We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cinnamon Bread Is DELICOUS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prantl's Bakery

Prantl's Bakery
5525 Walnut St, Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2350 (Shadyside)
(412) 621-2092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 51 Bakeries in Pittsburgh
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakeries
Neighborhood: Shadyside
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Shadyside
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cinnamon Bread Is DELICOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I went here to pick up some treats before a group project, and got a loaf of their cinnamon bread. It was really cheap, and so tasty! The staff is super friendly and helpful too. The only negative is it is completely addicting, I'll be back again soon for more. :)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Burnt Almond Torte...yummmmm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Let me start by saying that I have only purchased the Burnt Almond Torte. I cannot speak for any of their other pastries. The torte is well known around the city. The toasted almond topping is to die for. When you go in to the bakery, there is a map on the wall that indicates where in the country they have shipped the torte to homesick Pittsburghers. I have never tried the chocolate version. Many have tried to copy it...none have succeeded!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The individual pasteries make a great dessert tray”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Also adore their breakfast pasteries, cinnamon buns and breads. However, the individual pasteries make a great dessert tray for a party. My favorites are the coconut snowballs. Two bites of heaven.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stopped by the bakery on Saturday and purchased petit fours
which were dry and had no flavor at all. The peanut butter bars really didn't taste like peanut butter and were also extremely dry. I also had blueberry scones that didn't t taste like blueberries and again were very dry. Did the baker run out of butter?
At $1.50 per piece, this is a poor value for your money. If you travel to Penn Township and try Scozios Bakery you will find much better quality and value. Potomac Bakery is also head and shoulders above Prantl products. Very disappointed in the baked goods. If you bought a scone mix, or peanut butter bar mix from your local super market it would be far better.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best bakery in Pittsburegh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Located on Walnut Street in Shadyside with a branch in Market Square downtown. Famous for their nut torte topping with white icing primarily with white cake but also comes in chocolate.Also comes in pieces or even a wedding cake. Great donuts, rolls, breads and decorated cookies.The best breakfast cakes or individual pieces also. You can order on line.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prantl's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Prantl's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prantl's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.