We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Holiday Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15220 (Formerly Clarion Hotel & Conference Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Knoxville Tn
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Clean but disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last year while they were remodeling and had no problems at all. This time, it was very disappointing. The rooms were sufficient and clean but the a/c was too loud and right next to the bed. I had to put a pillow on the side to keep the cold air from hitting me in the face. I requested an accessible room for the grab bars in the bathroom. It also had a roll in shower, which would be very convenient for someone in a wheelchair, however, the water runs all over the floor while you're showering. The night we checked in, I took my shoes off to go into the bathroom and the carpet in front of the bathroom was soaked. There is also no room in the bathroom to put toiletries, nor is there a place in the shower to hold your soap. The breakfast was hot and the breakfast room large enough to accomodate many people at a time.

Room Tip: I was at the end of the hall on the first floor in the back of the hotel. I was wakened by garbage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionhotel15220, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear jeetn,

Thank you for your recent review. We are in the process of creating a plan to make our handicap accessible rooms more efficient to our guests. We use all guest feedback to conduct additional training for our team members. We look forward in seeing you again in the near future.


Sincerely,

Jennifer Yocum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    40
    44
    52
    57
See reviews for
51
63
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We come to Pittsburgh from Columbus to go to a baseball game. This time it happened to be for our anniversary. I made reservations with this hotel again as it is not a far drive to PNC Park. I thought I'd give it another chance. Last time we stayed there was no power for a day and a half which meant no air conditioning. But, on Sunday morning before we left we had a nice breakfast of scrambled eggs, bacon, hash browns, etc which was rather nice.
We stayed there this past weekend. I had asked for a smoking room as it was advertised. That was a no. There was a stench throughout the hotel. Couldn't figure out what it was. The elevator scared me a couple of times, and I don't scare easily. Sunday morning breakfast. We were all set for what we had before. We walked in, there were foam plates for us to use, not real ones, with plastic utensils. I got to the hot food, and there was only French toast and sausage. The French toast was tough and chewy, the sausage wasn't real.....I didn't finish it all. I drank half a cup of coffee, left and went to McDonalds.
Next time we come into town, I'm finding another hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a little more.....it will be worth it to stay some where else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionhotel15220, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Becky S,

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to offer us your feedback. We have been a 100% Non-Smoking Hotel for at least two years. We offer two hot items plus make your own waffles on our buffet everyday and those options vary through out the week. We have never offered hash browns at our location. We hope the next time you are in Pittsburgh you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Yocum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our entire summer vacation was spent at Choicepoint hotels and I honestly have to say that this was the most disappointing.

Some renovations had been done in the rooms, but the exterior of this hotel was seriously beat up. A banner type sign told us that this was a Clarion. The elevator gave us a couple of scares when it could not line up to the correct floor and had to adjust before the door would open. Our hotel room was clean, but our bathroom sink sprayed hot water at high velocity at just a slight turn of the tap. The dining area offered a decent enough breakfast, but the solarium areas were filled with dirt - a total turnoff when eating. The fact that the bar was "Cash Only" was not a good sign, either.

The one bright spot during our stay was the hotel clerk. She was extremely helpful and pleasant. I have a feeling that if she could be cloned, this Clarion might turn itself around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionhotel15220, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear TravelingTrioFromCT,

I would like to thank you so much for taking your valuable time to offer us your feedback. Thank you for recognizing one of our desk clerks. We are making changes to better the property in all aspects. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Pittsburgh.

Yours In Hospitality,

Jennifer Yocum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This property is somewhat difficult to get to, but is worth the inconvenience if you are in need of a good value. The hotel was once a full service property...looks like an old HI. Most of the rooms are recently re-furbished/upgraded. Room rates are very attractive and the breakfast is above average. The outside of the property is in rough shape, but the lobby and rooms are much better. Hallways have stains on the carpet, and the elevator is really slow. My room was clean, and bedding comfortable. Every time I stay here, there are noticeable improvements.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionhotel15220, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Elodis,

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us again while visiting the Pittsburgh Area. We appreciate for taking your valuable time to offer us your feedback from your recent stay with us. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Pittsburgh Area.


Yours In Hospitality,

Jennifer Yocum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice place to stay for one night, out side of downtown Pitt
Clean
Good Breakfast buffet
Big Rooms
Outside looks a little run down
Inside much nicer
Only problem was the tub filled with water while showering, slow drain

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionhotel15220, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Boo324,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to offer us your feedback from your recent stay at the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Pittsburgh Area.

Yours In Hospitality,

Jennifer Yocum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Quiet hotel. Had to wait almost 30 min for room to be ready upon our arrival. We also experienced multiple problems with our keys working (don't put in wallet or near your phone). Stained rugs everywhere. Overall ok for a few nights in Pittsburgh. Not close to downtown. The bartender was really friendly and gave great advice on places to visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionhotel15220, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear tbreault,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting the Pittsburgh area. We appreciate you taking your valuable time to offer your feedback. We look forward in seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Yocum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pittsburgh was our first stop of a week long road trip. We had tickets to the Pirates day game and needed a reasonable priced hotel for the night. We snagged a $60 room rate at the Clarion...this was the first time I booked a room without checking Trip Advisor first. The reviews had me very worried...but we kept our reservation.

We arrived at the hotel on Sunday 8/18 around 5 p.m. using our GPS from the ballpark...no trouble finding it...still wondering why others have said they had difficulty locating it. The parking lot was empty...maybe 10 cars total...could use some minor maintenance. The lobby looked renovated...modern furniture and a big flat screen tv. We were checked in immediately by a young man who was not overly welcoming...barely made eye contact...not a people person at all. We were given a voucher for "buy one get one free drink" at their lounge and told the hours of breakfast the next morning. The elevator is very old...in desperate need of being updated. Our room was actually decent. It appeared clean with newer furniture. The bathroom was spotless. The ceiling/walls could use a coat of paint...probably the only fault in the room. The AC unit worked well...the room was actually freezing! As we walked the halls in search of an ice machine...I did see the rooms that others complained about. Some had "sticker numbers" as the room number...the ones you'd see on a mailbox or something. Other rooms had broken door handles/locks and there was at least one room with the door cracked open that was quite messy. Hallways could use cleaning and painting. We went to each floor to find an ice machine only to find out that the only one available was on the first floor. Quite a waste of time...they should update their hotel information books. We visited the Rivers Casino that night and arrived back at the hotel in time to take advantage of our drink voucher. The lounge was dead..it was a basic room with a bar and tables/chairs...two other people having a drink...felt bad for the bartender. We actually got a great night's sleep and took advantage of the free breakfast in the morning. Simple choices...breads, bagels, eggs, sausage, fruit, oatmeal/cereal, waffles, etc... The waffle maker didn't have any mix set up on the table...if I really wanted it I would have asked. The pastries were ice cold...like they came out of the freezer...there was a microwave available. The woman working the buffet wasn't overly friendly. Again...the place was dead...only a few people in the dining area. There was a leak in the ceiling with a trash can in the middle of the floor to catch the water...should get that fixed. We checked out early with no issues.

If you're looking for a "no frills" hotel at a reasonable rate located outside of downtown Pittsburgh...this would be the place. It definitely needs improvements and updates, but if you're as lucky as us and get a decent room...it's not so bad. It was sufficient for us for just the one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionhotel15220, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Kristine_LongIsland,

I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to offer us your feedback regarding your recent stay at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center. Without hearing back from our guests we would be unable to make corrections or celebrate our success. We look forward in seeing you again!

Yours In Hospitality,

Jennifer Yocum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree

Address: 401 Holiday Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15220 (Formerly Clarion Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown Pittsburgh has to offer at the convenient, comfortable, and newly renovated Crowne Plaza Hotel Green Tree. You are at the heart of everything, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within minutes from Downtown Pittsburgh, Science Center, PNC Park, Console Arena, Heinz Field, Convention Center, The historic Strip District and much more. Getting there has to be fast and convenient too. Only 10 miles for Pittsburgh International Airport, you'll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Pittsburgh to do. And there is easy access to Interstate 376. Whether you're coming to Pittsburgh for business or just fun, your room at our Crowne Plaza Hotel will be your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, state of the art work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and everyday starts right. You can take a dip in our pool, relax with a cool one at Bistro 401 lounge, and when its time to dine you can enjoy a one of a kind dining adventure at Bistro 401. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Green Tree also offers 12,000 square feet of meeting space. Our Destination Specialists will be there every step of the way to ensure your event is a success. The best of Pittsburgh is waiting for you at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Green Tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.