We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pittsburgh-Oakland Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center to your Saves list
Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Lytton Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (North Oakland)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Leechburg
1 review
“Pittsburgh-Oakland Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

While the rooms were comfortable and clean, the hotel is understaffed and some staff members are downright rude. Good location: The hotel is convenient to the University of Pittsburgh, museums and several wedding venues. Wyndham is remodeling much of this previous Holiday Inn. In addition to paying attention to facility Wyndham needs to increase staffing and train them in customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your visit to our hotel. We do apologize for your disappointment relative to our guest service. Your feedback is valuable and we will work on making the necessary improvements. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    341
    198
    74
    28
See reviews for
434
72
44
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My experience is based on the following touch-points:

1. Arrival, waited in-line for a fairly long queue of people at reception. Wasn't too bad... maybe 10 mins... but no apology, no welcome and a fairly exhausted front-desk rep rushing me through being checked in. Ok... but not great.

2. I arrived around 10pm-ish. Front-desk was backed up, as in the point above. Asked about the bar and food (closed), room service (none), but did get useful and accurate descriptions to a bar 10 mins walk away where I could get some food and a beer. Mixed here... crappy service in the hotel, but useful guidance/help in the circumstances.

3. Booked a cab via front-desk to go visit a client the other side of town. I was a little nervous based on the service above. But the cab arrived, the front-desk called me promptly and did an efficient job.

4. Left in the morning for a meeting at 9am... came back at 2pm.... room not cleaned, but cleaners next door. Worked from the room for 2.5 hours and listening to the cleaners VERY LOUDLY walking up and down the corridor talking, socializing and little cleaning. Went for a run, had a shower. Left at 5.15pm to go out for the evening, removed the "do not disturb". Returned at 9.30pm.. room not cleaned. I get the scheduling problems, but never experienced this is any hotel, any level, before.

Mixed bag... I'd rate them poor. Maybe lower, but hey, it ain't the 4-seasons.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate the time and effort involved for you to write such a thoughtful review of your experience at our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the facility. Obviously, the few issues you encountered fell short of our normal standards. Your feedback is useful in our efforts for continuous improvement. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Ho Kus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

had a terrible experience
prior to staying was going to join the wyndham club not now
room was neat/ tidy but was not a superior room and definitely not worth 209 /night before taxes
we were with a wedding party but were allowed only one night at the wedding rate as there were (no more block rooms available for the second night)
the next morning we were called by the front desk to inquire as to when we were checking out .
had to stand in line for 15 min to straighten out the mistake
after attending the wedding we came back to our room to fine out we were locked out ... back down to the front desk 15 min in line again to find out the cards were "deactivated " no apology offered ; instead the clerk offered wisdom
"cards do periodically become deactivated "



  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for the feedback and I am sorry that things did not go well. I would like to speak with you to better understand the circumstances. Please contact me at your convenience. My email address is mcurd@wyndham.com. I look forward hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center

Address: 100 Lytton Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > North Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location in the heart of Pittsburgh's Oakland neighborhood and just steps from Carnegie Mellon and several world-renowned UPMC hospitals, the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center hotel exemplifies the best among Pittsburgh hotels. Travelers looking for a hotel in the center of Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and walking distance to University of Pittsburgh will find this non-smoking hotel ideal, and leisure travelers will delight in the myriad of sporting events, shopping, dining and renowned attractions offered in the Pittsburgh area and within easy reach of this hotel. After a long day of travel, guests can unwind with a relaxing dip in the heated indoor pool. Bridges Restaurant and Lounge offers upscale yet casual dining and affords guests the opportunity to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner without needing to leave the hotel. A fully equipped fitness center is available for those who like to stay active or enjoy relieving the stress of a long day of conducting business. Guests enjoy the convenience of ample parking, available for a nominal daily fee, or may choose to leave the driving to the hotel by taking advantage of the complimentary shuttle service offered within a three-mile radius of this Pittsburgh University Center hotel. Each of the 251 well-appointed guest rooms includes thoughtful amenities like plush bedding, an ergonomic work station, and free Wi-Fi Internet. Guests upgrading to an Executive Level room enjoy a private, key-access floor, plush bathrobe and access to the private club lounge. This Pittsburgh hotel features seven newly renovated meeting rooms totaling 7,333 square feet of meeting space. The event rooms range from a 400-square foot event room that comfortably seats 25 people to a 3,500 square foot ballroom that accommodates up to 600 people for a reception, 250 people for a banquet, or 30 8X10 feet exhibit booths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh University Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.