We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Locale, Needs a Minor Facelift” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Holiday Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15220 (Formerly Clarion Hotel & Conference Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice Locale, Needs a Minor Facelift”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My family stayed at the Clarion hotel for one night before we closed escrow on a new Pittsburgh area hotel. We chose the Clarion because of its proximity to the new home and also because of the price. to our surprise, it was a very nice hotel with a well-stocked exercise room, strong free wifi, attractive rooms, and a very nice complimentary breakfast. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only complaint is the lack of a ventilation fan in the bathroom which left every surface in the bathroom very moist after my shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor, the back parking lot is at the same level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionhotel15220, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear BeawChan,

Thank you for the positive review! We are minutes from downtown close to all the area attractions. We hope if you need accomodations in the future you will stay with us again!


Sincerely,


Jennifer Yocum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    40
    44
    52
    57
See reviews for
51
63
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Seriously. I can't remember staying at a hotel that was in such disrepair. Our room had a broken desk, a lose electrical outlet that didn't work, a bathroom sink that wasn't attached to the base, a toilet seat that was peeling, a rusted out bathtub drain, along with an unusual odor in the room. Thy offered to move us to a different room but when we looked at it, it wasn't ant better. It actually had exposed plumbing pipes in the ceiling. All the doors down all hallways had gashes in the frame, some without door handles or anything at all where they normally would have been. The breakfast was probably the only redeeming thing about this hotel along with the front desk staff as they were VERY nice. Overall definitely NOT worth the rate charged per night!

Room Tip: Read the reviews and note how current the review is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionhotel15220, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Carrie S,

Thank you for your review. I will speak with the Executive Housekeeper regarding the issues you experienced and these issues should have been taken care of before our guests are checked into their room. Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our front desk staff and breakfast. We hope the next time you are in Pittsburgh you would give us another chance!

Sincerely,

Jennifer Yocum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We should have taken a cue from the nearly empty parking lot and the sad and dingy appearance of the exterior. But once inside, it seemed this place MIGHT be acceptable. Oh my, how WRONG we were. Sadly, we had pre-paid for a one week stay.

Just to list a FEW of the issues:
• Key cards stopped working each day...necessitating a long walk to the front desk. We were repeatedly told that we must have kept the card near our cell phone. After Day One, we kept it in my husband's shirt pocket away from ALL electronics and magentics. Still, we had to have it restored each day at the front desk.
• Ants in the room. Finally insisted on being moved when we discovered the back of the curtains were smeared with clumps of something like Nacho Cheese / CheeseWhiz substance. Afraid to think about what the substance was, but housekeeping had clearly overlooked it for a long period of time.
• Exterior entry door security pad did not work...staff said it's been that way for a couple years. Customers propped it open for easy access...unfortunately allowing anyone to enter the building at all hours. Other exterior entry door was purposefully kept UNLOCKED 24/7...again, leaving the building completely lacking in security for its customers.
• Two elevators: One was completely out of order for the week (note that reviews of this property dated 2011 also mention the out of order elevator.) The other elevator was so poorly maintained that I was afraid to get on it. Dirty, dark, and clunky. Fully expected it would stop operating completely like the other elevator.
• Sopping wet carpeting in the main corridor (approximately 30 to 40 feet worth of the hallway). Happened more than once and was always located in front of the hotel's Laundry and Maintenance area. A thick hose running from laundry area across the hall to a guest room led us to believe that they were draining their laundry facilities into one of the unoccupied guest rooms and the hose was coming loose or leaking sending gallons of water across the hallway carpet.
• Perhaps 4 out of 7 days, we did not receive any coffee supplies. We had a coffeemaker, but no cups, no coffee, no sugar, etc.
• Room was often half-cleaned...no vacuuming, no cleaning of the bathroom.
The ONLY positive note in this experience were three staff members who did their darnedest to make things right: Travis, Marquis, and Jamie. Clearly these three are handicapped by woefully inadequate hotel ownership and management. I expect this hotel will be gone before the year is out. It is a scary place. NOT WORTH THE PRICE....no matter what the PRICE!!!!!
We caution you to stay away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionhotel15220, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear AffiniaFan,

I am so sorry you were not happy with your recent stay and I am really surprised you did not ask to speak with me if you were this unhappy! I am on site 6 days a week even weekends. I am glad you were happy with 3 of our staff members. We did have an issue where our laundry drain backed up and immediately called Roto Rooter out to fix the issue who was there 6 hours the first night and 3 hours Saturday to finally fix the issue. Then 4 days later the issue happened again! This was out of our control and in the hands of other company. I suggest for all of our guests if you are unhappy to please speak with me directly I am always available.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Yocum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I think this was a Sheraton Last year. The Clarion is under renovation. Room 225 has all new
Furniture and is tastefully decorated. Sheets were clean, no problems with towels.
Now for the nitpickers. The Reno Crew got paint on the brand new drapes. The Bezel for the tub control is flopping around. The TP holder is partially installed incorrectly so that it cant hold TP.
Tub joint needs to be re-caulked. The TV is not a flat screen.

I rate this Hotel VG because of the Price, 71.17 all taxes included!
(Booked online)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionhotel15220, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Zottlander,

Thank you for your positive review. I do appreciate that you included the room number so I can personally inspect that room and have our Chief Engineer fix the issues in that room. We look forward to having you stay with us when you are in Pittsburgh again!

Sincerely,

Jennifer Yocum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel itself was very nice and clean. Nothing amazing but we were there to sleep not to live in. The main elevator was broken more then it was working and with 3 small kids having to walk out of the way to get to the other elevator was kind of a pain and stairs was not an option. When we first got there, there was a beeping but we couldn't find where it was coming from. Finally found the smoke detector beeping under the sink in the bathroom! We called down and the maintenance man came right up and changed batteries and put it back on the wall. Went out after the first night for the day and came back to no maid service! The bathroom floor was soaked from showers (the shower curtain rail is for a round tub so the curtain was useless and left the floor wet) so we used towel to soak up the water. We needed clean towels. Also we have 2 kids in diapers and needed the garbage to be changed since smelly dirty diapers were in them. The beds weren't made which was less of an issue for us since we would be sleeping there again that night, no need for clean sheets. Called down to front desk and was told cleaning staff was gone for the day and we must have had the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door...we didn't, it was hanging in the closet! They said they would send someone up. No one ever came! On the plus side, the free breakfast in the morning was very yummy. Again it was clean and nice. I am not picky when it comes to hotels when I travel as long as it's clean but wasn't thrilled about our stay. Hoping it was just an off weekend. Oh and the beds are only doubles...very small for 2 adults and 3 kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionhotel15220, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Pamela J,

Thank you for your review. I do apoligize you had a bad experience with housekeeping not getting service on your second day of stay. I spoke with our Executive Housekeeper regarding this matter. The elevator needs parts that we are waiting for them to arrive to get fixed. I hope in the future you will stay with us again when you come back to Pittsburgh.


Sincerely,

Jennifer Yocum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am in the Hotel as I write this review. First off this Hotels Main problem is it is not maintained properly. When I first checked in the Heater would not turn on. Then Only One Ice Machine thats works is on the second floor. The 1st and 3rd floors do not work. The toliet sticks and the tank does not fill up with water unless you lift the top and do it manually. The room had no do not disturb sign in it though they did give me one. One elevator is not working leaving only one for the entire hotel. Come on! Now the staff is friendly & the Place is very quiet & Clean. The room is nice & bed is comfortable. Hardly any customers though as the parking lot has very few cars. I stayed here before when it was under another chain. It really needs a total refurbishing in the hallways and simply is not very inviting. I would choose another hotel on my next trip to Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionhotel15220, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Diamond6Phoenix_AZ_,

Thank you for your recent review at our hotel. We are in the process of executing a maintenance action plan for the property. We finally have the right staff members in place to make it happen. We hope you will stay with us the next time you are in Pittsburgh.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Yocum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at your hotel on Fri., Dec.14 and were greatly disappointed with the lack of cleanliness in the room. We arrived in the evening and quickly changed for an event and left. We arrived back at midnight and went right to bed. Upon waking up on Sunday morning and having breakfast, we returned to the room and found pieces of food and hair in the bed. It was quite repulsive. I realized AFTER I had slept in the bed, that the room had not been cleaned, and the linens had not been washed after the previous (messy) guests. We immediately checked out and complained to the front desk employee on duty. Photos attached of crumbs - makes me nauseous to think that the sheets weren't washed before we arrived. - Jessica

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionhotel15220, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Jessica E,

I sincerely apologize for this unpleasant experience at our hotel. I will speak with the executive housekeeper regarding your recent stay so this does not happen to another guest. We would appreciate your business again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Yocum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree

Address: 401 Holiday Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15220 (Formerly Clarion Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown Pittsburgh has to offer at the convenient, comfortable, and newly renovated Crowne Plaza Hotel Green Tree. You are at the heart of everything, shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within minutes from Downtown Pittsburgh, Science Center, PNC Park, Console Arena, Heinz Field, Convention Center, The historic Strip District and much more. Getting there has to be fast and convenient too. Only 10 miles for Pittsburgh International Airport, you'll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Pittsburgh to do. And there is easy access to Interstate 376. Whether you're coming to Pittsburgh for business or just fun, your room at our Crowne Plaza Hotel will be your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, state of the art work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and everyday starts right. You can take a dip in our pool, relax with a cool one at Bistro 401 lounge, and when its time to dine you can enjoy a one of a kind dining adventure at Bistro 401. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Green Tree also offers 12,000 square feet of meeting space. Our Destination Specialists will be there every step of the way to ensure your event is a success. The best of Pittsburgh is waiting for you at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Green Tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.