hotel recently for a business trip and only stayed for one night, thank goodness. When I arrived to my first room, the bathroom had not been cleaned. I won't go into details, but it was disgusting. I went back to the front desk and asked for a new room. The second room they assigned to me was not much better. When I looked for an outlet to plug in my laptop, I found women's undergarments behind my night stand. The floor was filthy and the bathroom had mildew. The bathroom sink was missing the stopper and the shower head was barely attached. I would not recommend staying here if you have the choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    160
    134
    93
    50
See reviews for
210
65
18
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We were rather disappointed with our stay here, esp. after reading the previous reviews. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, but the facility really needs an upgrade. We even had to change rooms after our first night because the heater was not really working -- and it was really cold outside! There were many things that needed fixing or cleaning, such as the broken closet door, the stained carpeting and sofa, the broken TV cabinet, and of course, the heating system.

Housekeeping did a generally poor job of cleaning each day (e.g., didn't replace tissue that ran out for two days, didn't clean up the coffee maker area, messy bedmaking). You can hear noise from the atrium since all the room doors face out over the multi-story atrium, esp. when there's a loud party going on (as there was while we were there). The full-sized beds are very small for two people (and we are pretty short and slender!). It's also difficult to find the hotel from the road because the signage is few and difficult to see.

The pluses are the low weekend rates, including the breakfast buffet, which was a hit with our kids, and the friendly staff. Also, it's close to Plymouth Mall, which has multiple restaurants, and convenient to Route 476. And the pool is very warm, although small.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I was pleased with my stay at the Double Tree in Plymouth Meeting, PA. At check in the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean. I felt safe and comfortable. Thanks for a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

The hotel is somewhat difficult to find in the industrial park. Forget your navigational system..it will at least get you in the vicinity! The hotel is open spaced around the lobby and bar. Open balacony surround the atrium type atmosphere. Sound travels though.. and if you are aren't using the "living room" area for extra sleeping space, it really isn't a problem. For those that are sleeping on the pull out...noise could be a problem. The front desk was a bit rude over the phone while making reservations, however they rectified the differences when we arrived. The bar service was pleasant, but overworked. Definately not enough staffing to service the amount of people in the lounge. The food was good in the bar and the breakfast buffet was better then average.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

I have family in the area and have been traveling to the Conshocken area for several years. We used to to reserve a suite at the Residence Inn (Marriott) , but my wife found staying nearer to the shopping malls more interesting for our free time. The Residence Inn was always nice, but had problems with air conditioning in the summer. Attitude was large there too. The Hampton Inn was always pleasant, clean and worthwhile for the rate. The breakfast left a lot to be desired there though. But for the money, Hampton was a good place. We do like to have a suite as my wife likes to stay up later looking at TV/ reading. So now for the review of the Doubletree Suites.
The Doubletree Suites is located in a great area a block away from a Marriott Courtyard and two mintes from the Mall. You enter a small marble lobby behind which is a grand lobby area with an attractive bar and dozens of places to sit. We were greeted by an exremely friendly clerk, Margaret, who had everything ready for check-in. We even received a call from the front desk in about ten minutes enquiring if all was satisfactory!
The lobby is surrounded by an inner courtyard going up 7 floors with balconies wrapimg around each floor looking down at the lobby. All noise vibrates upwards. When we checked in, Special Olympic buses arrived. What a pandemonium as the kids got off the buses and collected in the lobby. The noise could be heard in the front room of the suite, but not the back bedroom. Within 30 minutes, quiet ensued as the kids checked in for the night. On the next night, a high school anniversary celebration was in place, where the particpants gathered for drinks in the grand lobby for their cocktail hour. Again, the niose level was like being in the lobby itself with those people. We turned on the TV and that pretty much drowned out the noise. The bed room was quiet. In an hour, the party goers went into a dining area for their night festivities and it was quiet again. The suite itself was very nice with a pull-out couch, desk, TV, and three chairs. The bathroom was nice too with Neutragena soaps. The bedroom was also nice looking with a very comfortabe mattress. We enjoyed the fairly spacious suite and found it more than satisfactory. When we return, we now know know what to expect and it is within our tolerance level. The indoor pool is on the second floor - it is large and appeared clean. We had breakfast in their restaurant Sunday morning and the buffett was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

This hotel got great reviews but I did not find this such a wonderful place to stay.
1. We have a family of 4. They only gave us 2 cookies
2. The room had stains on the rug and we found dirty tissues on the floor behind the curtains.
3. The sheets had dirt stains and my bed had an old blood stain on the sheet. YUK.
4. The walls/doors and light switches had scum on them.
5. I called the front desk for more towels. They said they would send up housekeeping. We never got any. After several hours, my husband had to get the towels from the pool area.
6. I requested the sheets be changed (they only change every 3 days normally unless you request it) and they never changed them. Still had that same old blood stain.
7. They did not offer all-day coffee or tea (like other hotels do). I had to pay them $2.00 for a half pint (8oz) of milk for my kids!!
All in all this was a $150 a night hotel, with glass elevators in the atrium and ritzy looking clientele. I expected way more from them. I've stayed in cheaper hotels that were cleaner, more attentive and offered better guest services. I will never stay here again. I'll stick to Carlson or Marriott next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Plymouth Meeting hotels

Greensboro, NC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

This DoubleTree was on the list of recommended lodgings for the LiveStrong Challenge bicycle event sponsored by the Lance Armstrong Foundation. We found it to be a totally comfortable, large suite with good amenities. The service was pretty slow when we requested drinking glasses & extra towels, but they eventually showed up. The breakfast was expensive, but the made-to-order omelets & waffles were delicious. No problems with noise. Nice central lobby with bar.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Philadelphia West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Philadelphia West

Address: 640 Fountain Road, Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Plymouth Meeting
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Plymouth Meeting
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Philadelphia West 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a quiet, wooded park-like setting, the Doubletree Suites Philadelphia West is conveniently located just minutes from all major highways with shops, a mall and restaurants just a short stroll away. Whether it be our picturesque seven story atrium or the fact that nearly all of our accommodations are full two room spacious suites, you will have plenty of room to relax after a busy day. Our friendly staff will welcome you with one of our renowned, warm Doubletree cookies and will ensure that whether you are here on business or just to relax that your expectations are met (and exceeded!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Philadelphia West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Plymouth Meeting
Doubletree Philadelphia West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Philadelphia West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.