We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience in Pittsburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Commonwealth Place, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience in Pittsburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotwire for far less than the rack rate and we could not have been happier. The room(although small) was clean and had a great view of Downtown Pittsburgh. The amenities in the room were lovely and the shower was excellent. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and we did not have to wait very long to check in(under 5 minutes) on a busy Friday night(where the hotel also had a major party going on).

We were very impressed with the condition and quality of the hotel, but the location was beyond belief. It was less than a 5 minute walk to the Market Square area and Point State Park is right in front of the hotel and a wonderful locale to spend some time. Although we were not there for a sporting event, you could see PNC from our hotel and the stadium is easily within walking distance(15 minutes).

We did find a parking garage on Stanwix Avenue for $5 a day on the weekend, it was less than a five minute walk to the hotel and a block from Market Square. I would recommend parking there and saving over $20 a day for the valet.

We loved this hotel and would recommend it to all. Of course, the deal we received from Hotwire made it all the better!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are glad to know you took advantage of the internet booking, and you enjoyed your stay with us! It would be our pleasure to serve you again, should your travels include a return trip to Pittsburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    723
    600
    323
    150
See reviews for
450
498
68
888
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel is obviously under construction so hopefully the tired carpets and scuffed walls will be repaired soon, but what about the container of popcorn spilled all over the elevator overnight? And how about an hour and forty five minute wait estimate for room service (when they finally picked up the phone) because they were swamped by Steelers fans? I would think they could have predicted that. Especially a problem when EVERYTHING nearby except overflowing sports bars close at or before 9. Even the McDonald's was closed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay. We are very sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your visit. We can assure you we take your feedback seriously and will address your concerns with our management team. Thank you for taking the time to share your observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Nice place to stay...room service could have been better. Taxi service was not good at all on our first day there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We appreciate that you chose our property for your recent trip. We apologize for the shortcomings you may have experienced, and will be sharing your feedback with all involved. Should your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh, we would welcome another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Wyndham was clean and comfortable, but for $300 a night I was very disappointed in the customer service. While we were out of our room visiting another guest, the cleaning staff stripped our room of all linens, soaps, and toilet paper 2 hours before check out. They left our room door wide open with no one around while all of our belongings were still inside. When we asked them what they were doing, they said they were, "Just getting a head start". I reported it to the front desk and the manager didn't care at all. It was a very unpleasant way to end a nice weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Kathleen, We appreciate that you chose to stay with us for your recent trip. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the housekeeping team before your actual check out, and we will be sure to address this with them. We hope if your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh, we will have another opportunity to serve you. Thank you for taking the time to share with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 600 Commonwealth Place, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.