We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni William Penn Hotel to your Saves list
Omni William Penn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went to this hotel in Sept 2012. The lobby is awesome, the fisrt thing you see and what a great impression. The front desk staff was very polite and more than helpful. Our room was very nicely decorated, spotlessly clean, comfy bed, great service from the staff. We were there with a group of people and visited the bar that is downstairs and connected to the hotel, small but loads of fun and great service. The overall experience was perfect and I would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are delighted to read that you had a great experience at the Omni William Penn. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,648
    599
    174
    58
    26
See reviews for
460
703
113
880
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A true classic hotel, from the lobby and rooms and overall experience. Well worth the time and cost of staying here. Historical hotel with 21st century options, a GREAT staff from valets to front desk and more.
Everytime I come to Pittsburgh and I grew up here, I look here first and am never disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
What a pleasure for us to read that you are never disappointed with your stays at the Omni William Penn. Thank you for sharing all of your kind words and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were recently in the Pittsburgh area. We left the kids with grandma and headed to the Omni William Penn Hotel. The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly. It is a beautiful, clean, historic hotel. It was the perfect spot for a romantic get away. The Christmas decorations were beautiful. We will defiantly return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your romantic getaway to the Omni William Penn. We are delighted that you had a wonderful weekend and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Awsome place to stay downtown Pittsburgh. Nice clean rooms, Friendly Staff. Great Food at the restaurant down stairs. Good pub. Good gym equipment. Walking distance to the consol energy center. Very classy atmosphere in the lobby. Starbucks in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Omni William Penn. We are glad you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Original Pittsburgh natives, my family and I gathered at the William Penn for a long reunion weekend and were delighted with the experience at every turn. Old school in decor, yet modern in amenities, the hotel delivers both charm and pampering. Never intrusive, yet always available, the friendly staff easily said yes to our every request including the particularily generous gesture of allowing my eighty-year old mother to check in at the early hour of ten. The dining options are plentiful because you can sit down for full service in the hotel's classic dining room, or pick up a casual meal at the onsite Starbuck and Bruegger's. Also fun was a late night visit a new bar called the Speakeasy, which reproduces modern day interpretations of prohibition-era cocktails. The only downside to our visit was the slamming hotel room doors, which ensure that travelers all awake at the appointed hour -- sleeping in past 7 or 8 is a challenge. The location is just great - tucked away on a less busy stretch than other luxury hotels, we were close enough to walk to almost every part of downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
It was a pleasure for us to read all of your complimentary words regarding your family's reunion at the Omni William Penn. We are especially excited to hear your positive remarks about the newly opened Speakeasy. Thank you for taking the time to share on TripAdvisor and we hope that we will have a future opportunity to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

In town for Steelers Game. Thought we would have to walk or get a taxi... but now the trolly runs from the Steel building (right next door) right to Heinz Field... and it's free! Awesome staff, great breakfast, and love the spacious room. Really wish there was a pool, but other than that, still the best place to stay in Pittsburgh. We tried North Shore for it's convenience. It was sterile, and the people working at the Hyatt hated their jobs. Thanks William Penn! We will be back! Oh and don't forget to eat a Primanti Brother's, it is right around the corner!

Room Tip: upgrade for a bigger room. worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are grateful for your glowing review of the Omni William Penn. Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, NJ USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great hotel. Got a great deal on hotwire. Stayed one night on MLK weekend (daughter had audition at Carnegie Mellon). Really nice place. Great service. Hotel told us about weekend $5 parking directly across street (covered/secure) instead of trying to make us pay their $29 overnight rate. Hotel has really large, grand lobby and there's a nice restaurant, bar, and Starbucks and a Bruegger's Bagel shop connected to lobby. Ordered take out omelet for my daughter from restaurant and she loved it. Very close to Station Square waterfront area (across Smithfield Street Bridge). We were on 11th floor and the room was like new (must have recently redone). Large flat screen, nice bath and nice bathroom supplies and great shower. Rooms also have free fridge and coffee maker and coffee/tea (concealed in dresser/buffet under tv). Front desk really helpful---left my phone charger in NJ and manager took my phone and charged with hers while we went out to dinner. Station Square/Waterfront area only 5-7 min walk away. Lots of eating options, including informal (Hard Rock). Also rode (with recommendation from door man) the incline (Monongahela Incline) which is right there. Cool attraction brings you up to observe city from great viewing point. Point Park University is 2 blocks away. Was very quiet on Sat night because downtown is business area. Only 3.2 mile (4 min drive) to Carnegie Mellon. If my daughter gets into CMU, this will be our hotel when we visit. Great place!

Room Tip: 11th floor was nice--though our room didn't have a great view (faced a beautiful old building, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to read about your experience at the Omni William Penn while visiting CMU. We are glad you had a great experience and we wish your daughter the best of luck with admissions. It would be our pleasure to serve as your home away from home while visiting her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
#3 of 59 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 59 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni William Penn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.