We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Holiday Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15220 (Formerly Clarion Hotel & Conference Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Pittsburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I understand the location was newly renovated and you can tell—in a good way. Everything had a new appearance. The lobby was attractive and the rooms comfortable.

The bar/restaurant mentioned in the hotel's description is essentially part of the front lobby. An "open concept" design seems, to me an odd choice for a small hotel without a second, more intimate option. But I'm arguably nitpicking here.

The staff I interacted with were all a pleasure. Jenelle at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Surprisingly rare qualities in a postion that shouldn't be anything else. The bartender, Will I think, was a delight. I'd stay there again just to get more of this signature drink he made me.

My only real complaint was the location. Halfway between the downtown and airport may sound good in theory, in practice, it doesn't put the hotel near anything. And traffic can make going into downtown a 30 minute trip. Not ideal.

Pros: freshly renovated, friendly staff, good bar, comfortable rooms

Cons: unideal location

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William T, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you Liam for taking the time to share with others about the excellent experience that you had while staying with us. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the newest IHG Full Service hotel in the region and, with that the clean, comfortable and friendly service that guests come to expect whenever they stay at the Crowne Plaza hotel. I have already passed along your praise of the staff, including Will & Jennell to the rest of the staff here in order to congratulate them on a job well done. We hope that you will stay with us in the not-so-distant future.
William Theiss
Front Office Manager
TheissW@CPpittsburghwest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
3
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My group recently held a three day training at the facility. The hotel staff went over and above the call of duty to ensure that our needs were addressed. They were responsive to any and all requests, even to the point of running out to the store to get more batteries when the microphone battery died. The food was excellent each day and was served efficiently and with a smile. I will definitely hold more events here. We felt well cared for by the staff who seemed to genuinely want to be sure that everything went smoothly.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William T, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you Lori for taking the time to share with others about the recent conference that we hosted. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy everything the hotel has to offer, and have passed along your praise to Helen & the rest of the staff here in order to congratulate them on a job well done. We hope that you will continue to allow us to serve you in the future.
William Theiss
Front Office Manager
TheissW@CPpittsburghwest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The thing that stood out: requested an accessible room. Arrived after 4 p.m. and was told room was not ready . . . they'be been cleaning all day. You'll have to wait until it's cleaned. We settled for a non-accessible room. Breakfasts not included here. After asking the desk clerk about breakfasts, I asked if I'd made a mistake, was the room we got really accessible (it had a grab bar in the tub). No, he said, but let me make it up to you and he provided chits for free breakfasts for two; I wangled those into two days' worth of free breakfasts. No fridge in room; no arm chair. Otherwise, the stay was good. WiFi excellent. Room and hotel newly remodeled, clean, pleasant, quiet. Breakfast was good. Given the rate, we'd stay here again IF we didn't have to contend with terrible traffic getting to this west-side hotel via the Ft. Pitt tunnel, to be avoided at all cost during rush hour. Traffic was not stop-and-go: it was just STOP.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William T, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us recently, and I would like to take this moment to apologize for the experience that you had while staying with us. We always try to have as many rooms available to checkin by 3pm, however when a specific request or room is asked, sometimes there are occasions that the rooms are still being cleaned after 3pm. I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with the alternative room, and the breakfasts that I was happy to let you wrangle. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Pittsburgh!

William Theiss
Front Office Manager
TheissW@CPpittsburghwest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My room was clean and well decorated, but the shining star of this hotel is the staff! Jay at the front desk is friendly, and professional job. A great find for the hotel, incredible customer service.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William T, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Ms Long for taking the time to share with others here about your fabolus experience here at the Crowne Plaza. It was a pleasure talking to you the other day, and thank you again for your positive comments that I have shared with Jay and the rest of the staff here to congratulate them on a job well done. We hope that you will continue to go past your company's per diem and see why we are quickly becoming one of the best kept secrets here in Pittsburgh!
William Theiss
Front Office Manager
TheissW@CPpittsburghwest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed with my daughter while visiting Pitt. The Crowne Plaza was clean with a good sized room. Jay the night clerk was super helpful. Breakfast is provided. I would stay here again. I stayed with my daughter while visiting Pitt. The Crowne Plaza was clean with a good sized room. Jay the night clerk was super helpful. Breakfast is provided. I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William T, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you Jeff for taking the time to share with others about your recent stay here in Pittsburgh. We are honored that you thought so highly of us and have passed along your praise of Jay & the hotel to the rest of the staff here to congratulate them on a job well done. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in town! (and don't forget, we do offer discounts to PITT Parents)
William Theiss
Front Office Manager
TheissW@CPpittsburghwest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tionesta, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although the decor was nice in the rooms, it was still sightly shabby. Our first room the light fixture was falling out of the wall. We changed rooms about 15 minutes after arriving. There was construction going on the entire time directly below our room. The ac was so loud it was almost intolerable. There was no mini fridge, I thought this was odd. I also found a staple in the sheets of the bed. Which makes me wonder about the overall cleanliness of the beds. I did not go to the bar, therefore I can't comment on that portion of the hotel. On a positive note, the shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water. I would most likely choose a different hotel next time I am in town for business.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William T, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent stay here at the newly opened Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West. I would like to personally apologize that your stay with us was not a Excellent stay. We have finished up the majority of our construction, however there are moments that the contracting crews can overlook and disappointed that your stay was affected by this. We never want to have a guest leave us unhappy and if you could contact me, I would love to give you another opportunity on showing you why we are one of the best kept secrets here in Pittsburgh!
William Theiss
Front Office Manager
412-922-8100 x195
TheissW@CPpittsburghwest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We travel through Pittsburgh regularly but this was our first stay here and we had a great time. The room is nice and the amenities are a good value. The lobby is great and while limited beverage-wise, the restaurant actually had really great food (you have to try the fries!). We enjoyed our stay it was quiet, clean, and convenient.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William T, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you Bryan for staying with us on your recent stay. I would like to thank you for your positive comments about the room and your liking of our Loaded Fries at Bistro 401. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time your travels brings you back to the area!
William Theiss
Front Office Manager
TheissW@CPpittsburghwest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree

Address: 401 Holiday Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15220 (Formerly Clarion Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown Pittsburgh has to offer at the convenient, comfortable, and newly renovated Crowne Plaza Hotel Green Tree. You are at the heart of everything, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within minutes from Downtown Pittsburgh, Science Center, PNC Park, Console Arena, Heinz Field, Convention Center, The historic Strip District and much more. Getting there has to be fast and convenient too. Only 10 miles for Pittsburgh International Airport, you'll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Pittsburgh to do. And there is easy access to Interstate 376. Whether you're coming to Pittsburgh for business or just fun, your room at our Crowne Plaza Hotel will be your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, state of the art work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and everyday starts right. You can take a dip in our pool, relax with a cool one at Bistro 401 lounge, and when its time to dine you can enjoy a one of a kind dining adventure at Bistro 401. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Green Tree also offers 12,000 square feet of meeting space. Our Destination Specialists will be there every step of the way to ensure your event is a success. The best of Pittsburgh is waiting for you at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Green Tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.