We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Location & Staff!"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Station Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Station Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Station Square Hotel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   300 West Station Square Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15219   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #40 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“"Great Location & Staff!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Checked in on the Sunday of Columbus Day weekend. Had been outlet shopping at Grove City and decided to spend the night in Pittsburgh since it was less than an hour away. A little tricky to find if you have never been to Pittsburgh but try to have faith in your GPS. I have to start with the staff. Debra checked us in and was awesome. Super friendly and knowledgeable, let me know everything I needed. Great view of the river and Downtown in our room, 826. Yes, the trains can be really loud, but the beds and pillows were so comfy it really wasn't an issue. Next is the shuttle bus drivers. They are super friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. This service is so great, will take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius. Leaves on the half hour and you can get a business card to call them when you need pick up. Free service, but definitely recommend tipping since you will get some great info. Cheaper than a cab! Pool was nice, unfortunately the hot tub was not working. The lobby is interesting and has a nice bar. Some parts are a little dated but the view, location and staff were worth it, especially if you can book through a discounter like Hotwire ($92US, score!). Keep up the great work guys! Will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPGH, General Manager at Sheraton Station Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We love that your spontaneous decision to spend the night in Pittsburgh led you to the Sheraton Station Square Hotel! It is great to read that you experienced friendly, helpful service at check-in and that the same high level of service continued throughout your visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, especially your mention of our amenities and prime location, complete with riverfront views. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    173
    193
    102
    78
See reviews for
138
177
34
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton Station Square for a conference. Upon checking in I was told I have a beautiful water view and great view of the downtown; however I was right on the train tracks. I didn't sleep at all the first night and took them up on the free ear plugs, which helped a bit. Overall it was not too bad once I got over the train. They were also fairly accommodating to my gluten free diet, which I appreciated.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPGH, General Manager at Sheraton Station Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
It seems that you had a pleasant conference stay at the Sheraton Station Square. We’re happy to do all that we can to accommodate our guests and their needs, so it was our pleasure to work with you regarding your dietary restrictions. While we do regret if any outside noise disturbed you, we are grateful to learn it did not detract from your overall experience. Thank you, please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Was in for a week, attending a conference. Expected much more from this hotel. The staff who served us at one of the luncheons was not friendly, slamming our plates down on the table and offering very minimal pleasantries or conversation. The rooms in which we attended sessions were too warm and no one seemed able to fix this problem. The front desk staff were both courteous and helpful, but the concierge was useless when I tried to return my parking pass despite having been told that he was the one to turn it on to.

The rooms were average at best. We did have a beautiful view of downtown but that was about it for above average. Inadequate drawer space, poor water pressure, noise from passing trains, and even sub-par shampoo. The food is overpriced as it is in most hotels but at least this one is close to plenty of better and more affordable restaurants.

Should have been better for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPGH, General Manager at Sheraton Station Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
It is truly disappointing to read that while you did enjoy helpful service from our front desk associates, your conference visit was not more positive overall. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience. Your review will be shared with our entire team so that we may make any improvements necessary to ensure we provide the highest quality of service possible. We hope you’ll give us another try in the future, especially since we have some exciting updates to our guest rooms scheduled to begin shortly. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton Station Square overnight while on business in Pittsburgh. The hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a king room overlooking the river. The location of this hotel was perfect for where I had to go for work. The bed was extra soft and the view was great. I could see the football stadium on the other side of the river and the city lights looked awesome at night. There are plenty of places to eat and get a drink within walking distance.

Room Tip: get a room with a river view. The city lights are great to see at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPGH, General Manager at Sheraton Station Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Located near a variety of leisure attractions and corporate offices in Pittsburgh, the Sheraton Station Square Hotel is a great place to stay while on business in the city and we’re glad you agree. Thank you for sharing your kind thoughts regarding our hotel, location, new Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds and more. We hope to welcome you back next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here from Sept. 26 through Sept. 28, 2013. The hotel was as advertised. The location in Station Square is very convenient to restaurants and nightlife, most within short walking distance. The only downside was the Starbucks in the lobby area, which seemed very disorganized. They had trouble getting the place set up for the morning coffee rush, partly because that Starbucks is too small for it's location, and therefore can't handle the volume of business it gets.Other than that small flaw, the hotel is quite good, as reflected in my 4 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPGH, General Manager at Sheraton Station Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Situated steps from historic Station Square, the Sheraton Station Square Hotel is a great place to stay to explore the area and we’re thrilled you agree. We appreciate knowing that your visit met expectations and that you enjoyed a pleasant stay. Please accept our apologies for any delays in the morning, we will be certain to share your thoughts with our team. Thank you, we hope you’ll return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed in Sheraton Station Square for the last night of a birthday weekend with my husband. The views from the hotel are great, we had a room looking down on the Atrium, which let in light but was private as it was on the 4th floor. Room was clean, bed was fantastic. Then came breakfast. We ordered the egg white omelet with spinach as a heart healthly option. It arrived, swimming in fat, covered in melted cheese. Whatever healthful properties it had were now wiped out. Someone in the kitchen needs to learn about low fat cooking! But this was the only glitch in an otherwise lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPGH, General Manager at Sheraton Station Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Happy Birthday from all of us at the Sheraton Station Square Hotel! We’re delighted that you and your husband spent part of your weekend celebration with us. It is great to read that you enjoyed a pleasant stay complete with beautiful room views. We are so sorry for any mix up with your breakfast order and will be certain to share your comments with our dining team to ensure we provide our best service to future guests. Thank you, please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel has many positives including friendly staff, great view of Pittsburgh Skyline, and a free shuttle to local attractions. However, it's not the place to stay if you want a good night sleep. Our spacious room directly across the river overlooking Pittsburgh also sat near the train track running along the river. Watching trains pass during the day is great. Not so good at bedtime. They run all night long. On top of the train noise was the outdated air conditioner that rumbled so loudly I thought a train was in the room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPGH, General Manager at Sheraton Station Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your appreciation of our complimentary amenities, dedicated staff and views of downtown Pittsburgh. We are sorry that you did not experience the restful night of sleep we hope for each of our guests, please don’t hesitate to reach out to our staff if your next stay can be improved upon in any way. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, we will have our maintenance team look further into your comments. We hope you’ll give us another try next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Station Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Station Square Hotel

Address: 300 West Station Square Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Station Square Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in Pittsburgh's only riverfront hotel, the Sheraton Station Square Hotel. Adjacent to 20 restaurants, shops at Station Square, Bessemer Court and the Gateway Clipper Riverboat fleet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Station Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Station Square Motel
Sheraton Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Sheraton
Sheraton Station Sq Hotel Pittsbergh
Sheraton Station Square Pittsbergh Pa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Station Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.