We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Gamma Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15238 (Formerly Holiday Inn Pittsburgh - Allegheny Valley / RIDC Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #35 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Philippi,WV
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel this weekend. The hotel is out there by itself. Nothing but a industrial park. The hotel is very nice. Our room was a bit of a maze to get to. We didn't get to visit the pool, but we did pass by it and it was very nice.It closes at 8 pm. So thats a bummer. Breakfast was very delicous. The breakfast area however is a bit small. The food is great. Tables are really close together. You have to walk through a maze to get to the breakfast bar. Over all not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agmridc, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our Comfort Inn & Suites, we do appreciate the feedback, this information is very important to us, as we may better serve our guests, We do appreciate the positive feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. We do appreciate your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    51
    37
    17
    6
See reviews for
57
22
11
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fairmont, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed 08-31-13. Hotel was sold out. The room; carpet was clean, bed sheets were WHITE as well as the comforter. No dirt stains. The pool was clean & pool towels were well stocked. Next morning, it was a wild rush to their full HOT breakfast. Again the staff did not fail. All the tables were full. No crumbs on the floor, no food drippings on the breakfast bar. Eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy, etc. were all stocked. Tables were cleaned asap when someone was finished. The parking lot was free of garbage. OUTSTANDING job ! This will be my hotel of choice when in Pittsburgh even if its a little out of the way. Thank you for allowing me to enjoy my stay in a CLEAN, top of the line hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agmridc, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let is know about your stay at our Comfort Inn & Suites, this feedback is very important to us, as me may better serve our guests. Myself and our staff would like to thank you for the kind words you expressed. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Again thank you and we do appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for several days while attending a family wedding. I have stayed at many Comfort Inns before and did not look perhaps as closely as I should have before making this reservation.

What first struck me was the rather strange rambling organization of the rooms. Halls seemed to go on forever and it seemed rather difficult to find your way around. That was not a big deal. I was disappointed that there was no fridge or microwave in the room. Also frustrating was that the hotel's internet connection was not strong enough to handle demand during the evening hours. There were constant frustrating lags and connectivity issues every night I was there. The rooms also seemed stuffy, as if air was not circulating properly.

Another source of disappointment was the room noise. Our room was facing Route 28 and we could hear traffic noise all night long. It was only drowned out by the noise of the air conditioner, which also gave off quite a rattle.

This is not to say everything was bad. The room was clean and well kept. The bathroom was clean and up to date. There was a nice flat screen TV as well. We had kids who wanted a pool, which was one reason we selected this hotel. The pool was a decent size and well maintained.

We had breakfast at the hotel for three mornings. The food was fairly basic but not bad (cereal, eggs, sausage, waffles, etc.). There were crowds of people, but they did a good job of keeping plenty of food out and available.

Parking was free and plentiful. Being right on Route 28, it was very easy to get downtown in just a few minutes. It provided easy access to everything we wanted to do.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room not facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agmridc, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stray at our Comfort Inn & Suites, we value this feedback as we may better serve our customers. I would like to apologize on behalf of our staff for not exceeding your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Again thank you and we do appreciate your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here because we attended a wedding in their banquet room. Wedding was lovely. Recently remodeled rooms were average. No in-room fridge was very disappointing, as was the questionable stain on our toilet seat and the too-soft pillows that caused head and neck pain.Our window looked out into a hallway, so we had no natural light and had to keep the curtains closed. Did not attend breakfast so cannot comment on that. Fine for $99 and the convenience of staying in the wedding hotel, but no reason to return otherwise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agmridc, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our Comfort Inn & Suites, this feedback is very important to us, as we use it to better serve our customers. On behalf of of Myself and our staff, I would like to apologize for not exceeding you expectations. Again thank you and hope to see you again in the near future. We do appreciate your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice renovation that did not include beds or ac units. The ceiling is starting to mold. The sheets are ripped. Housekeeping forgot to make up our room. The beds are worn. Tried to change room for a new bed but they are all same so said the desk. We checked another room and the bed was the same.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the highway are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agmridc, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your views on your recent stay st our Comfort Inn & Suites, we do appreciate the feedback, as we may better serve our guests. I would like to apologize for nor exceeding your expectations, and hope to see you again in the near future. Again thank you and we do appreciate your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was on my way to Chicago annd had a transit stay at this hotel
The stay was confortable
Incidentally there was a power shut down ans surprisingly there was no generator back up
It took some time to restore the power
Neverthless the property was good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agmridc, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our Comfort Inn & Suites, we do appreciate the feedback as we may better serve our guests. We do appreciate the kind words you expressed and the issues you mentioned have been addressed. Again thank you and we do appreciate your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to attend a wedding in the area. The wedding block price was fair, and check-in was smooth. Our room was accessed by going through door #8, and it looked like a service entrance. This first impression was poor. The room was comfortable, and the air conditioning worked well. We had to keep our drapes drawn the whole time, though, because we were directly across from the veranda. When we first arrived I went to look out and was greeted by a person looking directly at me. I like natural light, so this was a disappointment. The bathroom was small, with little room for toiletries. We only got two bath towels which meant that you used a wet towel if you showered twice. The towels did smell a tad musty too. On the good side the bed was very comfortable, and clean. The floor appeared clean until I stepped on a melted blue, sticky cough drop. Luckily I had on my sandals. On the day after our arrival our room was cleaned in a timely manner. The breakfast was not our favorite, and I can imagine how crowded the place will get if you eat later. There are only two waffle makers. There is some fresh fruit, cereals and yogurt for those who want a lighter breakfast. I was somewhat disappointed with my stay here, and will hope that the management does a little more to improve. All in all, our stay was just at the low end of average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agmridc, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our Comfort Inn & Suites, we value this information as we may better serve our guests. I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations, and hope we can serve you again in the near future. Again thank you and we do appreciate your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley

Address: 180 Gamma Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15238 (Formerly Holiday Inn Pittsburgh - Allegheny Valley / RIDC Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley Hotel Pittsburgh
Comfort Inn And Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.