We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel in need of upgrading in staff and amenities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square Hotel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   300 West Station Square Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tired hotel in need of upgrading in staff and amenities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was booked into this hotel to attend a conference. Conference facilities are weak at best. Room is adequate. Banquet chairs are fair (many with stains on them). Audio-visual is passable but the food is rather ho hum. Realizing that the conference arranged menu items, I would rate it as below average in terms of quality and presentation. Hotel is noisy and the doors to the rooms are very cumbersome and noisy themselves. So, unless there is a compelling reason to be at this venue, I suggest finding another spot.

Regarding the sleeping rooms, the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are functional. Showers have a weak spray. When I inquired about a robe (which was not in the room), I was told, "housekeeping can't find any". I asked the next day...no answer. Safe in the room did not operate and needed to be replaced.

All in all, a property in need of renovation. Not up to SPG standing. Did not feel my Gold member mattered to the staff. Next time will use my platinum status with Marriott and cab it over.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    37
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
32
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This Sheraton branch is not the best I spent nights in. Starting with the positives, I think the rooms are spacious and clean, beds comfortable and most of the staff professional and courteous. The location is also pretty good with very decent restaurants and bars nearby. The wifi is free (although very slow). The water bottles are complimentary and an in-room fridge at your disposal is always a plus.
However, there are elements that are unacceptable when it comes to staying at any hotel. First, the frequent noise coming from the nearby trains will wake you up at night unless you are a deep sleeper or can tolerate putting earplugs. Second, the parking fee is surprisingly high for a non-valet parking (23$ overnight). Third, some of the cleaning staff are pretty loud, while the receptionist I interacted with was unaware that there is a shuttle service to the airport. With the nightly rate this branch charges, things should be better.
Although I do recommend this hotel if you're visiting Pittsburgh, I advise to also shop around some more, especially if your a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Get yourself some earplugs if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPGH, General Manager at Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Although it is regrettable to learn that we did not fully meet your expectations of the Sheraton brand, we are very grateful for your feedback. We clearly dropped the ball on service for you and for that, we apologize. Our parking rates are competitive to other hotels in our area and we truly regret any inconveniences. We offer a great parking package for you to enjoy during your next stay. We hope you will consider visiting with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valparaiso
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stay at hotels for work up to10 times a month. I couldn't believe the attitude of the staff. All I did was check in and order room service at 10:30 pm. The staff was more interested in talking to another staff than helping a guest check in. Then when I ordered room service I heard the staff sigh and say we'll bring it up as soon as we can get to it. With a very noticeable tone of annoyance. They had interesting options on their menu and the decor was nice but the staff put me off from staying here again. This stay was on my personal time not business.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPGH, General Manager at Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I would like to take this time to extend my apologies if your stay did not reflect the usual high standards of service that we’ve set in place. We will be passing your review along to our staff to re-emphasize our commitment to world-class service. We hope you will someday allow us another opportunity to regain your trust in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a night on a road trip. The views of the river could not be beat. Really, they just made the room.

The hotel is in the midst of a shopping/restaurant complex and parking in the garage was simple. Check in was easy and the lobby beautiful.

The room was recently updated, though you could tell they left the original tub and undermount sink by the discolorations. It wasn't a problem, just noticeable. The bed was INCREDIBLY comfortable. There was some hallway noise, but I think I was just unlucky to have some loud neighbors.

Definitely recommend this hotel for its comfort, class, and location. I only wish it had free WiFi.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPGH, General Manager at Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
The views of the river can certainly be breathtaking! We are happy to hear that this was one of the highlights of your visit. We do regret any noise disruptions from other guests and we hope any inconveniences were minimal. It's nice to learn that you enjoyed such a comfortable stay! Please think of the Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Whenever you are in Pittsburgh Penn. I highly recommend The Sheraton Hotel to stay in while you are visiting for pleasure or business. And we went to a Pec or Pittsburgh Employment Conference there at the Sheraton and staying at the Hotel was great. We all had a great time as well as really enjoyed everything the Hotel had to offer they had great food nice rooms, as well as great facilities to have this conference in. So whenever you are in Pittsburgh do your best and stay at this Hotel it is a really nice Hotel to stay in as while you are in Pittsburgh for business or pleasure. also the rooms are nice and spacious and the beds were nice and comfortable. and the view from our Hotel room was also very nice.

Room Tip: Get a room with a nice view
See more room tips
Green Features: Everything was well kept up and the Hotel is very environmentally friendly
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPGH, General Manager at Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We truly appreciate your wonderful review of the Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square! We are always happy to hear when a guest is impressed with everything our hotel has to offer, from our facilities to our food quality. Whether you are visiting for business or leisure, we hope you'll visit with us again. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently spent three nights at the hotel while visiting for a conference. The rooms were very nice. The location of the hotel was fantastic - it was conveniently located near the city, PNC baseball park, and several of the local tourist attractions such as the Mount Washington inclines. We were particularly thrilled about the option to take a boat from outside the hotel directly to PNC ball park for a Pirates game.

Room Tip: We were in 825. It looks over the river and has a great night time view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPGH, General Manager at Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our close proximity to the local tourist attractions. As you mentioned, PNC Park is just a boat ride away! We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and we hope you'll have the opportunity to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are spacious and beds comfortable. There is sufficient parking available around the hotel, though expensive. The rooms with the best view are those closest to the water front. Saying this these rooms are also closest to the railway tracks on which a couple of times an hour (felt like every 5 minutes) large cargo trains pass. 24/7. In the rooms you will find split AC units. They are noisy and constantly switching on and off.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPGH, General Manager at Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We appreciate your guest perspective and deeply regret the noise disruptions that you experienced during your stay. We are working hard to improve the guest experience at our hotel and would like to mention that several measures are being taken to lessen the sound and vibrations of the trains in our rooms that directly face the tracks. We can understand your frustrations at this time and we hope you will allow us another chance to fully impress you during a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square Hotel

Address: 300 West Station Square Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#21 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#21 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in Pittsburgh's only riverfront hotel, the Sheraton Station Square Hotel. Adjacent to 20 restaurants, shops at Station Square, Bessemer Court and the Gateway Clipper Riverboat fleet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Station Square Motel
Sheraton Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Sheraton
Sheraton Station Square Pittsbergh Pa
Sheraton Station Sq Hotel Pittsbergh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Pittsburgh Hotel at Station Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.