We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be coming back.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Commonwealth Place, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Will not be coming back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Not a fan of this hotel. Immediately upon entering room, noticed a strange smell but thought maybe it was the water, smell was hard to describe. Bright room with huge window and a beautiful view of the river and park below. Nice big, comfy bed. Nice toiletries in bathroom. Room service was not great, ordered the salmon and it was fishy and completely raw in the centre. Was sent a complimentary glass of bubbly to compensate which was a nice touch. Could not access internet from room so I had to go out into the hallway and sit by the elevators to get access. Service friendly not spectacular. Upon showering in the morning, I looked up only to notice mould on the ceiling! That must have been where the smell was coming from. This is a BIG hotel and the rooms have been updated but rest of hotel needs some freshening. I stayed in a king non-smoking @ $197.10 pus a $75 pet fee. Will not stay again.

Room Tip: Request high floor, view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    771
    663
    344
    168
See reviews for
485
540
77
964
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed here while in the city to see a Pittsburgh Pirates game. Super location for that since the ballpark is just a short walk over the Roberto Clemente Bridge.
Room was very comfortable. Staff was pleasant. Only complaint was the lack of a small refrigerator in the room.
Ate breakfast in the first floor restaurant. Good food, Excellent service, but pricey. (What isn't in a big city environment?)
Valet parking is available, but is costly. For $7 cheaper per night, you can self-park in a garage on the opposite side of the block.
Site borders on a wonderful park between the three rivers. Check out the interesting Fort Pitt Museum in the park. Lots of history there!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaapgm, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear sssster,
Thank you so much for your kind review! It's always gratifying to receive positive feedback from our guests relating not only to our location but our team members as well. I will certainly share your comments with our Associates and look forward to welcoming you back to Pittsburgh in the future.
Regards,
Robert Lepore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmarva Peninsula
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

The staff were wonderful. The parking situation is terrible. It's $20 to use a public parking garage a block and a half away. Their valet service was full. Their valet parking is $27. It's a very nice place, clean, updated etc. It got 4 stars because of the parking.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaapgm, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear Dansjen,
I appreciate your positive thoughts about your recent stay with us and your high rating of our hotel and team! I agree that parking in downtown Pittsburgh can be both challenging and expensive but our valet parking prices are comparable to other hotels in the downtown area. Should your travels return you to Pittsburgh in the future, I hope we can accommodate you again.
Regards,
Robert Lepore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I stayed here for a weekend trip to Pittsburgh with my two daughters (9 and 13).

Booked through Priceline at a decent rate. When checking in, I asked nicely for a room on an upper floor with a good veiw. The clerk was more than happy to give us a room on the fifteenth floor with a view overlooking the river (may have been a different story if they had a large convention booked the weekend we were there). The room was on the smaller side, but nice. The linens on the bed were of good quality and comfortable. The bathroom door was a slider, which made it nice as the door did not open into the bathroom against the toilet, as a swinging door would have in many of the hotels I have stayed in. I did notice the room was a bit dusty.

There were five elevators, and never had to wait more than a few seconds for one, with the exception of one time when a group of teenage volleyball players (guests for a tournament) were out and about the hotel.

The hotel location was good for my family. After returning from a day trip to Kennywood in the car on Friday afternoon, we were able to leave the car in a parking garage for the rest of the weekend and walk to the rest of the sites we visited. One bit of caution: DT Pittsburgh does not have a large permanent residency, and most of the businesses/restaurants seem to close after the business workers leave for home in the early evening.

We used public transportation twice during our stay. Once was a bus trip across the river to the incline railway (only a ten minute walk, but the bus was nice after walking everywhere earlier in the day). The bus stop was right outside the hotel on the side street. Just look for some of the Pittsburgh citizens sitting on the wall waiting for the bus, and you'll be in the right spot. The other time we used PT was a subway/light rail train ride out of the city just to see some of the surrounding area. The subway station is just a few blocks north of the hotel and an easy walk.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Wyndham. I did notice that some of the reviews of this hotel are less than favorable as was not expecting much when we arrived. I did strike up a conversation with one of the employees about the long history of the hotel and asked him about the recent changes. He stated that the entire staff just finsihed "retraining" since the conversion from Hilton to Wyndam and he was very optimistic about the hotels's future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaapgm, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear wttpwk,
What a pleasure to read your very positive review about our hotel, location and team members! You're absolutely correct in that our location right in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh is just moments away from everything Pittsburgh has to offer--from sports stadiums, to attractions, to theaters and restaurants.

Our recent conversion to the affiliation with Wyndham Grand continues to generate improvements in all facets of our hotel and team--as you generously noted.

We look forward to your return visit with your family in the future.

Thank you again,
Robert Lepore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The family really liked the Wyndham Grand Hotel. It was very clean, updated, no problems with wifi, and very efficient elevators taking us to our high-level hotel room.
Our room overlooked Point State Park, had a flat screen t.v. and dark wood furniture. The bathroom is also recently updated. They provided a business center where one could rent computers for $.30 per minute and $1.50 per page printed (with a $3.00 minimum charge). I kind of expected 3.5 Star property to have microwave/fridge in rooms.
Valet parking was $26 / night with in/out privileges. We found a lot two blocks away for half price & in/out...
The staff was friendly and able to provide directions and suggestions for places to visit.
After visiting many famous parts of Pittsburgh, my kids told me their favorite part of the whole trip was the fountain and spinning door at the hotel.

Room Tip: Priceline 77/night Memorial Day Weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaapgm, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear 7cities,
Thank you for your great comments about our hotel! It's gratifying that you enjoyed your experience with us. And so many children visiting with families absolutely love our huge revolving doors and multi-tier fountain at our front entrance. We hope they left a penny!

Thank you again for your kind words.
Robert Lepore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

When the downtown Hilton opened in Pittsburgh in 1959 next to the new Point State Park, it was representative of a city trying to reinvent itself from its smoky, industrialized past. Unfortunately, the Hilton received little attention from its owners in the 50 years that followed and the hotel sank into neglect. Fortunately, the former Hilton was reborn as the Wyndham Grand in the fall of 2010 and the new owners seem to be doing a decent job of restoring this prime downtown hotel to its former glory.
The lobby still resembles something from the Eisenhower era, but it was tastefully upgraded and was very clean and easy to navigate. We didn't use any meeting rooms or ballrooms, but they appeared to be clean and maintained. Lobby staff were impeccably and professionally dressed and greeted us as my family walked through the lobby. Our room was small by modern standards, but it was recently updated and everything was clean and in perfect working order. The room a/c struggled against the unseasonable heat, but it still kept our room temperature comfy with some coaxing. We slept soundly in the plush beds and never heard any noise from the hallway or adjacent rooms. Our view of The Point, Mt. Washington and Heinz Field was spectacular, and we enjoyed the view at night or during the day. There is a parking garage across the street from the hotel and parking was $12/day. My wife also told me that we could have rented a kayak at the front desk for paddling around the three rivers. Downtown Pittsburgh, the three pro sports arenas, the Cultural District and the Strip District were all within walking distance of the hotel. Sadly, there appeared to be no free wi-fi, as I was unable to get any sort of wi-fi signal at all in our hotel room. This was a minor quibble, and we look forward to visiting the Wyndham Grand again.

Room Tip: Ask for a south-facing room overlooking the Point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were excited about a girls weekend and decided (according to the description on a booking site) to book at the Wyndham. The description sounded somewhat opulent and we were expecting a lush room with great customer service. Check-in was slow, but somewhat friendly. We went up to our FIRST room and it had obviously been smoked in. The bathroom smelled of mildew and the room hadn't been dusted in days. We called down to the front desk and they had an unfriendly porter bring up keys to our SECOND room. He handed me the keys - turned to walk away. I asked what our new room number was and he said that it should be written inside and started to walk away - I again stopped him to ask if he wanted the old keys. He said, OH yea. We went up to our room and it again wasn't dusted (the sunshine really exposed all that) and the bathroom door was broken - the bottom track was broken - so my two year old could pull the bottom of the door out from the wall (I could just see broken fingers at some point). We were trying to accept the new room - but the kicker was when my 2 year old opened the bedside table and there were 5 or 6 open pill packets in the drawer. They were empty, but that wasn't the point. If the drawers hadn't been checked - how would be have confidence that the sheets had been changed - the bathroom cleaned, etc.
We called down for a manager who came to the room. He said that the bathroom door was just off track - and then proceeded to try to call the housekeeping manager to come up to the room. We asked him if he could do that at a different time - not with us in the room - we wanted to leave. He said he would meet us at the front desk.
At the front desk - we were told that the hotel couldn't refund us because we had booked through a third-party website and that they hadn't "been paid for the room yet." (When contacting the website, I learned that was not true - I now have to wait for the accounting office of the hotel to re-open and refund the money to the website who will then refund me.) We rebooked in an area hotel for the SAME price and had a room 2 times the size, with incredible service from a reputable hotel chain. DON'T waste your time or money here.

Room Tip: Go to Hyatt Place North Shore-don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaapgm, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear Lottesmom,
I was chagrined to read your first-ever review about your recent experience at the hotel. For your first review on TripAdvisor, I would have hoped our team would have done a great job! Please accept my apologies that you did not find the guestroom and staff to your satisifaction. Our Manager on Duty does recall the incident with the door off-track and the steps taken to provide you and your guests with a room to your satisfaction.

Unfortunately, our Front Desk staff are correct in processing refunds. If a guest pays a travel website online, a credit must be processed by the original website charging the credit card. We are unable to post a refund to a credit card that we did not initially charge.

I hope you will provide our team with the opportunity to redeem your faith in our downtown Pittsburgh hotel in the future.
Regards,
Robert Lepore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 600 Commonwealth Place, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.