We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh. ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Commonwealth Place, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Odenton, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meh. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

That's all I can muster for this hotel. Can hear everything in the room next to us. Wireless is spotty at best. TV quality is poor. How do you not have Root Sports on your cable package, btw? Can't even watch local hockey from your room. Room appeared clean upon arrival and it is in a convenient location I suppose.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    724
    602
    324
    151
See reviews for
452
499
68
889
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Great location to Heinz field for the Steelers game! Hotel bar and restaurant were good too! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Valet was very accommodating when we left stuff in our vehicle. Overall good experience!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This place is right across the water from Heinz Field! You can't stay at a better location for the game. You have great views of the 3 Rivers, Heinz Field and some fantastic Christmas decorations in the "Fort" parks. The room was nice decorated but a bit small for the price. The oversized furniture made it a bit tricky getting your luggage in the room and the bathroom is a bit tight also, it has a somewhat narrow shower stall (due to the safety rail) I also had a problem with water running on the floor each time I showered, I guess because there was not seal on the bottom of the glass shower wall, so I had to mop up water with every towel in the room afterwards. Other than that, it was not a bad experience and I would stay there again. But beware on game days of the VERY ROWDY visiting team fans!! oh Boy! Can you say quit drinking while you can.... They also have a very nice restaurant "3 Rivers" the food and staff were excellent and "3 Rivers" Lounge is a really great spot also, good drinks, appetizers and friendly staff. Can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, lots of traffic outside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Checked in. Came back after work the following evening and housekeeping drop the tstat down to 50! Room was freezing!
They also left a full garbage can on top of a desk. Took them over 30 minutes to come pick it up.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Made a reservation here for Christmas week. Haven't stayed yet, but had a question so I called the hotel directly. It took over ten rings just to get the hotel operator to pick the phone up, and it sounded like I had woken her from a sound sleep. She then immediately transferred me to the front desk. Where the woman asked if she could place me on hold I mistakenly said, "yes." I've been on hold ever since. 22 minutes thus far. This hotel is either horribly under-staffed or staffed by complete incompetents.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Ed, Thank you for taking the time to speak with me yesterday to let us know you are bringing your pet. As you know, we are a pet friendly hotel. I was happy to waive your pet fee due to the inconvenience of your wait time while on hold. If there is anything we can do to further assist, please feel free to contact me again directly.
Bryan Forsythe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

T hotel had a glass shower that you couldn't turn the shower on without stepping into it. It was completely enclosed and the door opened in at the opposite end of the shower head . You couldn't turn the water on unless you stepped inside. I didn't realize I had to pretend I was joining the Polar Bear Club to initially start this shower! Whew it was painful! I thought I was doing something wrong but no it was an engineering flop. The staff was SUPER, the rest of the room was okay, but the bathroom shower a dud. Don't take room 925. You can't let the shower warm before you get in it because you have to get in it to turn the water on :/ what in the world? Sorry I forgot to take a photo. We only stayed one night or I would have ask for another room. I like this hotel just won't take this room!
P.s. The remote needs new batteries.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Sharon, We are glad to hear your recent experience with us was pleasant and that you would return. We will make sure our engineers double check the remotes in the guest rooms as they make their rounds. With regard to the shower design, we will share your sentiment with our ownership for consideration on our next renovation. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am a Wyndham Rewards member. I was told I would receive rewards points for all 4 rooms I booked. I only received points for one. I called and was told I could only get points for 2, so I gave the information for the second room, but still no points have been credited. I never have these problems with my Starwood program. Get your act together.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
If you ever have an issue in the future, please reach out to the property directly, as we can take care of this locally in a speedier fashion. Thank you for sharing your concern and we hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 600 Commonwealth Place, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.