We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   30 Concorde Drive, Pittston, PA 18641   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pittston
BDR
2 reviews
“great experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

checked in on a saturday evening. Hotel was easy to get to and looked good from the outside. It turns out that hotels.com completely messed up my reservation, the only thing they got right was my last name. All my info was wrong, and the evening manager didn't want to give away the room to me in case the real Mr "XYZ". showed up. I can understand that, and he found a room for us while keeping the reservation for the 'other' person (whom I am 99% sure never showed!!). I also asked for a 1-day extension to my stay and he easily made that happen!! I asked for a smoking room facing the airport (Im an amateur plane spotter) and he also made that happen!! Great service from the evening front manager, and many thanks!!
The room was clean, fridge and microwave and TV all worked well. Wireless internet worked well. I did not make it to breakfast, but they have a dining area with fresh cookies and popcorn all ready during the day. They had many local newspapers and local info available in the lobby. We did not have the room made up for the couple of days that we were there, but they did offer it and we declined as we're not messy people!!
The only down side was that the elevators had a damp/humid odor to them, but it wasn't that bad; kinda like they mopped around the floormat and it never really dried.
Other than that, it was a great stay, room and parking was excellent and the staff was way more than helpful!!! I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
23
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Park n Fly was great. They took us to the airport and picked us up. 24 hour service.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hempstead, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

For starters, this is not a bad hotel. It is a clean, quiet and comfortable and you will get a great night sleep. The breakfast is outstanding! I would stay here again, but I also will be checking out other hotels when I return here for the next Pocono race before I would make another reservation here.

I was in a room with two beds, so this room is designed for families, right? Well, there was one chair and one desk. Very little room to walk around in the room, which is made more of a challenge by the limited closet space. There were only two of us in this room, I can only imagine the difficulties faced by a family of four or five.

Hotel Staff is average. Nothing to make me write a report about great service, nor a report about bad service.

It's a Holiday Inn Express, so you get what you pay for, right? No. I stayed on a peak weekend so my rate was high, but for curiosity purposes I inquired about the rate for a random date in early November, and found that they still want over $100 for this room. This hotel is simply not worth that in a market in which rates can be around the $70 or $80 range. That range would be fine for this hotel, but not triple digits on a non-peak weekend.

Consider this hotel, for sure. But don't commit to it without a little shopping around.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towanda Pa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

This was a great hotel to stay at. we took advantage of the park sleep and fly and had no problems. The room was clean comfortable and the staff was great. When we returned from California the shuttle came right away to get us and took us right to the car which was parked securley . The coffee there was great also always fresh and hot.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

My daughters and I stayed 1 night at this hotel after attending a Jonas Brothers concert in Scranton. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable and a nice breakfast was included the next morning. We did not use any of the hotel's amenities but they appeared to be fine.
Shortly before the concert, I discovered I left the concert tickets home and Rak, the hotel's general manager, was extremely helpful in ensuring we had replacement tickets in time for the concert. His actions were absolutely above and beyond the call of duty and we definitely averted a major crisis for my girls.
I read reviews about the hotel prior to booking our stay and most were positive to very positive. We did not encounter any of the negative items expressed by some in their reviews (our room was clean, quiet and comfortable and the location provided easy access within minutes via the interestate highway to any area amenity).
Based on our overall satisfaction with the property and friendly staff, and particularly the exemplary actions of the general manager, we would definitely stay at this hotel again in the future.
PS - get there early for complementary freshly baked cookies at the front desk!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fightingturnip
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

We stopped here while on a road trip. The staff was wonderful. It was pleasant to be met by a cheery front desk after hours on the road. The room was very clean and well decorated. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was hot and fresh including fresh fruit and warm cinnamon rolls. The stay was a pleasant break after driving for hours and having hours to go on the road the next day. The only slightly down thing I can say was when pulling up the lever for the shower I felt as if I was going to tear the tub spigot off it was loose in the wall. But the shower was good, great water pressure and temperature. If in the area again and needing a room this would be on the top of my list of places to stay!

  • Liked — The wonderful staff and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Loose tub spigot which wasn't much
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

Very nice looking facility (looks new). My room had a very spacious, open feel to it (larger size than what you will normally see). The room was well appointed (and included a fridge and microwave hidden away in nice looking large cabinet). Wi-fi was good speed in the room (just plug in & go . . very easy & fast).
Only negative I will express was . . . this hotel is in an area that is still being developed and I couldn't find a lot restaurant choices nearby. There's a restaurant next store that appeared to be closed. I'm sure this situation will improve in the future. Although the hotel is near the airport, there really was NO problem with any noise.

  • Liked — Large spacious room, nice facility
  • Disliked — Lack of eating choices close by
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport

Address: 30 Concorde Drive, Pittston, PA 18641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Pittston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pittston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre Scranton Airport Hotel is conveniently located at the Wilkes-Barre Scranton International Airport, just off I-81 at Exit 178A and only minutes from the Pennsylvania Turnpike Northeast Extension (I-476). Centrally located between Scranton and Wilkes-Barre, this property is just a short drive from all area attractions and businesses. Featuring 100 beautifully appointed guest rooms, which include several luxurious two-room suites. Free wireless high speed Internet! The Holiday Inn Express offers a free 'Express Start' HOT breakfast, fitness center, and shuttle service. Do Business the Smart Way!The Holiday Inn Express makes doing business easy, located just minutes from Lowes, Clarcor, FedEx, UPS, Cascade, Pride Mobility, Keystone Automotive, Letica Corporation, TJ Max, Proctor and Gamble, Naval Reserve Center, and many more. Visit Area Attractions the Smart Way!Be close to all that this area has to offer, including Mohegan Sun Casino, Wachovia Arena, Sno Mountain Ski Resort, Toyota Pavilion, Steamtown National Historic Site, Shoppes at Montage, Lackawanna Coal Mine, Pocono Downs Racetrack, Yankees (AAA) Baseball, Pocono Raceway (NASCAR), The Ice Box, FM Kirby Center, Steamtown Mall, Wyoming Valley Mall, and an abundant array of restaurants! Packages available.Stay Smart!Experience outstanding hospitality and the finest array of amenities, experience the Holiday Inn Express! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport Hotel Pittston
Holiday Inn Pittston
Pittston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Pittston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.