We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribbean Gold” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh
Save Saved
You added The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh to your Saves list
939 Western Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15233   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
BURPENGARY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Caribbean Gold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just loved the Parador Inn. Ed was the perfect host and was full of information but was extremely conscious of not being intrusive. Dee was there when we arrived and was one of the nicest people we met on our whole trip. She and Ed make a great team. The house was magnificent and we loved all of the quirky touches. We especially loved the steel drum in the parlour. Breakfast was a nice change and certainly fuelled the day's activities. The room was had was the Lady Palm and it blew us away. Two massive rooms with a bathroom in the middle. It was our son's favourite room for the whole trip. Comfy bed, plenty of room.would stay at the Parador Inn again in a heartbeat. Thanks Ed and Dee and the stars of the show Razor & RJ. Steve,Toni & Jack, Burpengary Australia

Room Tip: Lady Palm is amazing value for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    17
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
66
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at the Parador on an anniversary weekend. We were completely satisfied. We had originally scheduled for the weekend before, but we lost our power during Hurricane Sandy and didn't want to leave before it came back. Ed (the proprietor) was happy to allow us to reschedule, as we were able to meet the required notification deadline of one day prior to the original arrival.
Ed was welcoming and provided advice on where to eat, how to get around, and what to see. The room was large, warm and comfortable, with a great bed. Each excellent breakfast started with a yogurt parfait and homemade sweet bread, followed by bacon and a main dish such as french bread. Also OJ, coffee, and tea. The Inn has complimentary WiFi as well. The location is close to several restaurants, including a great Thai place (Nicky's Thai Kitchen). It's also about 2-3 blocks from the T (light rail transit) station at Heinz Field, so it's an easy trip to Downtown and beyond.
When we return to Pittsburgh, the Parador will be our first choice.

Room Tip: The Bougainvillea room is a 2nd floor sitting room and 3rd floor bedroom and bathroom. Quiet and pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My main goal when I chose the Parador Inn was to book something in walking distance to Heinz Field, as our trip centered around a Steelers game. I googled properties and read reviews and ultimately, the Parador seemed like it would be the best fit for us as far as amenities, location, cleanliness and value. I have to say it exceeded expectations in all categories! The Inn is absolutely breathtaking, with fabulous antiques everywhere. We stayed in Chenille, and it was spacious, impeccably clean and beautiful. The bed was super comfy and I can't tell you how much I loved cranking up the gas fireplace when we returned from our rainy, cold Steelers game! Breakfast was delicious and served individually and hot! I have to say that we thought Ed was the perfect host..none of the negatives that a few reviewers have posted about. I suppose all personalities just don't mesh sometimes. We found him to be very knowledgable about the area, but he doesn't force that knowledge on you..he clearly ASKS if you want suggestions! Actually, he is completely unobtrusive...I almost felt that we were in a completely private home, coming and going only on our schedule. As far as the creaky staircase, of course...the mansion IS 140 years old, after all. I think it adds to the charm and didn't find it annoying in the least. (But then again, I am not one of those reviewers who complain about sand in the elevator when staying at the beach, either!) I would definitey recommend this property and hope to stay again in the future! Lest I forget, the resident dogs, RJ and Razor, are completely well behaved and not allowed into the main part of the mansion(although I personally think they should be!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boardman, ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a great time!!! Loved the house, so warm and inviting!!! The decor was beautiful, and the ceilings were beautiful!! Are room was very nice and the tub was great! Ed was very nice and we loved playing fetch with the dogs!!! Nice outside area with a fountain, we are smokers so it was nice to have a place to sit with coffee and enjoy the back yard. The area around the house was nice and clean, didn't feel nervous about walking around. Breakfast was very good, really liked the orange french toast!! We also met Dee, the housekeeper, she even turned the clocks back an hour for us,(daylight savings) and left a nice little note!! Would stay again!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed for the 3rd time in this JEM of an inn. Our first visit was to be close to Heinz field. Since then we have been returning every year, not only for the Steelers but also to say a big hello to Ed (the owner). It is everything you can want, homey, lovely, clean, cozy, and most of all a home away from home. You definately don't feel like you are invading someones home like other bed and breakfasts. Food is great, hopitality great, stay is great, what more to say...all around perfect!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful, since the rooms are not copy paste like other hotels, you can choose on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambly, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

It was our first stay at this very special inn. It should receive a trophy for the professionalism given by Ed and RJ. The entire inn has little special touches that are greatly appreciated and the rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast isn't the plain jane that you get in big hotels, everything is homemade with love. This is the BEST! You even have free access to the YMCA for fitness and pool.

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We chose the Parador for our recent trip to Puttsburgh, we used InnFan and Trip Advisor to research the property. Upon arriving we were immediately impressed with the historic mansion. With a ring of the doorbell we were greeted by Ed, the owner and innkeeper. He was very pleasant and proudly showed up around the 8000 sq feet. The home is still in wonderful condition with most original floors are architectural details. We chose the original master bedroom, and it was very nice, the only downside is the Victorian bed creaked a bit, but that is to be expected. Ed, who creatively managed to marry the Victorian and Carribbean flair is successful. I highly recommend the Parador Inn as the location, hospitality and wonderful breakfast will offer a great treat!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh

Address: 939 Western Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15233
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Caribbean in Pittsburgh, come to The Parador. Formerly the Rhodes Mansion built in 1870. Free off street parking, walking distance to Downtown, full hot American breakfast, large Courtyard and abundant public space are but a few of the amenities all guests enjoy. Plan your event in the 2,700 square foot ballroom, built by the Knights of Columbus in the 1930s. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Parador Inn Of Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.