We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! The best restaurant in Pittsburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dish Osteria & Bar

Dish Osteria & Bar
127 S 17TH St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1751 (Southside Flats)
(412) 390-2012
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Southside Flats
pittsburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding! The best restaurant in Pittsburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Dish is a small, cozy, and warm restaurant. The service is excellent (finally a place where the servers know what they are serving and can provide informed suggestions). The atmosphere is inviting, romantic, and intimate: sometimes, you even forget you are at a restaurant, as you could easily be in the living room of some good friends'.
And, dulcis in fundo, the food is just perfect. I love how they cook fish: you can really taste the good quality of the catch. Dishes are not overpowered by spices or sauces. I also like their desserts, which are tasty without being overly rich or buttery.

Let me mention three last things: 1) the bar (which is separate from the dining room) is just beautiful and the tenders can make excellent martinis and cocktails; 2) the two Sicilian guys who run the place are very friendly and welcoming hosts; 3) this is one of the very few bars/restaurants in Pittsburgh that has NO TV, so people can enjoy each other and what they are eating/drinking, instead of focusing on a sport game!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    19
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“the best place in Pittsburgh by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We are world travelers and New Yorkers, i.e. have had the best to compare with, and after finding DISH, we felt we had both of best worlds, we felt like we were back in Europe, even a top restaurant in Italy. The atmosphere, the food, the service... all the best. We have gone there and eaten in the bar, as well as the "other" room. Both fun. It's what eating should be, and so often isn't... time to enjoy good food... food that is taken care to prepare, care being served. I disagree (obviously) with pghguy's review. A really good restaurant doesn't have a more than a few good dishes, otherwise it is a chain restaurant. DISH is not that!
I would recommend this place with no hesitations. It is indeed a welcoming, unassuming place, with a wonderful bar, and great food, and an atmosphere that can transport you far from the southside!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“To Die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Dish is located on the south side, hip young college area. The restaurant is hip classic farm to table Italian. We loved everything about the restaurant. You need reservations on the weekend it is small, very cozy! Food was outstanding! 5*****

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

A very unassuming little Italian restaurant offering very fresh and wonderful Italian fare. Friends recommended this restaurant and joined us there for dinner otherwise I don't think we would ever have found it and that would have been a tragedy.
All three courses were memorable, from the seared calamari wth spinach (one of the finest calamari dishes we have eaten), to the entrees of rolled stuffed pork and the seafood linguine to the chocolate bread pudding and the peach flan, all memorable. The freshness of the ingredients and the thrill of trying something new in the sea asparagus made for a delightful experience.Prices are very reasonable.
We will be back soon we hope!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Had dinner here for our anniversary. Had been looking forward to eating here for some time, but was never able to get reservations on short notice. So made reservations about 5 weeks out. Service was attentive. Waiter checked on us often. We ordered appetizers and dinner. Appetizers were very good. Nothing to complain about. Fresh and tasty.

As it was our anniverary and it being an "authentic" Italian/Sicilan restaurant, we were looking for a relaxing/casual service evening. No sooner had they taken the appetizer plates away then dinner was placed in front of us. Nothing slow and casual about it. Nothing "authentic" Italian about it.

Dinners were OK, nothing to get excited about. My wife had a pasta dish, Rigatoni alla Scamorza. The pasta was cooked appropriately "al dente." The rest of the ingredients in the cream sauce were overcooked. I had the mix grilled fish with risotto. The risotto was very disappointing in flavor, closer to a rice taste then creamy risotto. The grilled fish was OK. Desserts were OK.

Most disappointing was the overall menu. Uninspired comes to mind. Everything on the menu could be found on every Italian restauarnt in the city. Only 4 pasta dishes, 3 meat dishes, 2 fish dishes. With a limited menu I would expect the kitchen to be able to execute every dish to a high standard and quality. I also would expect "the best Italian restaurant in the city" to be able to differentiate itself with a more creative menu.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dish Osteria & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Dish Osteria & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dish Osteria & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.