We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Trumbull Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15205   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #8 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

It is simply perfect; it has everything you need from a good stay. Parking, Wifi and breakfast are included. The breakfast had healthy options like oatmeal, fruit and cereal. The bed was comfortable and clean, it was almost a treat because you don’t expect such a nice bed in a budget hotel. We went to Pittsburgh to see Steelers play so the day of the game the shuttle to and from the city was provided for free. Don’t hesitate to book this hotel. Hampton Inn is becoming our favorite pick when we travel in the US.

PS. The lobby area is being renovated but that did not bother us one bit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Nycchip,
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We want all of our guests to enjoy a clean and comfortable room, a satisfying hot breakfast, and receive a great value. I am glad this is what you experienced while staying with us. Our lobby renovations are finishing up, so next time you visit with us you will get to enjoy a new breakfast serving area and redesigned lobby. I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    123
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
109
105
27
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Coming from a Hampton property in central NY I completely understand the renovations going on at the moment for the Perfect MIx lobby and was notified of that on the TMTP website. Being a Hilton Honors member, I requested an upgrade to a king room and got it. Not a speck of dust and the bathroom was immaculte (love your vanities!) I understand the crowded nature of breakfast during the renovation (stayed on the night of 12/22, breakfast 12/23) but the eggs and the sausage in the chafer dish were, at very best, room temp. I have a feeling your heating element needs to be replaced. The breakfast woman appeared new as she wasn't keeping up with food and trash and cleanliness levels... very personable though :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Lauren C,
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and bearing with us as we are in the middle of our Perfect Mix Lobby project. I want all of our guests to enjoy a clean and comfortable room, and a hot breakfast. We have a new chafing dish ordered and will be in place in our new breakfast serving area, so we can make sure all of our guests enjoy a hot breakfast. Thank you for staying with us, and I hope you will return when the renovation is completed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centralpa.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here Christmas Night. Quiet, clean, really helpful staff. In spite of the renovations in the lobby, it was a great place. Breakfast was in separate rooms downstairs but was nicely set up and efficient. Always coffee available and snacks.Room on 6th floor was very clean, everything seemed new and we were impressed. We've tried other places in Pittsburgh, but this will be the one we come back to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Justsleep,
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am so glad that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Pittsburgh! We are in the process of finishing up our renovations, so when you return you will be able to enjoy our new breakfast serving area, new lobby seating and gathering area. I am sure you will enjoy your visit even more next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Delaware
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Our daughter lives nearby in this area of Pittsburgh so that was the reason for choosing this Hampton Inn. When checking in we were shocked at the lobby area under renovation and breakfast area had been moved to two rooms down the hallway. Our reservation was for two nights so we hoped for the best. Our room was a king with sofa bed. Room was small by standards we have been accustomed to with Hampton Inn. Bathroom vanity small as well. The first morning when showering I kept smelling something burning and thought it was the construction which they were working on Saturday. It was the towels! They smelled like they had been through smoke damage or something. The next morning the towels were the same. yuck. We didn't eat breakfast there as a...it was too crowded and I wasn't taking it back up to my room to eat...b...just not selections we normally have at Hamptons of the items that were filled. disappointing. Several others we conversed to while waiting in the vestibule out front were upset about not being told of the construction when making this reservation as a doubletree was nearby. As our daughter works and lives nearby not sure if we would stay here again or try another hotel.

Room Tip: there is a highway closeby that you do hear road noise from. ask for a room facing the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ademilio, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Crisndeefromde,
I am sorry to hear that you were unaware of the renovations that were taking place at our hotel. We do have a notice posted on our website, and we have been sending out email notifications if we have the guests email on file to make sure everyone is aware of the renovations. I am sorry if we did not get that message to you. We have tried to make the best out of the current situation, with our renovation station on the first floor with complimentary snacks and drinks, and two guest rooms that have been opened up for additional breakfast seating. I know the breakfast area can be crowed on a busy morning, but again we are doing the best we can with the current situation. I understand the renovation process can be frustrating but we are making these improvements so our guests can have a better overall experience. I hope you would consider returning to the hotel after the renovations are completed so you can enjoy the finished product that caused your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here with my childs group this summer. Very nice clean hotel. They took very good care of our group. Got what ever we need at a moments notice and they were happy to do so. The rooms were everything we expected and more. Staff treated all the kids as if they were family. If your thinking of staying here, you should! We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ademilio, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Our4kidsandus,
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us over the summer! Our staff tries to make all of our guests feel as welcomed as you did. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I hope you will stay with us next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wattsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Met an old friend from Vietnam for the weekend. Even though they were undergoing renovations it was a great stay. Breakfast area open 24 hrs with hot coffee and snacks. Shuttle service available to anywhere in a specified area which includes downtown Pittsburgh. They will drop you off and come back to get you when you call. Breakfast very good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ademilio, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the renovations. Thankfully they should be finished up in the next few weeks! It is great that you were able to take advantage of the shuttle and the complimentary breakfast. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Pittsburgh area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel over a dozen times. It is in a great location - on the airport side of the tunnels. It is very close and convenient to Heinz Field / PNC Park.

It is kept very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very clean.

Full breakfast in the morning which is good.

You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
DRJ469,
We are so glad that you enjoy staying at our property! We want all of guests to enjoy a clean and comfortable room, a hot breakfast and a friendly staff. Thank you for continuing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Free Parking, M...
Show More
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
Free internet...
Show More
10.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh / McCandless, PA
Free internet...
Show More
3.5 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#1 of 54 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - McKnight Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree

Address: 555 Trumbull Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.