We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Historic Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Omni William Penn Hotel to your Saves list
Omni William Penn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Malibu
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Comfortable, Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were in Pittsburgh for an athletic recruiting visit to Duquesne and also to visit family. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous and the room was huge with 2 bathrooms! The beds were two doubles and for four people we would have been more comfortable with two queens. The Tap Room was a fun place to have drinks and see many sports fans on the way to the Penguins game. The hotel is really beautiful in an historic traditional way. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again when visiting Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your complimentary words about the Omni William Penn on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to a future opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    456
    134
    52
    23
See reviews for
326
517
89
641
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel on a business trip. And I must say that as cold and wintery as it felt outside the service was as warm and inviting on the inside. After a quick and courteous checkin I entered my room which was larger than your standard/average hotel room. Spacious, warm and inviting is how I would characterize the room, despite the smallish bathgroom. The room had a more than adequate "business" area with a well appointed desk and more than adequate electrical outlets. The room also had a roomy king sized bed. The lobby area is energetic and almost always populated with guests. The lobby area restaurants were also filled with hungry guests. The loby is obviously the centerpiece of this fine hotel which is also connected to a Starbucks store. Also ordered roomservice and both the service and food were quick and delicious. If you ever have to stay in downtown Pittsburgh by all means please do stay at the Omni Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We appreciate your generous review of the Omni William Penn. Thank your for allowing us to be your warm respite from the cold weather and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Did a one nighter here this week which was my first visit. Had a small dinner with a group of business associates from around the world (20 people). Open bar, hors d'oeuvres and dinner. The dinner was good, bar service excellent and dinner service superb (quiet and unobtrusive). Table was set nicely and wait staff was accomodating to requests "on the fly."

Room: Clean and large, but not set up for the businessman. A paucity of outlets, lighting that was a tad too low and a desk that was really only a table.
Bed was comfortable, TV standard flat screen.

Breakfast was really good. Great service and efficient delivery. Great range of well prepared food.

35 Minutes from airport ($36 cab fare) in moderate traffic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I live in WV and travel to Pittsburgh for business and always stay at the Wiliam Penn. I have been staying here for over 15 years and the staff has mostly been the same and know our little group of people that have been visiting here for years by name. I love the older rooms that have not been remodeled. It has that old fashioned feel. When you enter the grand lobby it takes your breath away and you feel like royalty.They always have specials and offer different promotions. I have stayed in various rooms, suites and apartments. I have stayed at other hotels in Pittsburgh when the William Penn was filled but nothing compares. Just the idea that the staff is so friendly and always happy to see us makes you feel right at home. There's no place like home and thats the way you feel at THE WILLIAM PENN HOTEL!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Firstly, I wish that I had read the reviews which suggested the preferred program. The staff was helpful, kind and professional. The hotel lobby is magnificent and I was very happy that it included a large Starbucks as well as a few other options.
The room, although recently renovated, was extremely small. The bathroom included a nice makeup mirror but there was not a place for toiletries. The room included a coffee machine and refrigerator. I expected street noise as the hotel is downtown. However, I could hear the person in the next room speaking on the phone at night and coughing in the morning!
If you sleep soundly and don't need space in the bathroom, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Because I am a resident of Pittsburgh, I had never stayed in the William Penn's guest rooms prior to this weekend. I am happy to report that our romantic getaway was a wonderful experience. When I registered on the phone, the staff member encouraged me to enroll in the no-cost preferred guest program. What a treat; I highly recommend. We had complimentary bottled water and turn down service during the evening and complimentary morning beverages delivered to our room at our selected time. The room itself was clean and comfortable; the bathroom was on the small side but fine. Good water pressure in the shower, the towels were clean and fluffy, and the room temp was easily adjustable.

The Wm Penn staff was pleasant and prompt throughout the whole facility We also visited the Terrace Room restaurant and two of the hotel's bars during our visit. Having attended many beautifully staged award dinners and fundraisers in the Penn's ballrooms, it's great to know that the guest rooms and dining options are just as top notch as the big events.

Room Tip: We had a room at a "dead end" of the hall, far from the elevators and other heavily traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are delighted to read that after attending many events at our property, you decided to do a romantic night away at the Omni William Penn. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience and appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We will look forward to your next visit to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, and award-winning dining. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni William Penn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.