We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jones Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center to your Saves list
Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Lytton Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (North Oakland)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Waggaman, Louisiana
1 review
“Jones Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My stay @ the Wyndham was 5 star great! My rental car was cool! I didn't enjoy the small planes I took

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    341
    198
    73
    28
See reviews for
434
72
44
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff are always extremely friendly and helpful. The accommodations are always clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've just completed a 4-night stay. This was my first stay at a Whyndham. I chose this hotel over my usual Hilton/Hyatt brands because it is close to the Presbyterian hospital where I had business and I was able to get a hospital patient/family rate of $119/King. I like that wi-fi is included, plus their shuttle will take you to anywhere in a 3-mile radius. I made my reservation by calling the hotel directly and asked the guy what the rack rate was and he said he had never heard the term. When I told him it was the walk-up rate, he still didn't know what I meant.

Check-in was late in the evening so no there was no waiting and I was upgraded upon request to the 9th floor (executive level) so I could be near family, for no additional charge. Executive level includes breakfast in a lounge on the same floor and it's the same items/quality you get at any other chain that has self-serve "free breakfast". Inexplicably, on the weekends they don't do the hot foods except the waffle iron.

My room was 63 degrees upon arrival but the thermostat-contolled, below-window heater-cooler got it to 68 well enough. When it kicks in, it's pretty loud. The bed was a bit on the firm side but I slept comfortably. The headboard is not padded. The four pillows were great. Room included a desk, arm chair, side chair, ottoman, entertainment center with Samsung 32" flat panel TV (plenty of ports including HDMI), 2-cup coffee maker, two night stands, full length mirror. There was an ethernet cable on the desk and extra outlets in all of the lamps. There is no microwave or minifridge. The closet had two waffle fabric robes (an executive level perk), ironing board and iron, eight hangers and extra bedding. The room was clean and in good condition except for the usual cosmetic flaws you expect (a fist-sized patch of paint blistering and rusty water drip stains on ceiling, ink stains on the carpet, heavily discolored underside of the toilet seat. Unsightly but nothing that affects comfort.) The water pressure was good and there was plenty of hot water. Walk-in shower (no tub) with nice glass doors, not acrylic. There were plenty of towels. Hair dryer. The room service was quite fast and the quality was good, although they had left somethiing off the tray and had to make a second trip.

This hotel is 25 years old and until 2013 was a Holiday Inn. It obviously got the Wyndham branding makeover and the website says the hotel has been "recently renovated." I asked a front desk attendant when the hotel was last remodeled and she didn't know. The hotel is clean and in good condition overall. The decor in the lobby and rooms is modern retro, which I find appealing. The open-air "business center" is two computers and a printer set up in the lobby. There is a "pantry" in the lobby with a cooler of drinks and some candy and chips you can buy, but that's it. There is a restaurant in the hotel, which closes between breakfast and lunch and between lunch and dinner. Room service is available for breakfast through dinner. The "fitness center" has three LifeFitness treadmills and two LifeFiitness elliptical trainers, a rack of dumbbells up to 50 lbs, one free weight bench, water, cloth towels, scale, two TVs on the walls. All of the equipment was clean and in good condition.

The service overall from the front desk was inconsistent and ranged from polite and helpful to perfunctory and on one occasion abrupt. I used the "concierge" button on the phone twice and one time there was no answer and the other time it was answered and hung up immediately. When I asked the front desk what the concierge button rang to he said, "I think" it rings to the front desk.

The shuttle service was readily available except on Friday evening when we waited 40 minutes.

I would stay here again if I had business at the hospitals or the university but I would not pay extra for the executive floor. I would have rated this hotel very good except for how my reservation was handled, the front desk service, the lack of a microwave and fridge, the restaurant closes between meals, and the quality/value of the included breakfast.

Room Tip: Potentially noisier rooms: rooms x21,x22 and x24 are right by the Club Lounge on the 9th floor; room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review!
I appreciate your detailed and thorough review of our hotel. I will use your review as a tool to reinforce and sustain the positive aspects of your guest experience; as well as to zero in on opportunities for improvement which you have outlined as needing attention. I hope to retain you as our customer and I am providing my contact information to you for any assistance I can offer in the future. We are committed to providing high level value to each of our guests, and your insights help us to sharpen our approach in all that we do.
chughes@wyndham.com
direct dial: 412. 682. 6235

Sincerely,
Coleman Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Perfect location, can walk to any location on Pitt campus. Lovely lobby, friendly, knowledgeable staff. Very clean, comfortable beds. Covered parking on premise, unfortunately, not free.
Stayed here many times, would definitely go back.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your review of the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center on TripAdvisor!
I will be sure to share your review with our staff and I appreciate that you took time to convey your guest experience on TripAdvisor!
Thank you for your business and for choosing the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center!

Best regards,

Coleman Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center

Address: 100 Lytton Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > North Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location in the heart of Pittsburgh's Oakland neighborhood and just steps from Carnegie Mellon and several world-renowned UPMC hospitals, the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center hotel exemplifies the best among Pittsburgh hotels. Travelers looking for a hotel in the center of Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and walking distance to University of Pittsburgh will find this non-smoking hotel ideal, and leisure travelers will delight in the myriad of sporting events, shopping, dining and renowned attractions offered in the Pittsburgh area and within easy reach of this hotel. After a long day of travel, guests can unwind with a relaxing dip in the heated indoor pool. Bridges Restaurant and Lounge offers upscale yet casual dining and affords guests the opportunity to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner without needing to leave the hotel. A fully equipped fitness center is available for those who like to stay active or enjoy relieving the stress of a long day of conducting business. Guests enjoy the convenience of ample parking, available for a nominal daily fee, or may choose to leave the driving to the hotel by taking advantage of the complimentary shuttle service offered within a three-mile radius of this Pittsburgh University Center hotel. Each of the 251 well-appointed guest rooms includes thoughtful amenities like plush bedding, an ergonomic work station, and free Wi-Fi Internet. Guests upgrading to an Executive Level room enjoy a private, key-access floor, plush bathrobe and access to the private club lounge. This Pittsburgh hotel features seven newly renovated meeting rooms totaling 7,333 square feet of meeting space. The event rooms range from a 400-square foot event room that comfortably seats 25 people to a 3,500 square foot ballroom that accommodates up to 600 people for a reception, 250 people for a banquet, or 30 8X10 feet exhibit booths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh University Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.