We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6404 Steubenville Pike, Pittsburgh, PA 15205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 59 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this place for one night in late December as a quick stopover on our road trip. Very good value for what you pay. The room was clean, nicely decorated and service was friendly.

The only negative point I have is that they stated very explicitly in signage as well as when we checked in that it was a non-smoking facility and we would be fined $200 if we smoked (we don't). However, when we got to our room it reeked of smoke. It was so strong that we were worried our clothes and luggage would smell once we left in the morning. Had we not been so tired from driving we would've asked to change rooms.

As long as you get a room that doesn't smell like smoke, I would still recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property as well as the recommendation. Some of our guests have abused our non smoking policy and we do our best to enforce it and return a room that has been smoked in to proper condition. Thanks for staying with and looking forward to seeing you on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    87
    49
    28
    15
See reviews for
59
72
45
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked this motel after looking on Google Hotels for places matching our criteria. I also saw that it had 4 stars on Tripadvisor.
All rooms are newly renovated and our room was very clean. The beds are comfortable. The heater is a bit old but works great. All floors are laminated so rolling the suitcases is easy. All rooms have flatscreens with a HDMI port on the side, so you can connect laptops etc easily. Our room also has a microwave, coffemaker and fridge, there's really not much more to ask for.

The only slightly negative would be the very small bathroom, and the shower doesn't have great pressure. But those things you can easily live with. We'd come here again for sure.

There's a mall really close, as well as all the big shops (Walmart, Kmart, Best Buy etc) for those who need stuff to stock up on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north olmsted
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I was in Pittsburgh from Nov. 2 until Nov. 6 and stayed at the Red Roof Inn, Pittsburgh South Airport location. As always my stay was absolutely delightful. The newly updated and redecorated rooms are wonderful. They are so comfortable, and everything is so convenient. My room had been beautifully cleaned, and everything was in excellent working order.

However, what always impresses me most about the Red Roof Pittsburgh South Airport location is the professionalism, courtesy and welcoming demeanor exhibited by the entire staff. This was certainly the case on this most recent visit. Everyone made me feel so welcome.

I particularly want to commend and express my appreciation to Ava. Ava's sincere interest in, and consideration for, customers is always so evident. However, I particularly wish to thank her for the assistance she extended to me on my most recent visit.

I am blind and have a new iPhone 5 which I absolutely love. Even though the accessibility features on the phone are marvelous, there are still some features which are much more quickly and easily accessed with sighted assistance. Ava very thoughtfully and kindly assisted me with these features. I sincerely appreciate her help and commend her on her knowledge.

Ava's thoughtfulness and enthusiastic assistance was indeed another example of the exemplary customer care extended by the Red Roof, Pittsburgh South Airport staff. I am very much looking forward to my next visit to Pittsburgh in a few weeks.

Sincerely,
Marion Lanham

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

In town for a last minute meeting. Staff nice, room clean, close to everything, including a 3am trip to Walmart, lots of shopping in area. Stayed in back where it was quiet.

Had dinner at a Hibachi restauraht called "Saga" at Settlers Ridge a shopping center near by, we really enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night before our flight. Check in was easy and the room was nice for the price. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. There was not a hair dryer or an iron in the room which were disappointing. The worst party was that the walls and doors are paper thin and we could hear people talking and doors closing throughout the night, keeping us awake. Also the computer was down but the woman at the desk was nice enough to print our boarding passes for us, so that wasn't a big deal. Overall it's an okay hotel if you can get it cheap but don't expect a restful sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apalachin, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Due to business I stay at this hotel twice a week. All employees are polite & helpful. The Manager is very accomidating. The rooms were all renovated with flat screen tv's and super comfortable beds & pillows. Highly recommend . Good location many restaurants in walking distance. Great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The interior was recently renovated and it looks very modern from the inside. New lcd tvs and granite countertops are some examples. Wifi worked well so no complaints. The only problem are the very thin walls. We were woken up by kids all the way down the hall and it sounded like they were right outside our room. I'm not a very light sleeper so I thought that it was unusually loud. Otherwise a great value considering the remodel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport

Address: 6404 Steubenville Pike, Pittsburgh, PA 15205
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 12 miles west of downtown Pittsburgh and 6 miles from Pittsburgh International Airport, Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport is just 1/4 mile from The Mall at Robinson. IKEA, Bayer Corporation, and RPS corporation are all just 1 mile from Red Roof South Airport, while Robert Morris University and Penn Motor Speedway are both only 5 miles away. The University of Pittsburgh, Duquesne University, the First Niagara Pavilion, The Rivers Casino, Consol Energy Center, Pittsburgh Convention Center, PNC Park and Heinz Field are all only 10-12 miles away. This hotel is within minutes of several great restaurants. When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our Next Gen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. Also offering Red Roof Inn's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Located just 6 miles from the Pittsburgh International Airport, Red Roof Pittsburgh South Airport offers a Park / Fly package, as well as free shuttle service to and from the airport. All rooms offer free WiFi as well as in-room safes. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers "On Command Video" with a selection of free TV channels, as well as pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Red Roof Inn, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Pittsburgh South Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.