We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Last Minute Weekend Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Commonwealth Place, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #35 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Last Minute Weekend Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I decided last minute to go to Pittsburgh for the weekend and stayed at the Wyndham for the first time. It was a great location, lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance and a short drive from the casino! The room was a bit small but very nice and the bathroom was great and fully updated. We stayed on the 23rd floor and it had a great view of PNC park and downtown. The valet was full when we arrived but there was a self-park garage very close with only $8 parking. Overall it was a great stay and we will definitely be back to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHWYN, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Katherine, We appreciate that you chose to stay with us during your weekend getaway to Pittsburgh. Your feedback is valuable to us and other travelers. We would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    634
    517
    277
    133
See reviews for
391
433
62
774
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Upon arrival we had our car valet parked and paid the attendant in cash and received our valet ticket. We received a charge for the valet along with our room even though we paid in cash on arrival. The hotel claims that the valet that took our money/gave us our ticket does not exist.

Basically the greedy valet kept our money for herself and shafted us. BE VERY CAREFUL HERE BECAUSE THEY ARE DISHONEST

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHWYN, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Buddy, Thank you for sharing your concern. We do take this very seriously and can promise we will investigate this concern on our end. We can assure you that this is not the level of service we provide our guests. Please feel free to contact our executive offices directly with more specific information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My room attendant was absolutely perfect! I would also like to remind all the guests who stay and take advantage of the services for room cleaning should make sure you always leave a tip and let them know they are appreciated! Thanks tiffany for making room 1032 and my stay at your hotel the best ever

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHWYN, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Kamie, What a nice review! We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback. We promise we will share your kind comments with Tiffany and her supervisors. We hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagarafallsny
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

With over 1,000 union steelworkers at this downtown location the hotel staff rose to the call and provided excellent service. When my key didn't work twice a security guard was sent up to help me with the third key. Shuttle service was strong but with a 15 passenger van and so many riders there was always a concierge to call a taxi. Rooms were cleaned and ready at night; our conference hall and workshop rooms always had fresh coffee and ice water. The rooms were a smaller but the downtown location was great. The view from our room was wonderful. A minute walk from coffee, donuts, restaurants and shopping. Restaurant was good but we could walk and get better pricing. location, location, location. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: get the water side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHWYN, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay during the Women of Steel Conference. We look forward to having you stay with us again, should your travel plans bring you back to our fine city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 600 Commonwealth Place, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.