We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Holiday delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Omni William Penn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Aptos
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Holiday delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at the Omni William Penn just priot to Christmas. The entire experience was delightful. The hotel is a grand one. Lots of history. It was decorated wonderfully. Every staff person we encountered or asked information from was great. Clear and concise, informational and had a great upbeat attitude. The food inside the hotel: dinner and breakfast was very tasty. The hotel is centrally located. We will go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    438
    129
    50
    22
See reviews for
318
504
87
588
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Apparently the best hotel in town, however, I do not want to believe this.
The Omni is a typical dated American hotel that needs a major refurbishment / upgrade. We had a large sales meeting there, however, they were not able to arrange early check-in for the international travelers who got in early and wanted a shower. They all had to wait until 3 PM. There was no luggage service on arrival. Breakfast was average at best. The food was also typical hotel food without any trace of creativity.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback on your recent stay and experience. We value your opinion, and your business. The hotel has just embarked on a multi-million dollar renovation that will address both guest rooms, as well as the remainder of our public meeting space. The guest room renovation commenced on January 16th, and we anticipate completion in early May. We hope you will provide us with an opportunity to earn your business back, and reassure you that we continue to be Pittsburgh's premier hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I live in Morgantown, West Virginia, about 1.5 hours from Pittsburgh. My wife and I love to visit Pittsburgh just before Christmas, and we were lucky to be able to take the local bus up this year, eliminating the stress of driving and parking. The bus terminal is right between downtown and The Strip, and we began our pre-Christmas visit with hot cocoa and a latte in the huge lobby of the William Penn Hotel. One can imagine travelers from a bygone era coming and going in this beautiful hotel and be transported to another time, a time of the Lawrence Welk and bubble music, of steel mills and Andrew Carnegie and the magnates of industry and smoke.
We really like this hotel. It's very nice today, but it's also a trip back in time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
What a pleasure for us to read your review of the Omni William Penn. One of our goals is to protect the sense of nostalgia that our historic property exudes while providing the modern amenities one expects of a luxury hotel. We are glad to see this reflected in your review and hope you will once again decide to stay with us for your annual trip to Pittsburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The rooms can be a bit small, but that is just the age of the hotel showing. The staff is wonderful and I have booked with the WP a few times. The lobby is marvelous with free wifi and the connected Starbucks makes the morning coffee run easy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for continuing to choose the Omni William Penn for your Pittsburgh hotel needs. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We just spent 2 days at the William Penn in downtown Pittsburgh and I can't think of any negatives to say about this grand old hotel. The lobby is a classic and the service was first class all the way. We were given a corner room on the 14th floor with two great views of the city. The room was spacious and modern with a flat screen TV and and electronic safe and extremely quiet.

The Tap Room was a great place to have an evening drink and relax with friends after a day walking around the city shopping and sightseeing. As I said in the title, you can't beat the location of the hotel. It's right in the center of the cultural district and convenient to everything. Parking in any downtown city in America is always a problem and it's no different in Pittsburgh, but while the valet parking was a little pricy at $27 per day there was a public garage right across the street for $5 after 4:00 with a maximum charge of $13.25 per day.

We will be definitely be staying at the William Penn any time we come to Pittsburgh in the future.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and quiet with great views from the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Many thanks for your complimentary review of The Omni William Penn. We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location and your time and with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I stayed there four nights while attending a conference at the nearby conference centre. The room price was reasonable, but the hotel food was rather pricey. The room was great, so the food probably would have been great too. There was lots of old-fashioned charm; the foyer was huge and stunning. Parking was underground and right across the street, not inexpensive, but close, and the hotel, though downtown, was easily accessible from the highway.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay at The Omni William Penn Hotel. If your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh, we hope to once again have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during a recent visit to Pittsburgh. The hotel was a typical Omni. Great lobby, nice rooms, all the details. We used priceline to book and got it for half the advertised rates. There is public parking lot across the street that was half the price of valet (and free on weekends).

Room Tip: Even the least expensive rooms were nice and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Omni William Penn. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will be our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, and award-winning dining. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Reservation Counter, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni William Penn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.