We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Pittsburgh South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Pittsburgh South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Pittsburgh South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 Fort Couch Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15241 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select) (Mount Lebanon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We travel frequently into Pittsburgh to visit an ailing relative and this hotel is perfect as far as location, cleanliness and service. After a long drive, we had dinner on site and was pleasantly surprised by the salmon salad. Delicious, light and to cap it off, our waitress provided me with a cup of hot tea I could take back to the room upon my request. There is a coffee bar available in the lobby and the entryway to this hotel is clean and decorated stylishly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill E, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Pittsburgh South, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on our hotel! We are glad to know that you were happy with our location, cleanliness and service. For most people travelling into the South Hills, our location provides easy access to a great variety of attractions, shopping, and dining. Even though we are near so many restaurants, we are delighted to see that you chose to dine in the hotel and were pleasantly surprised by the food and service provided in Pj's Grille.

Again, we appreciate your input and we'll make sure we share it with our service staff. Please let me know if you should ever need assistance with a return visit.

Best Regards,

Bill Engel
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    81
    35
    19
    14
See reviews for
81
54
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I went to Pittsburgh mid January for a family event and a family member volunteered to reserve the hotel rooms so I didn't do any research prior to showing up. If I had I would have realized that for the money there are better places to stay.

The rooms were nice and clean but nothing extra special. My biggest complaint was with the staff, they all acted like they had been stuck in traffic for the last 20 years! My room rate included breakfast, and when I pulled out the coupon, the waiter instantly could have cared less about us being there. A friendly and courteous staff goes a long way in influencing my overall opinion of a hotel, and this one didn't quite make par.

Not a bad property, and the location was great, but I will try somewhere else on my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill E, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Pittsburgh South, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We appreciate your taking time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. Feedback provides our best measurement to ensure that we deliver the services and amenities that our guests expect. Please accept our apologies for the server not attending to your needs in a timely or courteous manner. We sell a significant number of packages that include breakfast, and I really can't explain why a breakfast coupon would change the way you were treated. In any case we're sorry that we missed the opportunity to provide the level of service you should expect. We typically get positive feedback regarding our staff being friendly and attentive, so this comes as a bit of a surprise.

On a positive note, we are happy to see that you found our rooms to be clean and our location to be great! When your travels bring you back this way, please feel free to contact me to make your room arrangements. I am confident that, given a second opportunity, you will have a more positive opinion of our service staff!

Again, thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay. We review all guest comments with our staff so that we continue to improve.

Best Regards,

Bill Engel
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Class of 77 from Upper St Clair High School "took over" the Crowne Plaza during the weekend of October 26-28, 2012! Everything from the rooms to the rented ballroom and the staff was perfect. The King Bed room I had was great. Everything very clean and updated. We were partying in the lobby at 3am even after the bar closed at 2:20am. The Sunday Brunch is fantastic. I had such a memorable weekend, thanks to the our Reunion organizers and the Staff at The Crowne Plaza!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cppghsouth, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Pittsburgh South, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We really appreciate your comments regarding the great time you had at The Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh South! Our staff really enjoyed having the USC Class of '77 stay with us. You certainly had an excellent turnout! We were delighted to host the festivities, and by all accounts everyone was quite happy with the hotel services and facilities. We have a convenient location for reunions, and I know that there were a few of your classmates walking across the street to mall to find attire and accessories for the reunion…

Keep us in mind for your 40th Reunion! We'd love to have your class return for a repeat!

Again, thanks for taking time to post your feedback! Please contact me directly if we may be of assistance for a future visit!

Best Regards,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Lobby fresh and new. Room small. Bathroom updated but tub needed refinishing. Why do hotels add standard size shower curtains to the rounded shower rods (i.e., don't fit). Highly promoted as premier property in Pittsburgh. Not sure why. Location was good for us as close to family. The dining room service was slower than a turtle's pace. Manager on duty asked about our stay but I felt he was ready to "pounce" on whatever comment I would share so I just said, "fine". Also beds were very soft and uncomfortable. Paid best AAA available rate and way overpaid compared to comparable properties in a just a bit further locations. This hotel is not convenient to downtown Pittsburgh though promoted as not congested as the downtown properties (are congested). Even with thermostate adjustements, either too hot or too cold.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cppghsouth, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Pittsburgh South, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit to Pittsburgh. We are looking into your comments regarding the shower curtain size and tub to see what we can do to improve the experience for future guests. Please accept my apologies for the slower service in our restaurant. Although we are generally prepared for the higher volume that weekends bring, we must have been caught off-guard at some point while you were here. We are also looking into your thermostat comment. We have a thorough preventative maintenance program, but this time of year, it is possible that something went wrong and the unit needs to be replaced.

We really do try to solicit feedback from our guests throughout their stay. It helps us to provide a better experience while they are here and it also provides insight into how we may provide better service in the future. Perhaps at times we are too assertive in asking how we are doing.

Again, thank you for telling us about your experience. We would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again. If your travels permit, please contact me directly. I’d be happy to assist!


Best regards,
Bill Engel
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My sister lives close to this hotel and we stayed here while visiting. We got two adjoining rooms. Was very clean and the service was good. Rooms are a little smaller than we like, but functional. It's your basic hotel and we didn't experience the restaurant or gym, but it's centrally located in the middle of everything in south Pittsburgh near where we needed to be. We would stay here again when visiting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was not the first visit to this hotel. Our son lives a short distance from here and we initially picked it for convenience and ammenities. We have discovered not only clean rooms with great service, but personable service is here. The hotel front desk, restaurant and housekeeping are outstanding. Our room was up to spec every single day. Our car keys were dropped in the parking lot and found after we checked out. The mailman delivered them to the front desk and the manager made sure, after we told him the situation, and extra effort of rechecking our room and with the housekeeping services, that those keys were mailed to our home..no charge!! This deserves extra effort award! Location is convenient to shopping and city transit as well.

Room Tip: Make sure if you have AAA that you tell them upfront. I did not and they were nice enough to redo th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Simple hotel with nice and helpful staff. Good restaurant for breakfast or brunch. Beds were comfortable and they had a business office to print boarding passes. Vending downstairs for sundries and water, etc.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Pittsburgh South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Pittsburgh South

Address: 164 Fort Couch Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15241 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Mount Lebanon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Pittsburgh South 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary suburban, full service hotel is conveniently situated in the South Hills, just 7 miles to downtown Pittsburgh. We feature the latest in lodging decor and technology with comfortable accommodations, executive suites and extended stay residences. We have recently upgraded our bedding and have added 37" flat screen TVs with an incredible high definition programming package! We’re located in the beautiful South Hills area within walking distance to upscale shopping, theaters, and restaurants. There is plenty to do from the convenience of our hotel. With light rail transportation service located within walking distance, a trip into downtown Pittsburgh is both convenient and hassle-free. Take time to see why we are, once again, Rand McNally’s "Most Livable City." Explore world class galleries, museums and cultural venues or catch a game with the Pittsburgh Pirates at PNC Park, Pittsburgh Penguins at Consol Energy Center or Pittsburgh Steelers and Pittsburgh Panthers at Heinz Field only a short drive from our hotel. We have an intriguing variety of rooms and suites. PJ's Grille & Bar delivers gourmet cuisine as well a casual fare in a comfortable atmosphere. Join us, in season, at our outdoor poolside patio bar "PJ's Back Porch" offering weekend specials from 5 PM till closing. Our meeting & convention services are sure to exceed your expectations. The latest in style and functionality are yours to experience whether you are planning your wedding, graduation, reunion, or corporate meeting. Our facilities and professional planning staff anticipate your needs. We offer the perfect location for your bridal or baby shower, and can accommodate your function while pampering your out of town quests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Pittsburgh South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Pittsburgh South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.