We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Hotel in Pittsburgh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center to your Saves list
Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Lytton Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (North Oakland)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    380
    229
    84
    30
See reviews for
485
84
49
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My colleagues and I held a board meeting and a three-day conference, including an evening reception, at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center in March 2014. The hotel/staff contributed to making our events successful and our stay a wonderful experience. First, the location is great. Situated next to the universities, medical facilities, museums, libraries, and great restaurants, we had everything we need to satisfy a group of 85 participants. The hotel facilities, including the meeting rooms, hotel rooms, lobby, restaurant were all well-maintained, clean, spacious, and tastefully decorated. The service was amazing… two staff (Debby the Banquet Captain and Cathy Tunon the Rooms Manager) deserves special mention -- they went above and beyond to ensure our conference needs were met and accommodate our changing schedule/menu orders/room setup. The room rates were excellent given the quality. Erin Sharpe, the Catering Manager, was so easy to work with… she responds promptly and is detailed oriented, organized, and patient -- a true professional. We did have problems with AV -- Wyndham's AV is contracted to an outside company which makes it difficult when we ran into technical problems. However, after having AV issues the first day, the AV contractor stayed after setting up to show us how to troubleshoot on our own.

Of the four conferences that my colleagues and I have organized, this was the best and this hotel was the best! I wholehearted recommend this hotel to anyone on business, vacation, or whatever.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Your review has made our day!

It is wonderful to receive confirmation from our valued clients that we have indeed accomplished our goal of providing an excellent hotel setting to conduct business, and enjoy the service and amenities which the hotel has to offer; resulting in both a productive and relaxing stay at the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center.

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

Best regards, Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed in the Wyndham with my two sons on February 15th 2014 having just driven 8 hours from New York City so my oldest son could audition the following day at Carnegie Melon for their musical theatre program. The entire ride up was in a snow storm in a rental car and I had gotten a ticket in NYC just before getting on the Lincoln Tunnel for pulling over to clean my windshield etc. and the drive was extra long due to the hazardous conditions so needless to say when we arrived almost at midnight, I was feeling very stressed. I was immediately greeted with a smile and kind words and because the hotel had several functions parking was impossible but I was immediately helped out with parking and taboot my son had a sore throat and since nothing was open nearby, The front desk person, Nicole, went into the back and came out with a role of cough drops. She was so soothing and reassuring it just made all the stress melt away. The Hotel was fabulous, the room was comfortable, clean and inviting and every time I called the front desk with questions such as how to use the shuttle service to get to the college or get a wakeup call or find an ice machine that was working, Nicole was warm and generous. The following day Cathy, rooms manager, was equally wonderful helping us secure our shuttle and return and since the audition went much later than expected she offered a later checkout to complete our absolutely fantastic experience in Pittsburgh and at the Wyndham.

Before going to Carnegie I had never been to the area and didn’t know what to expect. I feel that because of the incredible service we received at the Wyndham my son had a wonderful audition and we absolutely loved Pittsburgh. The staff went above and beyond and we really appreciated it. Unfortunately the storm had arrived in Pittsburgh that day so the drive back was equally long and stressful but we made it home safe and sound.

I want to take the time to single these fabulous people out and to say how much we loved the Hotel and will not only recommend it as well as revisit next year when my other son auditions, but really hope my oldest gets into Carnegie so I can come visit and stay at this hotel every time I do.

Thank You Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, Hotel Extraordinaire!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking time to articulate your excellent guest experience at the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center.

I am going to share your review with our team at our staff meeting, and extend kudos to Cathy and to all involved for delivering the excellent product and service standard which we hold ourselves accountable to.

Thank you again for taking time to write such a wonderful review of the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center.

Warm regards, Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a great place to stay in Pittsburgh. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was clean, quiet, well appointed and had a great view. I loved being in the heart of the University Center. The Cathedral of Learning was just down the block, I was able to walk to all of my meetings on campus and it was a short walk to the restaurants and shopping on Forbes Avenue. I look forward to staying here again on my next trip to the University.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Your review made my day! Thank you very much for taking time to write it.

We use the word "excellent" often here at the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center. We strive to streamline our processes to be easy to do business with, and look for ways to always be focused and centered on our customers. Internally we discuss the difference between a "good hotel stay" and an "excellent hotel stay." Suffice it to say that seeing the title of your review "Excellent Customer Service" serves as an indicator that our efforts are directed in the right areas.

Thank you again and warm regards, Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at the Wyndham University Center a week ago and had an amazing experience. From the moment we checked in until the time we checked out, we couldn't have had a more positive experience. The staff was courteous, attentive, and demonstrated a genuine love for their job. Cathy Tunon went above and beyond to make sure that we had everything we needed to make our stay most enjoyable. We stayed in an executive level guest room which provided wonderful views of the city and were greeted with a warm welcome from Stacie in the private club lounge upon arrival. Although the hotel has an exceptional Pittsburgh location, we took advantage of the complimentary shuttle service during the snow storm and Jack graciously drove us to the Carnegie Museum of Art. We will definitely stay here when visiting Pittsburgh.
Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center!

I am going to share your review with our staff at our daily meeting today, and extend kudos to Cathy and Jack for their excellent service to you!

We appreciate your business very much and realize you have several choices in the market. We will strive to always be your venue of choice extending the highest degree of hospitality and standards of excellence to our loyal guests such as yourself.

Warm regards, Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights, while my husband was working at the university. Rooms were spacious and everything was clean. We got to be in the 9th floor, what was perfect for us having a small baby (access to the lounge with microwave and drinks available the whole day long). Wonderfully remolded!! We missed just the sauna (they used to have it but it disappered when they renued it). Location is perfect!

Room Tip: Go for the 9th floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your stay at the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center!

I am so pleased that we were the perfect venue for your family during your visit to the area. Thank you very much for your business, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again!

Warm regards, Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center

Address: 100 Lytton Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > North Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location in the heart of Pittsburgh's Oakland neighborhood and just steps from Carnegie Mellon and several world-renowned UPMC hospitals, the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center hotel exemplifies the best among Pittsburgh hotels. Travelers looking for a hotel in the center of Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and walking distance to University of Pittsburgh will find this non-smoking hotel ideal, and leisure travelers will delight in the myriad of sporting events, shopping, dining and renowned attractions offered in the Pittsburgh area and within easy reach of this hotel. After a long day of travel, guests can unwind with a relaxing dip in the heated indoor pool. Bridges Restaurant and Lounge offers upscale yet casual dining and affords guests the opportunity to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner without needing to leave the hotel. A fully equipped fitness center is available for those who like to stay active or enjoy relieving the stress of a long day of conducting business. Guests enjoy the convenience of ample parking, available for a nominal daily fee, or may choose to leave the driving to the hotel by taking advantage of the complimentary shuttle service offered within a three-mile radius of this Pittsburgh University Center hotel. Each of the 251 well-appointed guest rooms includes thoughtful amenities like plush bedding, an ergonomic work station, and free Wi-Fi Internet. Guests upgrading to an Executive Level room enjoy a private, key-access floor, plush bathrobe and access to the private club lounge. This Pittsburgh hotel features seven newly renovated meeting rooms totaling 7,333 square feet of meeting space. The event rooms range from a 400-square foot event room that comfortably seats 25 people to a 3,500 square foot ballroom that accommodates up to 600 people for a reception, 250 people for a banquet, or 30 8X10 feet exhibit booths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham and Despegar.com so you can book your Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh University Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.