We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgrace to Pittsburgh” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Commonwealth Place, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disgrace to Pittsburgh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel is the worst. Furniture was broken, linens, curtains etc. tattered, plumbing improperly installed causing water to run in sink constantly, tub drain did not work properly, unable to use electrical plug in bathroom due to improper installation, incorrect charges on bill and front desk unable to correct, poor traffic control at entrance. Beds are soft, mushy, not enough pillows, worn linens, bed skirts that do not fit, curtains hanging on floor, crowded. Even the phones are old, discolored and falling apart. Phone at front desk rings and rings and sometime not answered. Have stayed in low budget, hotels that puts this place to shame. Overpriced, tattered, poorly maintained, nasty dated hotel. Stay away. One star due to the view of Pittsburgh, at least what one can see thru the filthy windows.

Room Tip: Stay away, overpriced and poorly maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Janet, thank you for choosing our property for your recent visit over the holiday. We regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. We can assure you we will address your specific concerns with our management team and take the appropriate action on our end. We appreciate that you brought this to our attention, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    771
    663
    344
    168
See reviews for
485
540
77
964
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harmony, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I booked a room for us to stay overnight with two of our friends. The service at this hotel is definitely sub-par. When we arrived, the valet area was full, and we were parked at the end of it. When my husband approached the valet attendant, he asked my husband to bring the car up. In my experience, valet usually means they will take care of this for you (especially at $28/night). The front desk staff was not overly friendly and check-in was a bit slow. When we got up to our room, we were immediately hit with the lingering aroma of stale cigarette smoke. We did not asked to be moved because we had dinner reservations to get to, and we didn't have time. The bathrooms are also quite small, and while showering, I noticed that the vent in the bathroom looked as though it hadn't been cleaned in years and years (full of caked-on dust). Needless to say we all woke up with some allergy issues.

The rooms are pretty nice, and the view from the room was also fantastic. I got a great deal on Priceline for this hotel, but if I would have paid full price, I would have been very, very upset and would have had a serious talk with management. I will definitely try to avoid this hotel from now on.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Meagan, We are glad to hear you took advantage of the internet special. Please be assured that your feedback is being shared with our management team, and our focus is on continuously improving to meet our guests' needs. Should your travels bring you back to the downtown area, we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Over all the accommodations were good- initially check in at 4 pm 10-14 people waiting and 3 staff- football game next day- I would of thought more workers but not . Location to downtown nice - parking can be cheaper if you park yourself- I chose valet- 28 dollars per day-
Pool on 4 th floor with hot tub- great views from pool area- tall windows and well heated. Beds- very comfortable- we chose the two doubles mini suite- size of room and mini is really mini- added maybe 18 sq ft to normal size room -
House keeping forgot a wash cloth on the shower curtain
Tub is a bit dated but really not that terrible- for the price point- compared to others in the area- in big need to update-
I would stay again but only for the pool for the kids and hot tub for me.
Remember the closer to the elevators- you will hear the noises associated with the hoist and may not let you sleep well-

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand for your Pittsburgh stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the pool facilities. We look forward to serving you again, if your travels bring you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Got this hotel for $50 for 4 nights... rooms are small but the photos on the hotel web site are accurate... great hot water and pressure in the shower, soft mattress ( achy back in the morning), new flat screen tvs but no digital reception just analog ( everything a bit fuzzy), good gym, pool and jacuzzi, parking at $28/day a rip, try to use street and public lot alternatives... very good downtown location. If you know the area getting around is easy.

Room Tip: ask for river view on a high floor... the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham brand for your recent visit to Pittsburgh. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently in the process of upgrading all our guest room televisions. With regard to the valet parking charge, we regret we do not have control over the rates that the local garages charge for valet or self parking. Should your plans bring you back to our fine city, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

On the morning we were to check out the maid knocked on our door 2 times before we were even ready to leave.
Also, we wanted to use the shuttle for our evening out on Saturday and were told there was no shuttle. It should not be advertised if it isn't available. This was disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Joseph, Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh for your recent visit. We regret that we did not meet your expectations, and can assure you we will address your specific concerns with our management team. We hope if you have another opportunity to return to Pittsburgh, you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel was excellent only needed it for the evening. It was located close to the stadium. The parking was decent and the view was well worth it. I only wish I would of known about the hotel bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Daniel, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to see you again if your plans bring you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 600 Commonwealth Place, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.