We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Lady” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Omni William Penn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
DSergi
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Grand Old Lady”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Every time I'm here I'm wondering is this the last time. They simply don't make place like this any more. Stepping into the lobby Harkins back to era of luxury and indulgence. That were Called "refined" in their day. Here the experience lives in every detail. A blend of old world charm and modern connivence. The rooms are grand and comfortable, the waiters Croatians with dark stories and friendly smiles.

Well the heat didn't work so We were cold, but it was grand.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
It was a pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed your experiences at the Omni William Penn. We also hope that your most recent visit won't be your last as it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    438
    128
    50
    22
See reviews for
318
502
87
585
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The lobby is a throwback with a lot of charm and was beautifully decorated for the holidays.

My room was a nice size with a very comfortable bed, very well maintained fixtures and fittings and a decent sized bathroom. Above all it was very clean, well maintained and to be honest you can't go wrong staying here if you are in downtown Pittsburgh.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary recommendation of the Omni William Penn. We are delighted that you had a great stay and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

One of the most beautiful lobbies: high chandeliers, restaurant/bar seating, a Starbucks, gift shop with real newspapers for us old-school travelers, and occasional tasteful live jazz music. The back corners of the hotel (off Grant Street) feature the Owl Bar and a Bruegger's Bagel shop that might be missed by some guests. I've had many good times in the classic Owl Bar. But, on this trip it was crowded with just one seat available in middle of bar. It was a chilly November night. The A/C was on high blowing directly on the bar seating, so I left. I had a better experience having drinks and meal in lobby bar, but the service was a bit sketchy. My room was very comfortable and well appointed. However, the housekeeper never vacuumed the floor during a five-night stay; bathmat was removed and not replaced; tub drained so slowly that you stand in cold dirty water while showering. These were minor inconveniences in an otherwise enjoyable business stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are glad you had a good stay but we would like to offer our apologies for the few areas where we missed the mark. We will share your comments with our food and beverage team as well as our housekeeping team and we hope for a future opportunity to provide you with a flawless experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We love to stay at this hotel during the holiday season. It is always beautifully decorated with a gorgeous tree, lights and a life size gingerbread house. The bar is small but nice and the hotel is in a great location. We always enjoy our stay here!

Room Tip: get a room on a top floor to enjoy a gorgeous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding our decorations and our hotel. We are thrilled that you choose us for your holiday getaway each year and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I went to a Pittsburgh Ballet Theatre event the last Friday of Nov. 2012. Even though the event was located in another part of the city, we chose to stay at the William Penn in downtown since I had stayed there several times while it was a Westin. Now Omni owns it and, thankfully, nothing has changed! The service is as exceelent as ever and the Old World charm of the place has not diminshed one iota. Everyone was friendly, considerate and knowledgable. The hotel is located on a small cross street, which makes getting in and out a bit dicey, but is also right in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh. Cabs for evening travel (if you don't know your way around) are readily available outside the hotel, though you may have to call for a cab for return.

The room we had was small but impeccably clean and decorated in muted neutrals... possibly a bit modern for such a grand dame of a hotel, but it worked well enough. If you look, a few of the old Victorian details are still around, like special moldings and details. Nice. Our windows faced one of other towers of the hotel (there are three), so we had no view to speak of and carefully drew our blinds so as not to see or be seen by other guests which made the room darker than it needed to be. The room was a bit close to the elevators for my taste, as the loud ring of the elevator's arrival bell was clearly audible inside our room.

The real glory of the William Penn, however, is its lovingly restored and cared for lobby and restaurant (The Terrace Room). Sumptuous Oriental carpets and deep chairs and couches fill an incredibly large space in a room that is easily 3 stories high. Intricate decorative details and woodwork have been carefully restored and much of the lighting and other accents are original to the hotel (early 1900s?). At the time we visited, all their holiday decorations were on display, complete with a hand made gingerbread replica of the hotel, iced and lit from within! A soaring tree dominated the lobby and festive touches were everywhere - fun!

The Terrace Room also shines as one of the best restaurants in Pittsburgh and certainly in the downtown area. The service is superb and the "terrace" outside the main dining room is a great place for any kind of meal - even a real afternoon tea! A wonderful "people watching" perch as you can survey almost the whole of the vast lobby from this position. We ate two meals there; One a dinner after our evening with the Ballet and a breakfast buffet the next morning which is one of the most extensive (and delicious) I have ever seen. The late night dinner presented no problem for the staff who were polite, helpful and friendly throughout.

Downtown Pittsburgh on the weekend is a shadow of its weekday self, but there is good eating not too far from the hotel and Macy's flagship store in Pittsburgh is only 1/2 block away. I sorely missed the Saks that used to just down the street, but the area still has many compensations, including an ample Starbuck's in one outside corner of the hotel lobby.The holiday spirit was evident all around, despite relatively empty streets over a weekend.

The final observation about our (short) stay at thw William Penn is to say that it's rare indeed that my husband comments about hotels, but he was at some pains to make sure I understood that he liked the William Penn and its atmosphere and food quite a bit and would look forward to a return visit there. With all the other great qualities the hotel offers... that clinches it!

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the elevators and WITH a view - especially if you are spending more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We truly enjoyed reading your review of the Omni William Penn and are delighted that we even won over your husband! Thank you for sharing your experience in such detail on TripAdvisor and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My 7 year old son and I came one day early to the Burgh to see our Steelers play the Chargers .We went on hotwire to get a downtown hotel and for $167 got the William Penn We always stay @ the Wyndem.I said lets give the a chance. Well first thing was pulling up front the bellmen I'm sorry i did not get his name told us $27 for valet or park for free across the street becauce of Holidays.He held our bags till we parked then led us to check in.They gave my son a soft backpack with nice little games & crafts (camp omni) plus hot coco and candy canes Then our room it was 1478 five stars very nice soothing music playing on the tv as we entered our room.At bedtime a gentlemen showed up at our door with cookies and milk for my son WOW my son was like for me?Then there was a bellmen in the lobby named Darrel what can I say Darrel was so nice, helpful and willing to do anything for us. We learned after dinner by bumping into Brett Keisel #99 that the Steelers where staying in the hotel that night My son saw players all night long .We waited in the lobby to see the players and did alot of them then David Frost the Manager came over gave my son a sharpie for autographs. Later he went out to a off limits area and check to see if any players where left He let us know that they were all in there rooms and save us from sitting in the lobby waiting players that were not there. I want to Thanks Darrel and David for everything.We paid a hotwire price and got service worth $500 a night . We will be back next year to stay at our New Hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are thrilled that you and your son had a memorable experience at the Omni William and we look forward to sharing your compliments with David and Darrell. Thank you for allowing us to read about your stay and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I go to Pittsburgh a few times a year and have stayed at other hotels in the city but this one is by far the best. It's always impeccably clean. During my last stay my room wasn't to far from the elevators and I couldn't hear any noise in my room and never a long wait for a elevator. There is a Starbuck's in the lobby and a Bruegger's bagel shop in the back of the hotel. They have a above average fitness center with cardio equipment, dumbbells & weight machines. Not a far walk to many of the city's attractions and the subway is accoss the street. One tip I would give is to park youself in the garage next to the hotel, I paid $8 for the weekend. Would give six stars if I could.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We would gladly accept your sixth star if we could! Thank you for recommending the Omni William Penn on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, and award-winning dining. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni William Penn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.