We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong at the Penn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Omni William Penn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong at the Penn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a great place to stay. This place is like living in a palace. Just walk into the lobby and see what i mean. The rooms are very big and comfy. All of the staff were very nice, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review of the Omni William Penn. We are glad you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    438
    129
    50
    22
See reviews for
318
503
87
586
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just checked out of the Omni WPH. Our room was large and everything worked. There were a few points that could have used some fine tuning for us during our stay. Our room was really noisy. It turned out that what jokingly sounded like someone drilling into our ceiling from the room above really was...lol. Good to know I'm not losing my mind. Due to some construction in the building we were in a louder than average area that perhaps shouldn't have been booked to begin with. The management was quick to apologize and reduced our bill the last night. Also, the room service was not quite on it's game. We ordered a pot of coffee. The coffee was so old that the creamer wouldn't change the color of the coffee and the server that holds the sugars was filled with coffee was well. To me this is more of a younger staff perhaps not really paying attention to detail. We tried the waffle with whip cream, but it just came as a waffle. Little things like that. Usually just means someone's not watching the finished product leave the kitchen. Over all the location is great and the front desk, valet and floor staff are very nice.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view and no construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is of great value to us and allows us to understand how we can improve upon your stay. We were dismayed to read about your in room dining experience and will make sure that our room service team double checks the details of each order before presenting it to our guests. We appreciate your understanding regarding the construction but would like to once again apologize for the disruption. Thank you again for allowing us to read about your stay and we truly hope that we will have a future opportunity to provide you with the exceptional experience that the guests of our hotel have come to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were visiting family in the area and needed to book a room at the last minute. We were accomadated and upgraded due to our points. This is a very nice hotel however our upgraded room was very small. With two children I was ready to leave by the next morning. The kids enjoyed a "voyager backpack" that provided age appropriate activities. We enjoyed our late dinner and breakfast. Room service was prompt and was able to appease a very picky 3 year old. While this was not the great "Westin William Penn" I grew up with I am satisfied with the hotel and would not mind staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We appreciate your review of our hotel and regret that your room was not as large as you would have hoped for. If you return, please do not hesitate to let us know that you would like one of our larger floor plans and we will do our best to meet that request. We are glad that your family otherwise enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I selected this hotel using an on-line bidding site and was I lucky. The century old hotel was beautiful and in perfect repair. The public areas are everything that you hope for in a restored hotel. The room was very comfortable, though a little small. Everything in the room was beautiful. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSergi
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Every time I'm here I'm wondering is this the last time. They simply don't make place like this any more. Stepping into the lobby Harkins back to era of luxury and indulgence. That were Called "refined" in their day. Here the experience lives in every detail. A blend of old world charm and modern connivence. The rooms are grand and comfortable, the waiters Croatians with dark stories and friendly smiles.

Well the heat didn't work so We were cold, but it was grand.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
It was a pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed your experiences at the Omni William Penn. We also hope that your most recent visit won't be your last as it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The lobby is a throwback with a lot of charm and was beautifully decorated for the holidays.

My room was a nice size with a very comfortable bed, very well maintained fixtures and fittings and a decent sized bathroom. Above all it was very clean, well maintained and to be honest you can't go wrong staying here if you are in downtown Pittsburgh.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary recommendation of the Omni William Penn. We are delighted that you had a great stay and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

One of the most beautiful lobbies: high chandeliers, restaurant/bar seating, a Starbucks, gift shop with real newspapers for us old-school travelers, and occasional tasteful live jazz music. The back corners of the hotel (off Grant Street) feature the Owl Bar and a Bruegger's Bagel shop that might be missed by some guests. I've had many good times in the classic Owl Bar. But, on this trip it was crowded with just one seat available in middle of bar. It was a chilly November night. The A/C was on high blowing directly on the bar seating, so I left. I had a better experience having drinks and meal in lobby bar, but the service was a bit sketchy. My room was very comfortable and well appointed. However, the housekeeper never vacuumed the floor during a five-night stay; bathmat was removed and not replaced; tub drained so slowly that you stand in cold dirty water while showering. These were minor inconveniences in an otherwise enjoyable business stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are glad you had a good stay but we would like to offer our apologies for the few areas where we missed the mark. We will share your comments with our food and beverage team as well as our housekeeping team and we hope for a future opportunity to provide you with a flawless experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, and award-winning dining. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni William Penn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;