We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Gamma Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15238 (Formerly Holiday Inn Pittsburgh - Allegheny Valley / RIDC Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Family Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We hosted an event in the Grand Ballroom. My family had a block of rooms and we spent the weekend. From the moment we walked into the door the colleagues were professional, warm, and friendly. We spent time at the indoor pool where the staff checked on us several times to make sure that the pool was warm enough for a snowy January day and that we had enough towels. A few of us worked out in the fitness center where there was a variety of machines to work out on and the space was clean and maintained. Our event in the ballroom was flawless executed. There was no detail overlooked, the food was delicious and displayed beautifully. You can tell that the culinary and banquet team takes pride in what they do and truly care about their guest’s. The overnight rooms were clean and very modern or up to date. The bed was comfortable and the housekeeping staff could not be more helpful. We had some children with us and they saw that as we were checking in. They immediately brought extra towels, sheets and pillows (for the pull out couch) without us even asking. The complimentary breakfast the next morning was amazing. The breakfast area was well maintained more like a restaurant not what you normally would expect from a complimentary breakfast area. With the large selection of items you could have spent the entire day in there. From Juices, Milk, Fresh Fruit, Warm Pastries, Cereals and Yogurt; not to mention the hot items such as scrambled eggs, sausage and a waffle bar. I can truly say that our weekend was wonderful. As we all sat at breakfast on Sunday my family tried to decide when we could come back and just spend another weekend. I was so pleased with the entire hotel I planned another event there for next year and a luncheon for my friends Baby Shower.

Room Tip: If you have a group or are looking for an area to entertain the suites are perfect for this. I booke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agmridc, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post review about your stay at our Comfort Inn. We do appreciate the kind words you expressed, our number one goal here is the satisfaction of all our guests. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return. Again thank you for responding and we do appreciate your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    63
    42
    18
    6
See reviews for
72
24
13
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is our second stay at this location. Our first stay was during the renovation from Holiday Inn to Comfort Inn so no review was given as they were in transition. The room and lobby were pleasant enough and clean but it is still an old Holiday Inn. I didn't particularly like being on the lower level which was typical of the older HI. We travel often and normally find the front desk clerk is friendly and somewhat personable but we did not find this to be true. Didn't smile at all and seemed a bit standoffish. Perhaps it was just a bad day. The real kicker is housekeeping staff knocking on our door at 7:45 to see if it was still occupied - in addition my sister and her husband next door to us had the same experience. It was a one night stay so I would think they would be aware we were checking out in the a.m. Also absolutely no ice machines - my husband wandering the halls looking for one came across a maintenance man who was gracious enough to find him ice for the bucket. Not sure of the arrangement with the lounge in the hotel, (privately operated?) but we stopped in for a cocktail only to find they had no red wine??? All and all we were somewhat disappointed in our stay here and will probably try another hotel on our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor -
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agmridc, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at our Comfort Inn, we do use this feedback to better serve our guests. Your satisfaction is our number one goal and the staff does work really hard to make this happen. I do apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay here. The issues you mentioned that you encountered during your stay here have been addressed with the appropriate staff members and hopefully will not happen again in the future. The lounge is privately owned and operated, however this should not happen and we have discussed these issues with them. Again thank you for taking the time to respond about your stay and hope to see you again in the future. We do appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in the middle of July 2012 in a standard room and liked it enough to live there for a month (in a suite), in August 2012. We had just moved to Pittsburgh and needed temporary housing until our apartment was available.

We didn't want to spend a ton of money on fancy corporate housing but had pretty high expectations for a place that we would call home for a whole month. This place fit the bill.

I'm a fanatic about things being clean and for the most part this place was really clean. I did smell mildew/mold in one corner of our room (I have a strong sense of smell - it didn't bother my husband at all) but nothing was visible. There was also a smell in the bathroom that I didn't like, but with the help of our wonderful housekeeper (Barb) we figured out it was one of the cleaning products and she just started using a different one in our bathroom - problem solved. Thanks Barb!

My husband was nervous at first about leaving valuables out (laptops, cameras, etc), but we soon felt really comfortable there - no problems at all.

The internet connection in both of our rooms was really annoyingly slow and spotty at first which was not going to work for us for a whole month so we complained to the manager. Within a few days they had a tech come out who resolved the problem and checked in with us personally to make sure we didn't have any future problems. Great service!

Breakfast is good, the pool is nice and if you're commuting to CMU/Pitt area, this is a great location. Easy commute and the location makes it less expensive.

Since we were there for a month, we learned that this hotel is VERY popular for weddings on the weekends. I think every weekend there were two wedding parties staying in the hotel. Sometimes the guests would get rowdy/loud in the hallway but it wasn't too bad.

We did quite a bit of research for long term housing and their pricing was very competitive. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agmridc, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Comfort Inn, we do appreciate the kind words you have expressed. Customer satisfaction is our number one goal, and our staff does work really hard to see this happen. Again thank you for taking the time and we do appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed most recently at the Comfort Inn in a suite to celebrate a belated Christmas holiday with family in late January 2013. The suite living room was perfect for hanging out with family--two nieces now expecting their first babies--exchanging gifts and providing tech support to my sister ;-) The complimentary breakfast includes myo waffles, eggs, bacon, and lots of other cold breakfast choices in a light-filled dining area. The staff are all completely customer focused from check-in, to housekeeping to the breakfast hostesses. Every time we are in Pittsburgh we stay at the Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms on the non-route 28 side are quietest. Lots of open area to walk your dogs. Multiple entry p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agmridc, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond about your recent stay at our Comfort Inn, we are delighted you were so pleased with the hotel and do appreciate the kind words you expressed about our staff and hotel. Your satisfaction is our number one goal and our whole staff works very hard to ensure that. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Not bad but not great either. Easy to find off the highway. Many businesses at this exit but this is the only hotel option for this freeway exit.
Is relatively clean, except for the dead bug that was adhered and stuck to the window curtain. Yikes! Where is maid's attention to detail?
Best part of the room was the great water pressure from the shower head. Hot shower felt great!
Hard to navigate the hallway in the morning as it is full of chattering maids and maid carts. They are not too friendly either.
Breakfast was standard continental swill that will get you going or heaving in the morning.
They do have a nice bar and decent workout facility - BUT no weights! Hmmmm.
Strange - there seems to be no easy wheel-chair access to the front entrance. Two sets of stairs must be negotiated.
Would only stay here if there was no ther choice in the area - and sadly, there is no other choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agmridc, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our Comfort Inn & Suites. We have addressed the issues you indicated in your response and hope this will not be a problem in the future. We do have a elevator located in the hotel located between the pool and the fitness room, we had this installed in May of 2012, also we do have a universal weight machine in our fitness room. Again thank you for the feedback and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Excellent the rooms where done beautiful front desk very helpfull I would stay at the comfort inn any time I needed to and the breakfast is nice touch the rooms where spotless I don't stay in hotels much but when I do I want to stay somewhere that feels like home and the comfort inn that I stayed at made me feel welcomed and would stay there any time I needed to travel I would recommend the comfort inn to friends and family also overall I give a five star quality thank you for a pleasant stay

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agmridc, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay at our Comfort Inn. Your satisfaction is our number one goal and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here, and do appreciate the kind words you expressed. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. We do appreciate your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very well maintained and upto date property. it was formally a Holiday Inn, that is why it is above the Comfort Inn shandards. From checking in to checking out, every aspect of our stay was great. Large suites type room, comfortable bed, great furniture, new carpeting, flat screen tv and on top, lovely breakfast. Better than any 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley

Address: 180 Gamma Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15238 (Formerly Holiday Inn Pittsburgh - Allegheny Valley / RIDC Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley Hotel Pittsburgh
Comfort Inn And Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.