We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value on the weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Omni William Penn Hotel to your Saves list
Omni William Penn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent value on the weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the William Penn on a weekend and were very impressed with the room and ammenities. Ambiance is very nice and upscale and loved the cozy robes. Breakfast buffet was superb. This hotel is in the financial district and is within a 2 mile walk of all the pittsburgh offerings including the Strip district, Warhol Museum, Heinz etc. The hotel staff was welcoming from the doorman to the maids. The exercise room is great also.

Many of the rooms have been renovated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your weekend getaway to the Omni William Penn! We are glad you had a great stay and hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,638
    597
    173
    58
    26
See reviews for
455
703
113
876
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I love staying in my own town as a tourist...We stayed at the Omni for one night...i have stayed there before, and loved it, and it has only gotten better. Really beautiful rooms, the hallways are long and a bit haunting in a cool vintage way...Excellent service...beautiful lobby. You feel as though you are in the most opulent setting back in time. The food is excellent...and has local flair to it...i am most impressed and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are so glad that you chose the Omni William Penn for your tourist's view of Pittsburgh. We enjoyed reading your review and loved your pictures. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were delighted to be back for a weekend at Omni William Penn Hotel. It is superb! We loved the gorgeous hotel and personalized service! The buffet breakfast and Sunday brunch food was ok, not very special.... but the restaurant and ambiance are spendid and worth experiencing! It is a highly recommended destination, we would love to be back some day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for recommending the Omni William Penn on TripAdvisor. We would love to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A gem of a historic hotel, the William Penn is truly grand and beautiful -- and conveniently located in downtown Pittsburgh. The lobby is warm and welcoming even with its soaring ceilings and large spaces. I was immediately welcomed out of my taxi by a friendly bellman who directed me to the front desk and offered to take care of my bags. I politely declined, tipped him anyway, and proceeded to check in. My room was ready, and they were already aware of my Omni loyalty program membership (which I had only joined hours before -- a great idea with the free wifi and delivered beverage service in the morning that members get). Check in was quick. I grabbed an apple from the tray on the desk and went off to my room. The room seemed to be a super-sized double double (no kings were available) -- it was huge -- but the bed seemed more like a queen, with fluffy pillows and really soft sheets. I've slept in more comfortable hotel beds -- this one was more firm than cushy -- but I slept well both nights. The large windows were openable, though you are in a city so it's a bit noisy with the windows up. The bathroom lighting and amenities were perfect, and there were a coffeemaker and refrigerator in the dresser. The room had a large, double-door closet with lighting. The gym, on the lobby level, was the best hotel gym I've seen in years, with an array of dumbbells, weight machines, and cardio equipment. My only "complaints" about my stay, albeit minor, are that the water pressure in the shower was a *little* low (but passable), and one of the Roman shades didn't go down 100% (I reported the latter upon checkout -- it was not enough to make me want to change rooms as I had to get up before dawn each day anyway). I am looking forward to my next visit to Pittsburgh so I can stay at the Omni William Penn again.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms may be the ones that face the open courts rather than directly facing the streets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are happy to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Omni William Penn. Thank you for allowing us to read about your experience on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Decent location in downtown Pittsburgh. An old hotel with a grand entrance.
I have stayed here twice.
This past stay we were greeted with a mildewy smell when we entered the room. This faded when we opened the window a crack.
Pluses: Great water pressure, large closet, large Panasonic flat screen TV, large bathroom, super comfortable bed and linens
Minuses: Small room size, mildewy smell, no coffee maker and no coffee service in the lobby, charge for internet access unless you sign up for loyalty program
Tip: Self parking is $5 per night if you park in the garage across the street or valet is $29 per night

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We appreciate both your positive and constructive feedback and regret that we didn't better communicate that there is a coffee maker in the room but it is inside the dresser. We also offer complimentary morning beverage delivery service to our Select Guest members. Thank you for allowing us to read about your experience at our hotel and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went to this hotel in Sept 2012. The lobby is awesome, the fisrt thing you see and what a great impression. The front desk staff was very polite and more than helpful. Our room was very nicely decorated, spotlessly clean, comfy bed, great service from the staff. We were there with a group of people and visited the bar that is downstairs and connected to the hotel, small but loads of fun and great service. The overall experience was perfect and I would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are delighted to read that you had a great experience at the Omni William Penn. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A true classic hotel, from the lobby and rooms and overall experience. Well worth the time and cost of staying here. Historical hotel with 21st century options, a GREAT staff from valets to front desk and more.
Everytime I come to Pittsburgh and I grew up here, I look here first and am never disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
What a pleasure for us to read that you are never disappointed with your stays at the Omni William Penn. Thank you for sharing all of your kind words and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
#3 of 59 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 59 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni William Penn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.